We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly service and clean room”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mirama Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mirama Hotel
Ranked #182 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly service and clean room”
Reviewed 6 December 2012 via mobile

I stay here for one night with my two other friends. We choose here, because it's very close to stadium merdeka. I saw some others bad review said that a lot of cockroach, so I was afraid and keep this mind until I stayed for one night. There is clean enough and customer service very sweet and funny, even we meet a room cleaner in the lift, she just smile to us. I highly recommend this, if you after not high budget and just for a sleep but not a support high five star hotel. I will come again.

Helpful?
3 Thank Terry K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    14
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
10
9
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Upon check-in the chinese ladies at the front desk was extremely helpful & friendly.
Recommend for those budget traveler & who want go to Stadium Merdeka (10-15minutes walk)
There is no 24 hours 7-11 shop nearby, the closer store is in the Esso Petrol Station but open till 11pm only. There is nothing much to do, no restaurant or food stall around.

Room Tip: Try not to choose the room face to the road side, was so much noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Irene_G1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
240 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

The room and bathroom were clean and adequate. Traffic noise was quite bad though, as the room faced the main road. There is a tv with some English channels. The shower was not particularly hot, it's an instant electric water heater. Soap is provided, but no shampoo. It's just a few minutes walk to the monorail station.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank LizinKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Mirama hotel restaurant is in "kopitiam" style. The breakfast taste good but the service was so damn poor! They were lack of staffs. This maybe due to Hari Raya but then they cannot treat customer this way. When we first step into the kopitiam, the person in charge didnt serve us immediately. Second, when we want to find a place, we waited so long for the waitress to clear the table. Next, not only the choice of the food is limited but it is not enough at all. Everyone waited for the food to be served. And the waitress' attitude was so rude. A couple of foreigner is seating there waiting very long for the food to be served but no action was taken from the pic. (What a shame!) Other than that, even the plate, spoon and cup is not enough also.

The rooms was refurnished and it was clean and comfortable.

The location require customer to have own transport, if not they have to walk for a distance for public transport.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank venessa_teoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2009

It's not new but it is comfortable & clean. They have a safe in the room, and a decent restaurant just off the lobby for the free breakfast. One thing was really different: there's a wall switch on the outside of the bathrom for the in-shower water heater, it must be turned on for hot water: What the heck, it's Asia!! The side of the building that faces the traffic coming from downtown - is a little noisy at night; I'd reccomend the other side of the hotel (unless you have ear plugs and I always do!) For the price (and I'm pickey) - I slept fine! Good enough hotel!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank richly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2007

Breakfast not so good. Just enough to fill the stomac. Outdoor parking lot is available. Car park is bad. Do go there early if you want to park your car in good condition. Park at your own risk. Beggers will beg for money in the afternoon for there's no guards around. Guards only available during at night. Good for middle low budgeted travel.

  • Liked — Best service
  • Disliked — Poor Service
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Calvinjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malacca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2007

I got a room in this hotel on a walk-in basis, no pre-booking. It was during the Malaysia F1 weekend and all the other hotels in KL were full. The rates were fairly cheap: a standard room with twinbed cost me only MYR90 per night, inclusive of breakfast. There are some open-space parking available next to the hotel, however, these are public parking and not the hotel's private carpark. It is altogether a rather dodgy area, with one or two dishelved men wandering about at night.

My room was on the second floor, it looked directly out to the mainstreet. You can hear cars zooming past at night. The room was quite spacious, considering the price I paid. Everything looked tidy enough, with a TV set (local channels and selected cable channels) and a mini-fridge (which was not working, by the way).

The first horror of the night came in the form of a large cockroach, crawling around on the bed rather lazily. We were horrified, and managed to get rid of the roach by ourselves. However, a second roach made its appearance not an hour later, and we called the reception, hoping we could get a change of room, just as a third baby roach came running across the floor.

The receptionist did not sound at all surprised by the roaches and did not offer any apologies, infact, she hung up abruptly after our complaint without so much as a reassurance that it would be taken care of. 15 minutes later, a cleaning lady was sent up with a bottle of insect spray in hand.

I was appalled. Did they really plan to spray the air-conditioned room with closed windows, with guests in it?? Apparently they did. We decided to go out for a bit to let the fumes settle. The 3rd roach was the least of our problems, as the night went on, 7,8,9!! other baby roaches were found taking over the room. As we were tired, we had to stay the night, with nowhere else to go.

I have stayed in many budget hotels before this, but none as appalling as this.

The next morning, we packed and left immediately after breakfast. Breakfast was a buffet spread, with limited variety and weak coffee. We even found a stowaway roach in the car later, a perfect end to a traumatising weekend.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cockraoches, unhelpful stuff
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KatyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Mandarin Court Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Mandarin Court Hotel Kuala Lumpu...
#130 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
53 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lantern Hotel
Lantern Hotel
#83 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
204 reviews
0.8 mi away
Avenue J Hotel Central Market KL
Avenue J Hotel Central Market KL
#141 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grid 9 Hotel
Grid 9 Hotel
#66 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
636 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royce Hotel
Royce Hotel
#160 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
119 reviews
0.7 mi away
Prescott Hotel Kuala Lumpur Sentral
Prescott Hotel Kuala Lumpur Sent...
#108 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirama Hotel

Property: Mirama Hotel
Address: 95 Jalan Maharajalela, Kuala Lumpur 50150, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mirama Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Mirama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirama Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing