We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place for steaks in KL” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Beato Aged Steakhouse

The Beato Aged Steakhouse
Ranked #281 of 3,999 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Malaysia
Level Contributor
317 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Good place for steaks in KL”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

This is one of the few places in KL that serve aged steaks and they certainly do their steaks well here. There's a board which indicates the cut and weight of the steaks they have on the day. The menu will indicate the per price gram for each cut.

On the day we went the cuts were all rather substantial. Like 400g and above. So we ordered 2 ribeye steaks to feed 3 persons. Price was RM38 per 100g. It was done just as we indicated and the steaks were flavorful and tender. Sides are separately ordered and charged.

I would definitely return!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank jchong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    33
    14
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Right up there”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Having said that there is a dearth of good steakhouse in Klang Valley is by no means over dramatizing the sad situation we are in where good steakhouse is concern. The name Beato has often came up whenever we discussed about a good place for steak that won't knock your socks off when the time comes to paying the bill and the fact that they do dry ageing is even more intriguing as dry ageing is as rare as hen's teeth this part of the world. So I decided to check it out with a friend one fine night for dinner.
Ordered Striploin and Ribeye as the wagyu's still ageing. The portions were 250g and 300g thereabouts, respectively, done medium. Ordered corn, asparagus and sautéed mushroom to accompany and two glasses of red wine to wash it down with.
While the experience wasn't orgasmic it leaves me still thinking about it today, which is approximately a week later. The ageing added a twisted offish note and the beefy taste was quite intense. With just salt and pepper, the whole experience was a complete circle....good start with a good finish....totally satisfying. When it came to paying the bill.....well suffice to say, my socks stayed on the feet. I fully recommend this place to any steak lovers. This steakhouse is definitely right up there in the upper echelon of steak restaurants in Klang Valley.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank akks47ster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
1 review
“Very good Steaks plus affordable french wines”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Just went there with 2 aussie Girls on a Monday Night. Restaurant was empty; only 3 Tables were occupied. Service was very good and well done.
Steaks Medium was Done to perfection.
Small but very good wine list for decent money

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bestest steak in kl”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Have been going to BEATO in jalan telawi 3 Bangsar , located funnily enuf on top of a vegetarian restaurant jus behind paparich
This is a real GEM of a steak house ! It has carved a niches for itself by DRY and WET aging it's superbly succulent beef
What the aging process does is to make d meat SUPER TENDER and WONDERFULLY tasty !! You don't have to order the wagyu as the PORTERHOUSE AND TENDERLOIN N RIBEYE are just TO DIE FOR !! Because of the aging the meat can be eaten MEDIUM RARE and the meat is so tender and juicy and soft and succulent that the RARE portion of the med rare just MELTS in your mouth and the OUTER crust is just crunchy and salty enuf that the taste sensation of BOTH is amazing !!
The accompanying roasted garlic and onions and mash are simply PERFECT to accompany the perfect steak .the chef has perfected the art of grilling !!

Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Steak is pretty damn good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Attentive service, very choice cuts of meat and excellent sides. All done with minimal seasoning as the restaurant lets the food do the talking for them. Also, the majority of the food served here is naturally gluten free, which was the reason we chose it (my wife is a Celiac). Steaks almost too big to finish and if you like your meat medium rare, the order it medium or medium well. Both my wife's and my steak, ordered medium rare, were rare at best, but that didn't stop us from eating every last bite. Pretty solid wine list as well. Highly recommended.

Also, if trying to make a reservation, don't try calling before 6pm. Best to call a few days in advanced as this place fills up quickly.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linconete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Beato Aged Steakhouse also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to The Beato Aged Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing