We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad..”

Chinatown - Kuala Lumpur
Book In Advance
More Info
US$59.00*
and up
Small-Group Food Trail Walking Tour in Kuala Lumpur
More Info
US$62.30*
and up
Kuala Lumpur By Night Tour
More Info
US$58.00*
and up
Kuala Lumpur Heritage Walk
Ranked #37 of 280 things to do in Kuala Lumpur
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Sample mouthwatering dumplings, then revel in the shopping fervor and bag a bargain at the lively Petaling Street Market.
Hyderabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not bad..”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I had huge expectations from China Town and I was disappointed as it didn't meet my expectations. All the products (Electronic goods, Garments, Shoes, Belts, perfume bottles..) are priced so high and the chances of cheating are high. I enjoyed food so much. We can get great food for decent price. Those who plan for shopping, you should bargain so hard in China Town.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kamal2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,707 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,337
    2,292
    2,119
    661
    298
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Brockport
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great life experience”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

When my family and I go to Malaysia to visit family, we always take the opportunity visit Chinatown. There is always something different to see and potentially purchase. Better values at night, but not as crowded during the day. As with any public market area, keep your valuables out of view. Never accept the first price, barter, barter and barter some more.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ITCS1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle OZ
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Loved Tang City Food Court”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We were lucky to be staying so close to China town in May 2014, the markets were good fun and the quality of the merchandise was very good I could hardly tell the difference between fake Nike football shirts to the real thing. My favourite though was the Tang City Food Court 2 stalls in particular Keong Keong which sells the best chilli chicken and the indian next door exceptional indian Chicken Curry, this place is full of life my wife and I ate here nearly every night, I have done a short video on you tube which shows some of Chinatown especially Tang City Food Court, Kl and a bit of Langkawi hopefully I am allowed to post the link here which is: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KLpRCC3bNUs

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ordinary night market. Great food.”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

- The night market: Lots of lots of stalls selling counterfeit designer items. There are souvenirs here so you can buy something for yourself and friends and family. Don't expect to find anything unique and feel free to bargain.
- Food: The best part of any market. Go for the beef soup stall on the right hand side walking in from the main gate. It's apparently good according to locals but not my taste to be honest.
- The fruit shop at the intersection inside the market has great fruits, but very expensive compared to what you can get from Isetan supermarket inside Lot10. Other fruits include durians, mangoes, all those delicious tropical fruits.
- All and all, one of the place worth visiting but there is nothing here that you cannot find anywhere else.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Viet Ha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creswick, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great night market”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Went along for a feed and to do some shopping. Great range of shoes, watches, clothing and electrical items (headphones, speakers). Always haggle, and if not happy, move along as there will be a store almost exactly the same a few stalls down.

Helpful?
1 Thank Wakkatoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chinatown - Kuala Lumpur also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Chinatown - Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing