We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TERRIBLE!!!”
Review of Cititel Express

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cititel Express
Ranked #254 of 349 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Terrible hotel. Their service was good but the hotel is very dirty.
Horrible, dirty & noisy location.
The scary thing only the parking area. It is dark with no elevator. The guard also lazy to open the gate, use only one way to enter and exit from car park to main road was so not safety.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twjian525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CEKL, Manager at Cititel Express, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Dear value guest ,

Thank you for your comment in tripadvisor. Firstly for the dirty location is due to the our hotel is located near the chow kit market and there is upgrade work for the market.
There is no elevator from the basement car park is due to security reason
Car park entrance we will take note on the in and out flow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

63 - 69 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013

1. HORRIBLE Location: it is located near chow kit which is an ex red light district. was walking around the roads near the hotel in search of dinner and it felt totally unsafe with beggars and gangsters lookalike wondering about the roads.

2. SMALL Car Park : was driving my car and to my horror, only found out that the car park is only 2 level high. how on earth could the hotel accommodate so many guest with such a miniscule carpark???!!!!!!!
navigating the carpark is a pain as well with windy turns and steep roads. Our car nearly rammed into the walls due to windy turns.

3. the road to the CARPARK is full of garbage: the view from the alleyway to the car park is really run down. the road is full of garbage and the houses are crestfallen with black gooey stuff on them and it stinks real bad too. I could even smell the stench from inside my car.

4. CARPARK IS FULL AT NIGHT. Was trying to find carpark after a night out in one of the city hottest club and found out to my great annoyance that it was full! in the end we had to pay rm3 to park outside in the alleyway in the midnight!

5. SMALL ROOMS: rooms are very compact and very congested. but cleanliness of the room was okay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sotongishere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CEKL, Manager at Cititel Express, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Dear Value Customer

Thank you for your comment in trip advisor . Will take note of your comment .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We had been to KL for honeymoon trip and stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. The rooms are quite big, spacious. Nicely done bathroom. And its in vicinity to market area. But one thing that must be noted that, there's a local market behind the hotel, which is not very safe for tourists. You will often find locals faking themselves as police or narcotics office. And they try to loot the visitors of their valuables, cash, jewellery or whatever they can. Prior to to going to KL, I had read about this incident and was little aware while we roamed around the local market. And we ran in the same situation where a faker came to us. He also showed us a face police id card. Luckily we were not carrying any cash, valuables so were saved. And when we reported this to hotel staff at the reception, they denied of knowing of any such incident. It seemed as if they did knew but denied to save the reputation of the hotel. So my recommendation is roam around during the day light only and come back to hotel by evening. Overall we had pleasant stay at the hotel.

Room Tip: If you get a hotel at better location, go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank vishalraj82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CEKL, Manager at Cititel Express, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dear value guest,

thank you for your comment in tripadvisor.We take note of your comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Clean rooms, comfy bed, the usual in bath, small refrigerator, coffee kettle, no LCD(old shaped tv) perfect cooling and a great price....breakfast though elaborate and as per indian taste, was just ok. Mono rail station is 2 minutes walk, shop at UO departmental store close by and skip 7/11, there is a huge price difference. Mono rail is very convenient. There is a wholesale market closeby selling everything made in China.We had good 3 nights here. The price is better if booked directly on their website, book 2 nights and 3rd night is available at a good deal. Oh and yes, the child goes free if using same bed.

Room Tip: We got a front facing room, so it did not have a view of petronas, not sure if the other side gives...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AshishSethi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CEKL, Manager at Cititel Express, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Dear Value Guest

Thank you for taking time in trip advisor .There will be more packages in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Stayed here for two nights. We arrived 3 am in night and got our room after little trobule for which we were not actualy ready after informing them in advance. And there was a customer standing there complaining that AC of his room not working. After getting inside the room we realized that the AC has not been switched on till now and so we were not able to sleep for another hour because of ehich we nearly ,ossed our next day morning city tour.

Breakfast was very average, not at all great! Location of the hotel is also not too good. Staff is OK. The only thing I liked was view from my room of Petronas Tower and adjecennt sky scrappers.

The most terrible thing happened on last day of our visit when there was a power putage in hotel for couple of hours and we were totally drenched in swet. I never ever expected anything like this to happen in a hotel and they had no backup!!

Room Tip: Take rooms in higher floor facing the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RD_Xplores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CEKL, Manager at Cititel Express, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Dear value guest

Thank you for your report in tripadvisor.
1) Firstly our AC do not on automatically .You have to slot in the key card in order for the AC to activate and there is not report regards to the A/C during you 2 night stay.
2) For power back up ,we do have power backup for the lobby lift,corridor and the emergency light in every room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

My wife and I spend 2days at cititel express kuala lumpur.the room clean but aircond very slow.the reception staff very friendly & helpful in directing us to places we should visit.breakfast very expensive rm18/pax but not many choice

Room Tip: Nice view and near to monorail station
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shah274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CEKL, Manager at Cititel Express, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Dear Value customer

Thank you for your comment in trip advisor we will take note of the choice of breakfast for foreigner .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I did not expect that this hotel would limit their clients the way we felt.
First, it is far from the areas of good interest. Second, For a country which boasts of so much development I was expecting that there will be good amenities in the hotel. But to my dismay, there is no free wifi access in the hotel room which I believe is very important! Third, I did not like the breakfast as much as i did with the other hotels that I have been to.
The only saving grace that this hotel has is that it has a good view of the Petronas towers. But don't look down outside your window because it looks so depressing outside!
Over all, if you are in business, don't book in this hotel.

Room Tip: far from places of interest like for shoppers; no wifi inside room;
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dorayskie2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CEKL, Manager at Cititel Express, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Dear value customer

thank you for your comment in trip advisor

Firstly for your comment on the free internet the management in the mean of upgrading the system and in future the will be free internet.
Secondly our chef also in the process of coming out new menu for the breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.4 mi away
Prescott Hotel Kuala Lumpur - Medan Tuanku
Prescott Hotel Kuala Lumpur - Me...
#115 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
607 reviews
1.4 mi away
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
#56 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
1,025 reviews
3.5 mi away
Cititel Mid Valley
Cititel Mid Valley
#72 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Sentral
Hotel Sentral
#111 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
1,413 reviews
1.3 mi away
Citin Seacare Hotel Pudu Kuala Lumpur
1.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cititel Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cititel Express

Address: Cititel Express No. 449 Jalan Tuanku Abdul Rahman, Kuala Lumpur 50100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #254 of 349 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: £33 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simplicity at its best, Cititel Express Kuala Lumpur is strategically located in the "old-world" charm of Kuala Lumpur along the scenic and quaintessence of Jalan Tuanku Abdul Rahman. Offering 244 guestrooms with 6 room types to choose; Cititel Express Kuala Lumpur provides all our guestrooms with essential room amenities at a great value. Within the 10-minute radius of the commercial districts, financial institutions, government offices, local eateries, entertainment areas, international exhibition centres, as well as major tourist sites; it is also conveniently located along the ring of public transportation. Our own restaurant (The Terrace) which opens daily serving local varieties as well as western cuisine offers our guests the best view on the daily lives of the people along Jalan Tuanku Abdul Rahman. Our Nasi Lemak (rice cooked with coconut milk) which served along with hot & spicy sambal plus other condiments is our best local signature dish. Try out our other local dishes such as Nasi Goreng (Fried Rice), Mee Goreng Mamak (Fried Noodles) or any other dishes that are simply mouthwatering. Cititel Express Kuala Lumpur - Smart, Clean, Simple a hotel that promise to deliver our guests a refreshingly simple yet clean and comfortable accommodation which one would agree to say : GREAT VALUE BOOK NOW. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Cititel Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cititel Express Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing