We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value For Money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cititel Express

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cititel Express
Ranked #249 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Value For Money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

Clean rooms, comfy bed, the usual in bath, small refrigerator, coffee kettle, no LCD(old shaped tv) perfect cooling and a great price....breakfast though elaborate and as per indian taste, was just ok. Mono rail station is 2 minutes walk, shop at UO departmental store close by and skip 7/11, there is a huge price difference. Mono rail is very convenient. There is a wholesale market closeby selling everything made in China.We had good 3 nights here. The price is better if booked directly on their website, book 2 nights and 3rd night is available at a good deal. Oh and yes, the child goes free if using same bed.

Room Tip: We got a front facing room, so it did not have a view of petronas, not sure if the other side gives...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshishSethi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CEKL, Manager at Cititel Express, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Dear Value Guest

Thank you for taking time in trip advisor .There will be more packages in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    82
    87
    19
    20
See reviews for
45
47
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
118 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

Stayed here for two nights. We arrived 3 am in night and got our room after little trobule for which we were not actualy ready after informing them in advance. And there was a customer standing there complaining that AC of his room not working. After getting inside the room we realized that the AC has not been switched on till now and so we were not able to sleep for another hour because of ehich we nearly ,ossed our next day morning city tour.

Breakfast was very average, not at all great! Location of the hotel is also not too good. Staff is OK. The only thing I liked was view from my room of Petronas Tower and adjecennt sky scrappers.

The most terrible thing happened on last day of our visit when there was a power putage in hotel for couple of hours and we were totally drenched in swet. I never ever expected anything like this to happen in a hotel and they had no backup!!

Room Tip: Take rooms in higher floor facing the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RD_Xplores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CEKL, Manager at Cititel Express, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Dear value guest

Thank you for your report in tripadvisor.
1) Firstly our AC do not on automatically .You have to slot in the key card in order for the AC to activate and there is not report regards to the A/C during you 2 night stay.
2) For power back up ,we do have power backup for the lobby lift,corridor and the emergency light in every room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

My wife and I spend 2days at cititel express kuala lumpur.the room clean but aircond very slow.the reception staff very friendly & helpful in directing us to places we should visit.breakfast very expensive rm18/pax but not many choice

Room Tip: Nice view and near to monorail station
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shah274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CEKL, Manager at Cititel Express, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Dear Value customer

Thank you for your comment in trip advisor we will take note of the choice of breakfast for foreigner .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

I did not expect that this hotel would limit their clients the way we felt.
First, it is far from the areas of good interest. Second, For a country which boasts of so much development I was expecting that there will be good amenities in the hotel. But to my dismay, there is no free wifi access in the hotel room which I believe is very important! Third, I did not like the breakfast as much as i did with the other hotels that I have been to.
The only saving grace that this hotel has is that it has a good view of the Petronas towers. But don't look down outside your window because it looks so depressing outside!
Over all, if you are in business, don't book in this hotel.

Room Tip: far from places of interest like for shoppers; no wifi inside room;
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dorayskie2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CEKL, Manager at Cititel Express, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Dear value customer

thank you for your comment in trip advisor

Firstly for your comment on the free internet the management in the mean of upgrading the system and in future the will be free internet.
Secondly our chef also in the process of coming out new menu for the breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

I have just composed rather long story about that Hotel.
It was so negative > I deleted it.
I need to think twice before saying bad things about any place.
Therefore NO comments and no recommendations.
Going to think for a while, but basically Cititel Express is not that good.
I rather say nothing than something negative ...
Feel free to contact me for more info.
It is NOT BAD, but I would not stay there again.

Room Tip: I am not sure how it works, but I had to upgrade my room to so called 'Superior'. That too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anka w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 4D&3N.

Pros:
-near Chow Kit Station (convenient to go Bukit Bintang, Berjaya Timesquare)
-you can walk to SOGO, MYDIN and other little shops along the road (you can take any bus too, it's just RM1)

Cons:
-the staff at the FRONT DESK/RECEPTION, they are not 'welcoming' at all. Never smile, as if she was forced to work. We, as guests, were the one who had to GREET THEM. Not asking for much, just a simple good morning & smile, but she can't even do that. For all 4 days, no difference. (busy playing with her mobile phone)

Really poor service (surprisingly, the staff at the cafe was more friendly)

-NO FREE WI-FI (charged RM20 or smth like that per day, if you want wifi in your room)

-for a 3 star hotel, i think a 2 star hotel which i ever stayed, has way way way better customer service than CITITEL EXPRESS.

-Leaking pipe, had problem while flushing the toilet bowl.

-breakfast menu was the SAME everyday. On my last day of stay, we had breakfast outside. Sick of the same exact thing. Drinks was not replenished on the dispenser.

-location wise, the hotel is surrounded with the popular chow kit night market, we were very uncomfortable with the surroundings. Ladies, pls travel with a guy at least if you wanna stay at this hotel. (Just saying)

Conclusion?

Will never choose this hotel again (a 2 star hotel has better service, after experience)

Please improve on your customer service, SMILE & greet, very simple right?

Thanks.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sweetisxd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CEKL, Manager at Cititel Express, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Dear value customer

We will take note on the services at the front desk .
For the internet we are in the mean of upgrading the system to provide complimentary wi-fi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a quad room.. Room 0714. First impression was good for the price we paid. No complaints. Upon further checking, realised yellow brownish stains in the toilet And remnants ts of brown "things" spotted outsidr the bowl!

Switched on the shower, water leaked everywhere. Toilet bowl, had some minor problem. 24/7 the you can hear those flushing sound.

At night, applied for wifi service for RM25. We stayed at a quad room, therefore we tried to login to wifi, but only ONE device is allower per room.

Checked with counter service, checking if we can have all of our four devices be allowed to login. Nonchalantly, he just brushed off saying just pay for four devices!

Furthermore the speed is sooo damn slow in the room. At the corridor its faster.

So if any of you wants to apply the wifi for good, multiple devices connection, please don't waste your time & money on it..


Some good note is that, its quite near monorail for good access.

I have never had such bad experience staying in a hotel, & this is my very first review. Bad service and bad attitude, & top with bad room..

Bad bad..

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank syukur1742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CEKL, Manager at Cititel Express, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Dear Value guest

Thank you for taking time in writing your experience in tripadvisor
Management will take your comment seriously. By the way or internet for 24hrs on at RM20.00nett. and we are in process to provide complimentary internet usages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
3.5 mi away
Cititel Mid Valley
Cititel Mid Valley
#67 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Continental Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Grand Continental Kuala Lu...
#132 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.4 mi away
Prescott Hotel Kuala Lumpur - Medan Tuanku
Prescott Hotel Kuala Lumpur - Me...
#124 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crossroads Hotel
Crossroads Hotel
#89 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel City Centre Kuala Lumpur
Quality Hotel City Centre Kuala ...
#221 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pacific Express Hotel
Pacific Express Hotel
#70 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cititel Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cititel Express

Property: Cititel Express
Address: Cititel Express No. 449 Jalan Tuanku Abdul Rahman, Kuala Lumpur 50100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #249 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cititel Express 3*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simplicity at its best, Cititel Express Kuala Lumpur is strategically located in the "old-world" charm of Kuala Lumpur along the scenic and quaintessence of Jalan Tuanku Abdul Rahman. Offering 244 guestrooms with 6 room types to choose; Cititel Express Kuala Lumpur provides all our guestrooms with essential room amenities at a great value. Within the 10-minute radius of the commercial districts, financial institutions, government offices, local eateries, entertainment areas, international exhibition centres, as well as major tourist sites; it is also conveniently located along the ring of public transportation. Our own restaurant (The Terrace) which opens daily serving local varieties as well as western cuisine offers our guests the best view on the daily lives of the people along Jalan Tuanku Abdul Rahman. Our Nasi Lemak (rice cooked with coconut milk) which served along with hot & spicy sambal plus other condiments is our best local signature dish. Try out our other local dishes such as Nasi Goreng (Fried Rice), Mee Goreng Mamak (Fried Noodles) or any other dishes that are simply mouthwatering. Cititel Express Kuala Lumpur - Smart, Clean, Simple a hotel that promise to deliver our guests a refreshingly simple yet clean and comfortable accommodation which one would agree to say : GREAT VALUE BOOK NOW. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cititel Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cititel Express Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing