We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel despite the worn-off facade”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #36 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Had to transit in KL for 1 night prior to continuing our journey. Chose Parkroyal Hotel due to its close proximity to major shopping centers.

Check-in was crisp, and we were pleasantly surprised to be informed that we had been upgraded from Deluxe room to Orchid Club room. However, all Orchid Club rooms are located on lower floors, and as such, we got our room on the 3rd floor.

When we stepped out of the lift on 3rd floor, we were stunned by the serenity exuded from the interior decor of the whole Orchid Club. It's truly beautiful to see the rocks and bamboos.

The room was exceptionally cold, but otherwise clean and comfortable. Though we made known to the reception that we're married couple when we checked in, we were puzzled that they'd assigned to us a double-bedded room instead of a King-bed room. Nonetheless, since it's only 1 night transit, we didn't bother to ask for a change.

Toilet area was bright and spacious. Shower water was powerful but provided a jacuzzi feeling.

We've tried taking pictures of the room to share with you here. Hopefully, from the pictures, you'd be able to gauge the wondrous feeling that we had during that 1 night.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TayChuenSiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,390)
There are newer reviews for PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,296 - 2,302 of 3,390 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2012

The trundling monorail above and the bustling traffic below tell you that you're in the place to be. Right across the road from the Sungei Wang Plaza and pretty much in the centre of all activity in KL, this hotel is the place to be in terms of location.

The Central Market (which is where you must go to find your batik and songket stuff) is a 10 minute cab ride, as are the twin towers. Plus the hawkers markets in a little alley off the main road across the hotel means you'll get authentic KL streetfood.

The hotel itself did not impress me. The staff took inordinate amounts of time to check us in and even longer to find our bags while checking out. Not only that, this particular baggage handler seemed to be slightly irritated at being asked to locate our bags- not a welcome situation.

The rooms are fairly large, albeit with a non-existent minibar. The beds are comfortable enough- just what you need when you come back to the hotel tired and in various stages of inebriation. Don't bother with a good view though. This is the middle of the city- not a mountainside. The room we had overlooked a car repair workshop.

Bottomline- do stay here, but only if getting a flavour of KL is top priority for you.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arjyamaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

If one of your objectives to visit KL is shopping, this is a very good location. Bukit Bintang is where several malls are located and most malls are in walking distance of this property.
This property is also very close to the mono rail station which gives you access to other parts of the city.
The hotel sees failry high traffic so late check out, busy breakfast counters can be expected.
In case you are traveling with kids, do take them to Berjaya Time Square across the road which has a large indoor game park.

Room Tip: The road facing rooms would get peak hour traffic noise.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivekdahiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Great location just across the road from Sungei Wang. We stayed on the 10th floor and unlike other reviewers, didn't hear a thing (though having said that,I've stayed at hotels in KL where I've heard street social noise eg bar sounds and karaoke from 7 floors up - so by comparison, road noise like cars honking etc was nothing to me - if the sounds were there, I don't recall hearing them). The room was very small but clean and check in and check out was very quick and painless for us (less than 10 mins each time). We couldn't get the wifi to work, so just plugged our laptop in and that was fine, a good enough connection to play Diablo 3 without lag! hahaha All in all, a comfortable stay and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I usually stay elsewhere whenever I travel to KL. But because I got a good deal to stay at PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur for the weekend, I decided to give this hotel a try. We drove up in the night and unfortunately missed the turning because the sign was not lit. However, when we finally arrived at the Hotel Lobby, we were glad that we chose to stay here for my family trip. The lobby is spacious and the staff friendly. The passenger lift was a little tiny but my room was huge with two double beds, a sofa and a baby cot was all in place. Being a GHA Discovery member gave me free newspapers and bottled water which was fantastic since my hubby cannot get away from news no matter where he is. The main shopping area Bukit Bintang is right outside the door. Everything such as Lot 10, Paragon Shopping centre, BB Plaza and the Jalan Night Alor are all within a super short walking distance. I don't know why I never stayed here but this is definitely my choice from now onwards!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HotMama_Dev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We had arrived at the hotel at 12.15pm and the receptionist was servicing another guest ahead of us in the queue for an early check-in. Despite the number of guests arriving, the receptionist showed no urgency in processing the check-in.

After waiting for 15 minutes just to process the guest in front of us, the receptionist glanced at his computer screen and curtly informed us that "our room" was not ready and to return in an hour's time. While I understood that check-in was at 2pm, I couldn't understand why the guest in front of us could check-in early and found unacceptable that no effort was made to at least start the check-in process. We were merely told to return in an hour's time, with the probability of having to join a long-waiting queue all over again.

We returned at 2.30pm and another receptionist served us. Our suspicions were confirmed that we did not have a pre-assigned room which was not ready for early check-in when this receptionist asked as if we wanted a smoking or non-smoking room. Surely they had other similar rooms ready for early check-in then?

Anyway, the second receptionist was pleasant and even informed us that our rooms lacked towels and that housekeeping would be bringing them up shortly. The first thing guests usually do after checking-in is to shower, especially in a tropical and humid climate like KL's. We waited 10 minutes and called housekeeping to remind them that there were no towels in the room. Unbelievably, it was only after 45 minutes and improvising drying ourselves that the towels came.

Incredibly, the towels were removed but not replaced until much later next day (we returned to the hotel room at 3pm with the room neatly made up, sans towels). Housekeeping only came with fresh towels at around 4pm. It seems that in this hotel, towel replenishment is a separate function from general housekeeping.

This hotel also suffers from street traffic noise as it is located along a major road. Despite being on the 15th floor, honks from buses and revving of motorcycles well past midnight can clearly be heard in the room, even with earplugs on.

The free wifi was also iffy and the signal was non-existent in several parts of the room.

The hotel's location and price are about the only positive I can think of. The hotel is a minute away from Bukit Bintang monorail station and a further 5 minutes away from Pavilion Mall.

I rate the hotel average only because of its service issues.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing away from the street.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoloTravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 05 nights in June. We had initially booked a superior room (on an airline package deal) but thanks to the advice of other travellers on TripAdvisor, we contacted the hotel before our trip and arranged an upgrade to a deluxe room at a cost of approx USD 20 per night. The cost was totally worth it for the extra space in the room, and the size of the bed.

We enjoyed our stay immensely. The hotel staff were friendly and polite at all times, and the cleaning staff were highly efficient - it didn't matter whether we stepped out for an hour or the whole morning, we only had to put the sign on the door and the room was tidied up, and we were never inconvenienced by having the cleaning staff still in the room when we got back (I hate when that happens). The room was great, and the bed was super comfortable - both of us had a good night's sleep every single night, which is rare for us in an unfamiliar location. The hotel's location was perfect; I am an avid shopper, and most of the major malls in KL were just a short walk away.

We did not have any meals at the hotel - there were plenty of great places to eat close to the hotel, including the food courts at Lot 10, Pavilion and Berjaya Times Square as well as the strip of Moroccan / Lebanese / Iranian restaurants between the hotel and the Pavilion shopping mall.

The only downside to our trip was the cost of the hotel taxi to the airport on our return journey - we had to leave the hotel at 2am to catch our flight and the night rates are quite steep (we had to pay around USD 82 compared to USD 33 from airport to hotel) - so I would recommend that you pre-book your airport transfers as part of a package, if possible.

Room Tip: Opt for the deluxe room at the slightly higher price - you won't regret it!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruwani E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.4 mi away
PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
0.2 mi away
Melia Kuala Lumpur
Melia Kuala Lumpur
#41 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
2,250 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Istana
Hotel Istana
#21 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
3,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur
Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur
#47 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
1,924 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
#44 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
1,479 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Kuala Lumpur City Centre Hotel And Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur

Address: Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#24 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#25 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#26 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#34 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: £52 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star hotel managed by Pan Pacific Hotels Group, is centrally located in the heart of Kuala Lumpur's prime business, shopping and entertainment districts. It is only 45 minutes from Kuala Lumpur International Airport and mere minutes from the Kuala Lumpur City Centre (KLCC). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Pan Pacific Hotels Group, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkroyal Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Parkroyal Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Parkroyal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing