We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Particularly disappointing.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Capri by Fraser, Kuala Lumpur / Malaysia
Ranked #15 of 347 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed at Capri by Fraser KL for one night on 16th August, and chose it as we were long-term Fraser residents in Jakarta and have also stayed with them in other countries, particularly enjoying the impeccable Capri by Fraser in Singapore We have to say that this was probably our worst experience with them, which is particularly disappointing as it has real potential.

The room itself was great – spacious, loads of natural light, a fantastic bed, beautiful toiletries and good general facilities but be very careful of the slippery shower which need addressing with better flooring or simple quality non-slip shower mats.

Breakfast was only one word – diabolical, and of a very low standard. Beef bacon tasted like it had seen better days, chicken sausages were undercooked, baked beans were dubious, in fact all the food on display looked rather tired. Coffee was weak & tasteless. Only the mini-muffins tried to save the day.

Most staff were inexperienced, slow and lacked people skills. For example, fish & chips is served on the menu but when we asked for just chips, the staff member initially said they didn’t serve them until we pointed them out, then needed to check if it was possible…all for a bowl of chips…and then also struggled when asked if wine is served even although other alcohol was on the menu. Note to the manager – get your staff up to speed, and take a leaf from Fraser Jakarta (in Setiabudi) to see how a Fraser should be run. We won’t be back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VICTORIAPRINCIPLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHo-CFKL, General Manager at Capri by Fraser, Kuala Lumpur / Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

While we strive to maintain the highest customer satisfaction standards, monitoring our effectiveness can be a challenge at times.

Our sincere apologies about the incident you experience during your stay with us. We have noted of your comment about the food and beverage experiences during your recent stay with us. Rest assure that I will personally share your feedback about the incident with our Executive Chef as well as our Food & Beverage Manager for their immediate review and attention for the inconvenience caused and to ensure that such incidents will not occur again. As such, we will conduct re-training for our team members to be more alert and tactful when it comes to our resident’s request.

Thank you for your patronage and we hope that you would reconsider staying with us again, giving us another opportunity to serve you better.

Sincerely,
Tony Ho
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (942)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

746 - 752 of 942 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

Clean, well appointed apartment (large 3 bed). Good restaurants nearby. Friendly and helpful staff. Secure parking. Would recommend. Apparently 132 characters is too succinct for trip advisor. tralala

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JSharpey79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHo-CFKL, General Manager at Capri by Fraser, Kuala Lumpur / Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you for staying with us, and I appreciate the feedback on the hotel residence.

I am delighted that you had taste our warm & caring service along with our dynamic facilities and you found our property to your liking.

I hope to be able to welcome you back to Capri by Fraser Kuala Lumpur soon!

Regards,
Tony Ho
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The hotel was brand new, rooms space and comfortable however noisy. Especially the air conditioner.
What lowered my rating and appreciation for the hotel were:
1: The check in/out procedure was way to long. Staff is really friendly but it took them 30 minutes to reconcile a booking.com reservation with a direct to hotel email amendment (upon their advice). We were really tired after a 12 hour flight and wanted to get our room as fast as possible to rest and refresh but even after hinting this several times it was not picked up by the staff. They were to busy with their computer system. Checking out same story. Took way to long.
2: The location. It is a building site. There is nothing in the area. Most taxi drivers did not know the location. The next door mall just started operation. There was hardly anything there
Let's hope for Capri these are just start up glitches.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank jos3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHo-CFKL, General Manager at Capri by Fraser, Kuala Lumpur / Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

While we strive to maintain the highest customer satisfaction standards, monitoring our effectiveness can be a challenge at times. We are very sorry about the incident you experience during your recent stay with us. We have noted of your comment and rest assure that I will personally work closely with our Operations and Engineering team members to look into the air conditioner as well as the check-in process to ensure that such incidents will not occur again.

Thank you for your patronage and we hope that you would reconsider staying with us again, giving us another opportunity to serve you better.

Sincerely,
Tony Ho
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed 5 nights in early August at this hotel after reading the reviews on TripAdvisor.
The hotel isn't too near the city center but this made our stay more relaxing. Actually, there are many restaurants nearby & the Mid Valley mall is a short shuttle bus ride away.
We stayed in an apartment with one en-suite bedroom, kitchen, office & living room. It was so nice to come back to a spacious room instead of the usual cramped hotel room & if you are traveling with children you will appreciate the space & privacy.
The facilities were excellent, the beautiful infinity pool, bar lounge, jacuzzis, gym & playrooms all have great views of KL as they are located on the top floors of the hotel, these areas are excellent for lounging around away from your room.
Breakfast in the mornings was fine with a choice of hot & cold dishes although the choice wasn't extensive & seating limited, if there is one area of improvement needed it would have to be the dining choice in the hotel but for me it wasn't too important, perhaps because that is negated by the in room cooking facilities & eateries nearby.
We had a wonderful stay at The Capri Fraser & I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tylau88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHo-CFKL, General Manager at Capri by Fraser, Kuala Lumpur / Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback which will be shared with the team at Capri by Fraser Kuala Lumpur. Your feedback motivates us to do better to ensure that our residents have a warm and pleasant experience.

We appreciate your review and the compliments about our service and facilities. We hope to welcome you again.

Regards,
Tony Ho
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed for 3 nights. Checking-in was a breeze. The hotel staff were all very pleasant and helpful, especially the one who checked us in (sorry, I forgot your name). The rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable.

Breakfast was ok, although there was not a lot of choices.

Will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone going to KL. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank redeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHo-CFKL, General Manager at Capri by Fraser, Kuala Lumpur / Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback which will be shared with the team at Capri by Fraser Kuala Lumpur. Your feedback motivates us to do better to ensure that our residents have a warm and pleasant experience. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Regards,
Tony Ho
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed for three nights at this amazing hotel. Everything was perfect when we first entered the room... The decor, distribution, size of space, comfortable beds, super TV... even kitchen utensils! Our stay was awesome!!
A great breakfast to all nationalities, with delicious espresso coffee included.
Its facilities offer a variety of entertainment options: Gym, sauna, yoga room, kids playground room, billiards, foosball, video games as Ps4 and Xbox Kinnect...
I encourage everyone to discover the infinity pool, it was amazing!! You can even take advantage to visit later private jacuzzi on the upper level. Really impressive views!
I highly recommend this hotel for everyone who wants to go to KL. The only negative point is that you might not want to leave the hotel throughout your stay...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pauldvv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHo-CFKL, General Manager at Capri by Fraser, Kuala Lumpur / Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is great to have you stay with us. We appreciate your review and the compliments about our service and facilities. We hope to welcome you again.

Regards,
Tony Ho
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Had to make a short trip to Kuala Lumpur (KL) last minute. Had wanted to stay in Hotel X, near where we would alight from coach, however, it had full occupancy. Then, hotel Y, near coach stop too, was very old, thanks to TA reviewers, we saw photos of old bath tubs, old hair dryers, ancient taps and dirty carpet etc. We chanced upon reviews on Capri Fraser (it was No. 5 for KL hotels under TA last week and I think its position has risen) and decided to give it a try though it is neither near Bt Bintang nor Petronas Towers area.

We felt so welcomed by the always-smiling and extremely friendly Omar at the front desk. The earlier 10-min uphill climb from Universiti LRT station was almost forgotten immediately. We had earlier decided to take the trains to escape from the traffic jam.

The first impression of Capri Fraser KL : fantastic! Love the light-coloured, hip decor and furniture! The polo-shirt uniform of the staff makes them look young, lively, friendly and approachable.

The 650sf-room that comes with a fully-equipped kitchenette and a balcony is something that we adore! Beds are comfortable and we used double pillows for extra comfort. Love the L-shaped mirrors, the huge TV and Malin+Goetz toiletries! We cannot think of something that we need that Capri Fraser KL does not have in its room. The washing machines are located on a few floors in "SPIN" room.

Having stayed and swum in the sky pool of Marina Bay Sands (MBS) Singapore, we have yet to find another hotel that gives the same feel till we stay at Capri Fraser KL. Never mind that MBS' infinity pool overlooks the CBD of Singapore and that of Capri Fraser KL does not, the infinity pool at Capri (on the 33rd storey) boasts a view that is enough to captivate, especially at night. On the 34th storey, you will find private gazebos that overlook exactly the same KL view as its infinity pool. To Capri management: we feel it would be nice to have a few chairs to put our towels and clothes/bathrobes on the 34th storey.

Capri Fraser KL can be a business hotel and also a family hotel. It provides free one-way shuttle bus to town, useful for guests who are on business trip and do not wish to catch a cab. It also has so many facilities for children such as indoor playground, children's pool, kick-boxing (well, kids can have a casual go at kick boxing facility just for the fun of it) and games room. For the adults, besides the pool, you have got the gym with brand new equipment. One night was NOT enough for us to enjoy all the facilities.

Breakfast is at 6.30-10.30am and it is prudent to be early as there was a pretty long queue at 9.45am. We started our breakfast at 9.30am and we did not need to queue. For the 4 recent hotels that we stayed in Malaysia, 3 in JB and 1 in KL, I think Renaissance JB has the best breakfast. For the price we paid for Capri Fraser, the breakfast was good enough, we have been spoilt for choices by the other 3 hotels in JB. Capri may want to consider to place more 2-guest tables so that 2 guests do not occupy a 4-guest table, that may alleviate the queue issue. For the time being, I think Capri management may consider roping in more staff to help out during breakfast time as we encountered a Filipina staff that was obviously overworked and something that had happened between the staff and one of the guests. We are uncertain but we think the guest either enjoyed his breakfast without paying or perhaps not agreeing to pay, it was a not-so-pleasant scene due to the harsh tone of Filipina staff's voice and guest sitting outside the breakfast area with a bowl of fruit on the floor.

Have a drink at its bar on the 33rd storey. It's nice! Happy hour ends at 9pm.

Capri Fraser is part of the Bangsar South Development project which has hotel, offices and retail components, thus you can venture into Life Care Centre (half minute from Capri), Nexus (one minute away) and Sphere (5 minutes away) retail outlets to take a look. "Subway" and other small eateries in Life Care Centre and Sphere, and mid-end restaurants at Nexus. There is a money changer at Sphere, behind the escalator, basement. There is a supermarket at Sphere's basement too. If you want to venture further, you can take an LRT to brand new shopping centre, Nu Sentral @ KL Sentral station, just 4 stations away from Universiti station. You will be able to find shops, restaurants, food court and upcoming cinemas at Nu Sentral. No necessity to shop at Bt Bintang malls which we found old and uninviting. Nu Sentral mall has the same standard as Singapore malls, just like City Square in JB.

We have not been to KL for more than 10 years. Having been to Bukit Bintang in this recent trip, looking at the massive traffic jam on the roads, the crowd in the hotels and shopping centres, and the not-so-well-maintained and not-well-refurbished hotels there, we highly recommend Capri Fraser KL, not only the hotel is brand new (opened only in Apr 2014), the surrounding buildings are new, modern and clean, and most importantly, quiet and peaceful. There is no traffic jam. And Universiti LRT is a mere 10-minute walk away if you miss the free Capri Shuttle bus.

Well, having all the hardware above is just one aspect, it is the software, its warm and friendly staff that makes Capri Fraser special and the RIGHT choice for us, and hopefully for you too!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jedai79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHo-CFKL, General Manager at Capri by Fraser, Kuala Lumpur / Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for staying with us, and I appreciate the feedback on the hotel residence.

I am delighted that you had taste our warm & caring service from our team member Omar along with our dynamic facilities and you found our property to your liking. Your feedback motivates us to do better to ensure that our residents have a warm and pleasant experience.

I hope to be able to welcome you back to Capri by Fraser Kuala Lumpur soon!

Regards,
Tony Ho
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
5.3 mi away
Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur
Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur
#16 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
877 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
#14 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
3,276 reviews
4.1 mi away
PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
3.8 mi away
Lanson Place Bukit Ceylon Serviced Residences
4.4 mi away
Fraser Place Kuala Lumpur
Fraser Place Kuala Lumpur
#24 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capri by Fraser, Kuala Lumpur / Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capri by Fraser, Kuala Lumpur / Malaysia

Address: No 5 Jalan Kerinchi | Bangsar South City, Kuala Lumpur 59200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 347 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: £44 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Capri by Fraser, Kuala Lumpur / Malaysia 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a refreshing stay that blurs the line between business and leisure, Capri by Fraser Kuala Lumpur is set in a 33-storey tower with a rooftop bar offering stunning city views. A destination in itself, this smart new property features 240 spacious studios and apartments, all with kitchenettes, hi-speed Wi-Fi throughout and the very latest facilities. Located in the newly-transformed Bangsar South district, Capri by Fraser Kuala Lumpur offers light, casual dining at Caprilicious and Delite, the Ripples poolside bar, and the Pod and Pow-Wow meeting facilities. Surrounded by a wealth of entertainment and recreation options, including the new NEXUS Mall and a six-acre park, this chic new destination offers savvy travellers a fun and rejuvenating stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Capri by Fraser, Kuala Lumpur / Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing