We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than just a place to sleep”
Review of Yellow House KL

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kuala Lumpur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yellow House KL
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We spent a couple of nights at YH KL in July, 2013, and we really enjoyed our time there. The accommodation is basic, but that's not the main point: while you are staying there, you can contribute to several project to help locals. Thus, you get real life experiences, and you can feel more useful during your travelling.

There was high-speed internet in the YH, some places to eat and shops around, and it was really easy to get to the center by bus.

I would recommend YH to those, who are looking for something deeper than just a room to sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bathogzoltan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 29 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the YH for nearly two weeks and had a great time experiencing the real KL away from all the touristy parts. Loved volunteering at the local school and met some awesome ppl that I hope to stay in touch with. Great place to stay if you are looking for simple and authentic lodgings. Highly recommend it!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
Thank Camille S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Spent 2 nights in the Yellow house and it was fine for what we needed. We used it as a base in KL before beginning our volunteering experience in another city.
Everything is basic but there's high-speed internet available, shops nearby for food, close to public transportation and free breakfast.

I had a great time in Malaysia. Thanks :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gena_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I stayed at Yellow House during my recent volunteer trip in Malaysia. The staff is great and very welcoming! I stayed in a room with two bunk beds (sleeping 4). Beds were comfortable, and rooms have fans which helped with the Malaysian heat! It was a great experience to stay away from the "touristy" area of Kuala Lumpur, as Yellow House is located in a neighborhood that is close enough to all the action but you're surrounded by locals which adds to the appeal. Great hostel/guest house, and very cozy!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rayala7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

It's a great little place with several dorm style rooms. You'll meet travelers going on volunteering trips throughout Malaysia, and maybe some cute cats!

It's situated on a bus line and it's not too tricky to get into the city and see the sights before you go out saving the world!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phildobya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights in October as part of a trip with travel colleagues from around the world. This place is a hostel in the middle of a suburb of KL called Ampang. Ok, it's not luxury by any means, but what the Yellow House lacks in home comforts ( it does have free WiFi though, which in this day and age is much more important than a hot shower ) it more than makes up for in a warm welcome and really relaxed ambience. The staff here were so welcoming, and really went out their way to make our stay perfect. If your looking for a cheap place to stay, and want to get a real feel for how the lovely people of Malaysia live in the suburbs of KL then make a beeline to this little work in progress. If you contact them in advance and want to help out a local refugee school, I'm sure they will be happy to speak to you about this. Highly recommended if you want a real experience rather than your standard hostel/budget hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank geordiescotsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
4.3 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
4.1 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
9,961 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#12 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
4,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
7,225 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
4.8 mi away
Citin Seacare Hotel Pudu Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellow House KL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellow House KL

Address: 213, Lorong Ikan Emas 2 | Kampung Ampang Campuran, Kuala Lumpur 68000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 283 Speciality Lodging in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: £8 - £13 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yellow House is a the only concept in Malaysia, combining homestay and hostel. It's perfect if you are looking for accommodation close to the city but at the same time, close enough to meet to the locals. Our guests usually are on a budget and those who want to escape the hustle and bustle of the city to a quiet serene village setting. Yellow House KL is a half wood half brick house in a modern yet rustic village. Chilled & relaxed atmosphere, great place to meet locals plus you can hear the roosters, frogs & crickets! The hostel was built & renovated using 90% recycled/discarded materials so expect some quirky furniture and decor! We are equipped with 16 bunk beds mixed dorm style with fans in all the rooms Breakfast, bed linen and towels are included in the price. Pork is strictly not allowed in order to keep the hostel kosher for Muslim guests. We do not have air conditioning or hot showers. P/S - We have 4 dogs! ACTIVITIES Please get in touch with us to see what volunteering activities you can do. LOCATION We are situated 8 kms from Petronas Twin Towers in a small village called Ampang Campuran, quite close to the longest quartz ridge in the world which gives an amazing view. The village is a mix of Indian, Chinese and Malay residents living in a friendly community. This village used to be an old tin mine but most of the land is reclaimed for development. So it has a lot of history. Oh, the host Shyam is an awesome cook! (shameless advertising!) ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing