We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value budget hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of U Pac Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
U Pac Hotel
Ranked #69 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good value budget hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed ourselves there. Our room with window faced the road but was quiet, well maintained, clean and fresh looking. The breakfast was a good simple buffet with orange juice, fresh fruit, toast, eggs, baked beans, fried noodles, nasi lemak and porridge, rotating with pancakes, sausages, fired rice on different days. The staff were pleasant and friendly offering us a lot of information on the places of interest to visit and the mode of transportation.
Overall good value for the price we paid.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank micca23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YunOn W, Owner at U Pac Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with U Pac Hotel during your recent visit to Kuala Lumpur.

We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With warm regards,

Y O Wong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    70
    14
    5
    4
See reviews for
26
63
15
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

hotel is tucked back off the main drag and is some way out of town but recption was good and chinese guy very helpful and friendly. found we had inadvertently booked a room without a window and had to pay for and upgrade at about 20 ringits a night.
room was good - clean comfortable slept well. downside was no kettle - had to go down corridor for hot water.
breakfast included was good fair selection of food.
would we use it again - yes

advised against using the local tube station and having tried it can see why - not a plesent walk even in daylight. tried to use local bus just around corner on main road but one never arrived while we were waiting so used taxis. depending on time of travel can cost significant amounts while snarled up in the horrendous traffic which is a KL wide problem. Taxi drivers in KL are a pain in the ar5e after about 7pm - all the meters stop working and they try for 3 or 4 times the correct fare. told several to go stuff themselves but you eventually need to get back. none of this is the hotels fault but its the thing that stands out most from our visit to KL.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank berni109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YunOn W, Owner at U Pac Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Kuala Lumpur.

Your valuable feedback is appreciated and we will work towards meeting your expectations wherever possible. We also thank you for your kind understanding of KL's traffic and transportation concerns.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards.

Y O Wong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We came to this hotel around December 23-26 , 2013 , the hotel facilities are okay (a bit noisy), front staff is very nice, but one staff member (a woman with glasses and short hair who's in charge of the kitchen) really Pissed Me Off!!!, so rude and racist! She treated other people okay but if you are Indonesian she shows that she is a racist! She should not be working in hospitality. Racism is always ugly and it makes people ugly. We will never again come to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Yuniar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YunOn W, Owner at U Pac Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback of your experiences during your stay with us.

We have investigated your allegation of our staff being 'racist' however, our findings did not reveal any sign of our staff's conduct as alleged. On the day as mentioned our female staff was performing her normal duties including greeting of guests and replying to their queries. The encounter with your companion at the table was an exchange of greetings while clearing the soiled dishes. We regret that the occasion would turn out to be an issue of 'racism'.

Kindly accept our apologies for the misunderstanding caused.

Once again we thank you for your feedback and will be glad to further clarify the situation with you direct, if necessary.

Best regards,

Y O Wong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marsa Alam, Egypt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

My wife and I were in KL for only two days and were satisfied with U Pac. We chose this hotel because it's new and has a good price.
We asked to see the different rooms which are all very nice, but we chose the deluxe room in the end. The standard room is really quite small and would not have been big enough for fitting our two suitcases. The room is very clean, the bed comfortable and the bathroom was adequate. Nice detail is that soaps were restocked every morning and toothbrushes were provided.
The room was quiet even though we were on a street side. Breakfast was well stocked with enough choice. Receptionists were very helpful in providing us with sightseeing info and how to get certain places.

I must say that travelling by train at night was not the best choice. Getting to the hotel will lead you through a dark deserted industrial neighbourhood which didn't feel very safe. We came from Chinatown that night and we should have taken a taxi.

Small advice when giving the taxi driver directions: tell him to go to 'Wisma Mah Sing', because nobody knows the hotel.

In general, we had a great stay at the U Pac hotel and would come again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
19 Thank BBredero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YunOn W, Owner at U Pac Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with U Pac Hotel during your visit to Kuala Lumpur.

We are delighted to note that you had a pleasant stay with us. As per your advice on the mode of transport back to the hotel in the evening we shall include the information for our guests accordingly.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future and with warm regards.

Y O Wong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Nice Hotel, Near from central of KL and their food so legit...its suitable for family vacation. We stay for 3 nights in two rooms. All staff in hotel very friendly. They given all information about destination of Malaysia must be visited.... Its wonderful for family holiday.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Irwansyah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YunOn W, Owner at U Pac Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us when in Kuala Lumpur.

We are glad to note that you and your family had a pleasant stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards.

Y O Wong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights in two adjoining rooms. The cleanliness of the rooms, halls, lobby, linen was impeccable. The best of the hotels we stayed in malaysia and Bali during our journey. Breakfasts were varied and buffet, and had sufficient variety for us vegetarians to be satisfied. Staff were friendly and super helpful in our use of the public transport system. Could see kl tower and petronas towers from our first floor room, but some street noise at night. Short walk to Chan sow Lin train station, even shorter walk to bus stop. Corner stores close by for fruit and grocery items.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank bikadawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YunOn W, Owner at U Pac Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us when in Kuala Lumpur.

We are delighted to know that you and your family have enjoyed your stay with us and would like to express our appreciation for your kind compliments.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kuala Lumpur.

Best regards,

Y O Wong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

I like the environment of the hotel, the attitude & service that provided by the counter staff & security guard.

The counter staffs are very friendly & patient to customer. During my check in, I saw one of the elder staff (I think should be manager or supervisor) is quite helpful & do his best to satisfy customer needs. It surprising me as most of the staff will not provide extra service to customer.

And the security guard, he still willing to open the locked door for me at the lobby when I back to the hotel around 4-5 am. Even he know that I have the room card to open it myself. It surpricing me once again.

The promotion price is cheap, so I expect the hotel & room is like normal budget hotel initially. But I'm shocked when I reach the hotel, it is quite new & the room is quite clean & big, And I'm so glad that I can use wifi in my room instead of sitting at the lobby, some of the 3 - 4 star hotel even not provide wifi.

I feel that I spent a budget price but stayed in a non budget hotel. It is really value for money. 7-11 is another add-on benefit for people like me who always feel hungry in the mid of the night & wants to take some food & drink.

The only bad thing is it is a little bit far from the shopping mall but I don't mind to spend about RM10-15 to take a taxi instead of staying near the shopping mall but poor hygiene & service.

For those who spends little money but expect for 5 star service, perhaps you should stay at your home as U pac hotel is really one of the best budget hotel I've ever stayed. Once you experience the worst in Kuala Lumpur, you will know it. Please do understand that what you pay is what you get. I will still consider this hotel for my next visit to Kuala Lumpur & will highly recommend to my friends & family.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Ken Leo Joseph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YunOn W, Owner at U Pac Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Ken,

On behalf of our Team we would like to thank you for your review. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with U Pac Hotel and will strive to enhance our services as we move forward to our 2nd year of operation.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Happy New Year!

Y O Wong
Executive Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
2.9 mi away
Crossroads Hotel
Crossroads Hotel
#82 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ceria Hotel
Ceria Hotel
#67 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
1.5 mi away
Citin Seacare Hotel Pudu Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Grid 9 Hotel
Grid 9 Hotel
#70 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
1.4 mi away
V Garden Hotel
V Garden Hotel
#94 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lantern Hotel
Lantern Hotel
#80 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U Pac Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U Pac Hotel

Property: U Pac Hotel
Address: Off Jalan Sungai Besi Batu 2 2 - 6 Jalan Lapangan, Kuala Lumpur 57100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — U Pac Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet area just off the main road this elegant hotel has 59 rooms that are priced reasonably to suit your budget. Room guests are provided with complimentary breakfast. It has a spacious lobby with a lift and a private basement car park. The hotel is well connected to major roads and highways as well as to the SMART tunnel. Guests are assured peace of mind as U Pac Hotel is monitored by CCTVs and overnight security personnel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your U Pac Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing