We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget option in KL”
Review of Cititel Express

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cititel Express
Ranked #250 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Budget option in KL”
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Went for a student conference in UTAR and this was one of the accommodation options mentioned on the conference website. We were on a tight budget and the hotel was within our affordability range. We chose the standard express room (the cheapest). Arriving at 2:30 in the morning check in was hassle free but no one to carry our luggage. Have seen other reviews complaining about the location but being close to the chow kit monorail meant getting around KL was hassle free once we figured out the transport system. Breakfast spread was good and even a veggie like me had enough options. The front desk helped us in the morning by giving us directions and a map of KL to get around. Room had a small TV with 10-12 channels and a good, clean bathroom. Water purifier was there just outside the room. Room did not have a window which was disappointing. Housekeeping was decent. Hotel also had a spa. The restaurant seemed to close early at night as we arrived late on all the days and never found it open.We left around 2am in the morning to catch a flight around 6 and hotel guys did not help us out with our luggage or by hiring a taxi. Overall, an average stay. If on a tight budget, go for it. Dont expect any good service. Expect a minimal room and facilities.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a window. The standard express does not have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashokkrishnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CEKL, Manager at Cititel Express, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Dear value customer

Thank you for taking time in tripadvisor .

Firstly we do not have bell boy service for 24 hours.For the breakfast we have add add a vegt counter for year 2013.Lastly we have a varieties of room range from Standard non window to Deluxe Quad that can fit in 4-5pax in the room.As for our coffee house the operation hrs from 07:00hrs till 21:00hrs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    82
    87
    19
    20
See reviews for
45
47
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013 via mobile

We reached hotel by 8 45 pm .location dint seem very good. There was no help to take our luggage and by the time we were done checking in, the restaurant had closed down at 9 pm. So we did not get dinner and finding a vegetarian restaurant nearby was difficult. Room was average but had excellent view of the Petrona towers.Overall an average place.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank jigz1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CEKL, Manager at Cititel Express, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Dear Value customer

Thank you for taking time writing your comment in tripadvisor

Firstly we would apologize on the no bell boy service during you arrival.

Due to the low season management have decided to change the coffee house time to 9pm.Management will consider extending the operation hours should there be more respond for late dinner or request for dinner during your reservation made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

JB
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Pros: A good hotel, nice location. It has nice and clean room with comfortable toilet. Nice breakfast but the restaurant is too small and overcrowded. Check-in & Check-out was very swift.

Cons: Dirty mugs. Smell from the neighbouring wet market, overcrowded lifts especially in the morning, you have to wait for quite long to use the lift.

Room Tip: Ask for higher level room as the surrounding could be quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imah_MY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CEKL, Manager at Cititel Express, responded to this review, 26 January 2013
Dear Value guest

Thank you for taking time to comment in tripadvisor.
We value your comment and will find ways to inprove.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navi Mumbai, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

A very good budget hotel at good rates. Special mention of your Chef, who went extra mile to make us comfortable after understanding at last moment (due to communication gap) that we were Vegetarians! Reception staff was very helpful in giving minute tips specially if you want to roam city on your own. Rooms were very clean; we stayed at 16th floor and the view from room was extremely good.

Room Tip: The hotel is at stones throw from monorail station. You can also take citybus and reach Central mark...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUDHIR0906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CEKL, Manager at Cititel Express, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Dear Valued Guest.Thank you for your continuous support.It was great to have you with us.
Our team is glad to know that they have made your stay an enjoyable one.

Happy New Year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed 31 December 2012

It is a good hotel, but in a location which is away from most of the main attractions. The breakfast outlet is too small and congested. Also the buffet area is so tiny that people specially children keep on bumping into you. In terms of service its very mechanical. Rooms could do with more cleaning. Always ask for the Twin Tower (Petronas) facing as the view from your window will be awesome. The city facing rooms have nothing much to offer. There is a very good fruit market opp. the hotel, which is worth trying if you love fruits.

Room Tip: Ask for room on higher floor and with the Twin Twoer view (Petronas).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKP13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CEKL, Manager at Cititel Express, responded to this review, 1 January 2013
Dear value customer

Thank you for taking time to highlight our hotel in tripadvisor.
We will take note of your comment to better our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moratuwa, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2012

we were group of four and stayed 04N 05D. we got a dlx room in 16th floor. room is clean and good.
we had a very calm stay. specially the chef ZAMRI ( Kitchen) and Rasul ( receptionist) help us by giving information. Zamri is a very nice person . Thank you. we will come back again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RashmiThamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CEKL, Manager at Cititel Express, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Dear value guest

Thank you for taking time in tripadvisor .the management do appreciate your feedback in tripadvisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We stayed in Cititel Express for one night during our way back from Thailand trip as we had onward flight from KL. This hotel is very basic but good as per the price they charge. You can always hire a taxi & visit twin towers which is hardly 10-15 minutes from the hotel. The one thing which was annoying, this hotel is a part of many package tour. So lift is always full & you need to wait for your turn. Moreover there is so much of noise. Breakfast was ok. Overall its a good hotel for one night stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room with windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manisha05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CEKL, Manager at Cititel Express, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Dear value guest

Thank you for staying in cititel express and we do value you comment in tripadvisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
3.5 mi away
Cititel Mid Valley
Cititel Mid Valley
#70 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
856 reviews
0.2 mi away
Q Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Q Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#182 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
1,060 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Continental Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Grand Continental Kuala Lu...
#131 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Prescott Hotel Kuala Lumpur - Medan Tuanku
Prescott Hotel Kuala Lumpur - Me...
#121 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
603 reviews
0.9 mi away
Citin Hotel Masjid Jamek
Citin Hotel Masjid Jamek
#178 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
569 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crossroads Hotel
Crossroads Hotel
#94 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cititel Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cititel Express

Property: Cititel Express
Address: Cititel Express No. 449 Jalan Tuanku Abdul Rahman, Kuala Lumpur 50100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #250 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cititel Express 3*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simplicity at its best, Cititel Express Kuala Lumpur is strategically located in the "old-world" charm of Kuala Lumpur along the scenic and quaintessence of Jalan Tuanku Abdul Rahman. Offering 244 guestrooms with 6 room types to choose; Cititel Express Kuala Lumpur provides all our guestrooms with essential room amenities at a great value. Within the 10-minute radius of the commercial districts, financial institutions, government offices, local eateries, entertainment areas, international exhibition centres, as well as major tourist sites; it is also conveniently located along the ring of public transportation. Our own restaurant (The Terrace) which opens daily serving local varieties as well as western cuisine offers our guests the best view on the daily lives of the people along Jalan Tuanku Abdul Rahman. Our Nasi Lemak (rice cooked with coconut milk) which served along with hot & spicy sambal plus other condiments is our best local signature dish. Try out our other local dishes such as Nasi Goreng (Fried Rice), Mee Goreng Mamak (Fried Noodles) or any other dishes that are simply mouthwatering. Cititel Express Kuala Lumpur - Smart, Clean, Simple a hotel that promise to deliver our guests a refreshingly simple yet clean and comfortable accommodation which one would agree to say : GREAT VALUE BOOK NOW. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cititel Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cititel Express Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing