We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel Truly 5star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #9 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Treorchy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel Truly 5star”
Reviewed 22 May 2013

After travelling for 8hours by train from Singapore and then over 1 hour at peak time in a city taxi we checked into Traders. We were cajoled into paying $10 extra for a Twin Towers view but from then on in it was first class all the way.
Great room, great view, free snacks and tea soft drinks all day, great breakfast and free drinks and snacks/food 5pm to 7pm. The staff are all pleasant and want to help in whatever way they can and the view of the park and outdoor pools below is to die for.
Location superb we could not have chosen a better hotel to spend a few nights in.
Well Done Traders.

Room Tip: Get a Club Room the extra cost is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomT77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,418
    2,450
    529
    155
    105
See reviews for
1,511
4,706
670
1,232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,356)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Just spent 5 nights staying at Traders. More than enough time to get know the establishment. The thing that stands out for us was the staff. They will, most of the time go the extra mile for you. We stayed at Club room overlooking the Towers. Worth every cent if its your first time visiting KL. The staff at the Traders Club pretty much knew us all by name by the first day and anticipated our needs fairly well. Especially appreciated when you are travelling with a baby.

With the club rooms, breakfast is included in the room rate and is available in the club rooms. As we'll as breakfast, afternoon tea and cocktails are available later in the day and all included in the room rate. The service in the club rooms was fairly good. Only the last morning of our stay did there appear to a slight drop in service standards during breakfast, but we believe it was a one off occasion. There were quite a few babies and children also dining at the club rooms and the hotel staff are very supportive with high chairs etc available. However an improvement I believe would be to maybe set aside a quieter region of the club rooms for other guests that are not travelling with children so they can dine in peace. If it were a business traveller, I think I'd appreciate the peace and quiet over breakfast. I did feel sorry for them....

A visit to the Sky Bar is a must, as is a swim and a lounge around in a cabaña by the pool at some point of your stay.

The rooms themselves are a haven in the busy steaming metropolis that is KL. Yes quiet. The only sound that penetrated the room was the thunderstorm overhead. Hopefully the room equally contained the sound of our occasionally crying baby... The rooms are very spacious and we'll appointed. The bathrooms in the club level had a ingenious design for the placement of the shower and bath tub... no standing in the bath tub for a shower... yes small things I know but they matter over a long time.

We used the room service menu a few times in our stay. Fast and efficient. And it came with a few extra touches such as a amuse bouche and small dessert bite that were complementary. Not something we were expecting.

The location of Traders too cannot be beaten. A short 5 minute stroll or 2 minute buggy ride to KLCC or a 30 second walk to the convention centre next door. Bukit Bintang and the other shopping centres are a 15 minute walk via the sky walk through the convention centre. Overall a very we'll connected location.

Recreationally, there is a good running track outside that is 1.4 km per loop, and a large children's playground and swimming area in the park directly outside the hotel. The gym is very we'll equipped and comes with a trainer.

Overall, Traders ticks all the big ticket boxes, location and facilities etc. What sets it in front for us was the staff and service. Being a regular business traveller throughout Australia/NZ, the service standards are without comparison and Traders KL could teach a thing or two to other of so called 5 Star properties that are in Aust/NZ....

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank METAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Carlos D, General Manager at Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear METAR

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.

It is in the hotel's DNA to treat each and every guest as we would our own family, which you experienced having them go out of their way just to make your stay hassle-free. Being a business-oriented hotel, we understand that comfort is of utmost important and as mentioned by you, it is the small things that matter. Glad to know that you had a great time with us.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards

Juan Carlos Diago
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We stayed three nights at the Traders, on the way back from our honeymoon in Borneo to London. We wanted a nice stop over with a bit of luxury. The hotel staff were super attentive all the time and very helpful. The hotel has a modern feel to it and the rooms are lovely and comfortable. We had a slate of little cakes waiting for us when we got to our room and a note from the staff, wishing us all the luck with our marriage!

The Sky Bar is uber cool - a pool by day time, this glass space turns in a funky bar at night with the best views of the towers that you can get. We also upgraded when we checked in - we paid about £30 per day for us both, which covered breakfast (usually costs about £10 on its own), afternoon tea from 2-4pm (sandwiches, scones & drinks) and then cocktail hour from 5-7pm (free flowing beer, wine, cocktails and a hot buffet with fruits, cheeses etc). We found we didn't need to look else where for food and had a scream!

The Traders lounge sits on level 32 so you can munch away with the best view in KL again. We also ate out one evening at the Steak House on level 6 and had a totally different but equally wonderful experience with lashings of red wine and steak.

The area that that the hotel was in is beautiful - the park is a lovely place to relax and the fountains in front of the towers have a light show most nights.

Wonderful stay. Sad to leave.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Challenger85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Carlos D, General Manager at Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear Challenger85

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.

Firstly, a heartiest congratulations on your marriage. So happy to hear that we made your stay most memorable in Kuala Lumpur. Pleased to know that you took advantage of the upgrade benefits at the Traders Club Lounge. The snacks we provide are rather substantial and it is understandable why one would not need to even think about dinner after visiting the Traders Club Lounge. I will be sure to send your compliments to the team at Gobo Upstairs & Lounge as well.

Once again, thank you for your compliment.

Kind Regards

Juan Carlos Diago
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Good points - Great friendly welcoming staff - nice swimming pool on the 35th floor for doing laps - clean and quiet at 6am - pleasant quiet rooms with proper sound proofing - very convenient to the centre of town with a nice park alongside for walking/running - prices pretty reasonable considering all the hotels benefits - very good internet connection included in price - a mighty breakfast service that must be the best I have ever seen.
Not so good points - design and layout is 'odd' with insufficient space for foyer and reception areas - unexplained different coloured lights to indicate whether an elevator is going up or down - fluorescent lighting in the rooms that have a strong humming noise, and bed lights that glare in the eyes if trying to read in bed - odd room lighting controls - huge clatter at peak periods in breakfast room ( I am convinced that asian peoples do not 'hear' noise because they are so busy making it) - the swimming pool also doubles as the SMOKERS haven and also closes inexplicably at 7pm when it turns into a boozy loud night club, though what the clubbers are going to do with a pool is hard to say - and my biggest gripe is that while we checked in for almost a three week stay, bringing with us plenty of potential future business, the hotel management would not upgrade us to the Club rooms. This seems a bit mean spirited as the cost of upgrade was only US$30 a night more than the approx US$300 a night we were charged per room night.
But all round a nice, new, comfortable hotel, even though I will be looking and comparing for future trips with other fine hotels in the area.

Room Tip: no need to pay a premium to look at the twin rocket ships - the other side is just as good although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrogueChute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Carlos D, General Manager at Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear DrogueChute

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.

I am glad to know that overall you had a comfortable stay with us. The hotel is designed in a contemporary manner which as mentioned by you is odd. The reception can be found on Level 5 instead as we wanted to declutter the Ground Floor. As for the lifts, the colours are very symbolic to earth and what it represents. Green is for grass therefore going down, while blue is for the sky therefore going up. I hope that explains it.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards

Juan Carlos Diago
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Just Spent 3N in Traders. The arrival was smooth - Front Desk Staff showed the room I booked originally and the upgraded corner room with the access to the Club floor (4RM160++). The club floor covers breakfast/ afternoon tea/ 2-hr cocktails - good value! Variety is good but not great. The club floor staff are very friendly but some are less experienced. Room is great, quiet >>> good sleep for all 3 nights. The view of TT is big plus. The distance to KLCC Suri Mall is good esp with golf car. The Sky bar + indoor pool is disappointing as they are too packed esp, the pool is very small. Rooftop pool is good idea but just tooo small (they should see the rooftop pool in Teipei Far Eastern - the best). The check out was great - tips: the RM130 blue taxi to the airport is too high vs the pre-ordered RM70 Airport Limo.

Room Tip: Rm 2532 or the other corner room with access to the 32/f club floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BC2012Trv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We've just returned from an two night stopover in Kuala Lumpur after a return trip to Australia via the UK after a long term work assignment. This hotel is the best hotel we have stayed in to date with service akin to that we experienced at Oberoi group hotels during our honeymoon a few years ago. Every staff member we encountered provided excellent service, from friendly, attentive and proactive staff. We paid a little extra for a suite which was spacious, clean and extremely well stocked fro business and leisure traveller a like. A cot for our infant son was waiting for us as requested and our bed was extremely comfortable. Breakfast at the traders lounge, and afternoon tea were excellent particularly during our jetlag recovery day when we didn't feel like going out on the town right away. The location can't be beat with excellent views of the KL skyline and the PETRONAS towers. An awesome city park at the hotel door and a free shuttle to the mall at the base of the PETRONAS towers where there are excellent food and shopping options. We also got the blue "eksekutif" taxi booked through the hotel to get to the airport and the concierge also helped us out with city tours. My wife also highly rates the Nasi Goreng she ordered from room service at two am when dealing with a non-sleeping jetlagged infant. We would highly recommend this hotel and hope to return to KL and this hotel.

Room Tip: A splurge for a suite at this hotel is excellent value and provides a few perks such as breakfast, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rmjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Carlos D, General Manager at Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear Rmjs

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.

I hope you're settling well back in Australia. I am glad to know that your stay with us was most comfortable and it is overwhelmingly pleasing to have you rate us as good as Oberoi Hotels and Resorts, which is certainly on a class of its own. I have shared your compliments with the team and high fives have been exchanged for everyone's hard work.

Thank you once again for the fantastic compliments. Truly a pleasure to have served you.

Kind Regards

Juan Carlos Diago
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2013

So glad I took my fellow TA feedback and booked this place. It was in an ideal location and the service was flawless. Their breakfast buffet includes an amazing variety which satisfied all taste buds. The rooms were spacious and clean. The housekeeping was done everyday and was done early so you always came back to a clean room. Location was a complimentary buggy ride from the Suria shopping centre- twin towers. A 5 min bride walk to the pavilion- the heart of KL shopping! Which was surrounded by strips of restaurants.

I found my bed slightly uncomfortable although HUGE but I easily forgot about that when their service was outstanding!

To add- we checked out at 2 - 2 hours extended and were still given access to the business centre for some Internet access and later on we were given access to the arrival lounge which had Internet and TV!!

For families- very nice shallow pool beside a large park area. The added complimentary buggy also helps when Ur tired from all the shopping. Ideal for families

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExcitedTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Carlos D, General Manager at Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear ExcitedTravel

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.

It is the location, view and services that makes this hotel very special. I am very glad to know that we did not disappoint you in any way. In fact, we exceeded all your expectations even more. We strive to be as flexible as possible whenever we can. Happy to know that a lounge was available for you on your day of check-out.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards

Juan Carlos Diago
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
6,929 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
2,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
#11 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
2,520 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#12 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
3,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur

Property: Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Address: Kuala Lumpur City Centre, Kuala Lumpur 50088, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#5 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#5 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 571
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur is a contemporary city centre hotel that caters to smart business and leisure travellers. This hotel in Kuala Lumpur offers 571 stylishly appointed rooms and suites in the heart of the city, just opposite the Petronas Twin Towers. Guest Rooms: Traders Hotel Kuala Lumpur offers value accommodation with a range of amenities and facilities combined with an exceptional level of service that is distinct from other KL hotels. Traders Club: Traders Club rooms offer an enhanced level of service, comfort, and convenience for busy travellers, including a personal concierge. All rooms on the Traders Club floors are non-smoking and have exclusive access to the Traders Club Lounge on level 32. Suites: Suites at Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur offer spacious and luxurious accommodations. All suites offer a separate sitting area that is perfect for relaxed business meetings, and a choice of dramatic park or city views. All our guests enjoy complimentary WiFi broadband access throughout the hotel premises and in the hotel limousine during airport transfers. It's the freedom smart Travellers know at Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur. Restaurants: Traders Hotel Kuala Lumpur provides a fine selection of restaurants in Kuala Lumpur to satisfy your culinary requirements. Enjoy some of the city’s best steaks in intimate elegance at Gobo Upstairs Lounge & Grill on level 6. For more casual dining and popular entertainment, sample Western and Asian fare under an animated light show at the Gobo Chit Chat on level 5. Lounges & Bars: Enjoy the creative cocktail list at the Gobo Upstairs Lounge. A tourist attraction in its own right the famous SkyBar is a cosmopolitan open-air rooftop cocktail bar and a must for any visit to KL. Happy hour runs from 11am - 9pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TravelUp, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Traders Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel Kl
Traders Kl

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing