We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location Heart of KL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Novotel Kuala Lumpur City Centre
Ranked #73 of 345 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Write a Review

3,682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    672
    1,596
    928
    329
    157
See reviews for
1,031
1,122
406
653
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

What a disappointment!

We stayed at the Novotel in KL in April for 3 nights. At the time we went to book it we had actually been planning to book it for 4 nights, however our first night was not available and we stayed at Trader’s instead for one night. I only wish that the Novotel had not been available any of the nights so we didn’t stay there at all!

The Novotel is in a fantastic location, opposite the Pavillion shopping and dining area; however I’m afraid that’s where the positives end.

The hotel itself is in desperate need of an upgrade. The rooms are dated, the gym had all old equipment and the lifts were the slowest lifts I’ve ever encountered.

On our second night there a new noise started, getting louder and louder so that by 3am in the morning it was virtually impossible to sleep. The noise as it turned out, was the pipes and from what we could gather from maintenance staff, were a regular “feature”.

The staff did eventually agree to move us to a new room the following day, after a couple of unsuccessful attempts to fix the noise, however to be moved required a lot of effort from our end (they would have just left us there otherwise) and a lost night’s sleep. I should also add that the “Premier” room that we were moved to was about as rubbish as the original one we had been placed in. So the moral there is do not pay up for a “Premier” suite if you do go against my advice and decide to stay there.

The biggest disappointment was the staff. They were unhelpful, unfriendly and had attitude problems. When we arrived at the hotel there was no one to help us with our bags; we’re quite capable, but this is a service that all hotels offer. Next when we were checking in, only one of the FOUR people behind the desk were actually helping customers. The other three eventually went out the back to leave one person to handle a long line of checking in and checking out, customers. That first impression continued throughout our stay.

Breakfast was below average and featured the same unfriendly and unhelpful staff located elsewhere in the hotel.

It’s not an expensive hotel- I think we paid around $130-$140 (AUD) per night, and I wasn’t expecting 5 star accommodation by any means. We were looking for a basic hotel, with a good location, helpful staff and somewhere to get a good night’s sleep.

However this hotel is less than basic, it needs all new staff and major renovations. Go against my advice at your peril.

http://sweetenough.net/travel/malaysia-part-two-kuala-lumpur/

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelKLCC, General Manager at Hotel Novotel Kuala Lumpur City Centre, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Lauren O,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Very good hotel with very good location. Clean rooms, very good food. We went there for our honeymoon for 4 days. We really enjoyed our stay there as the hotel is located in the center of the city or actually downtown. Malls are very near with a wide variety of shops and restaurants. Also near petronas towers if u like walking. I certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Azza M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelKLCC, General Manager at Hotel Novotel Kuala Lumpur City Centre, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Azza M,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempen, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Novotel Kuala Lumpur - stay May 14-16. 2014

Wanting to have a short view around in Kuala Lumpur, the Novotel was a choice because of the central location and it was one of my chains with status.

The Location is really nice, if you want to visit the KLCC and/or Petronas Towers.
You can talk the covered walkway and to KLCC it like 6 Minutes, to Petronas visitor center 15 Minutes (if you are a at least average walker and don't go for shopping in between).

The Hotel is regular Novotel Standard I would say.
Everything was working properly, all clean, amenities in Novotel Standard - all nice
Staff was friendly and helpfull.

Remember it,s a center of town hotel, so e.g. at the open swimming pool it can be noisy.


2 downsides:
having A-Club Gold, I would have expected upgrade to executive room/floor
You can't open the windows and the room smell a little , obviously based on high humidity

Pooltowels and Barservice seem to be only on request.
The needed renovation mentioned in some comments - I would rate nice to have, but not critical.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelKLCC, General Manager at Hotel Novotel Kuala Lumpur City Centre, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Ralf H,
Greetings from Novotel KL City Centre and thank you so much for your positive review! We read with joy and satisfaction that your feedback was great in terms of our staff, brand standard and location which is a plus! We are sorry that you were not offered an upgrade, it could very well be due to the hotel's high occupancy rate at that point of time. We acknowledge your point on the smell of the room, something we are working on in addition to changing new pillows, mattresses, shower heads, & soundproofing. The windows are never allowed to be opened due to the high priority of safety and security of our guests.
We hope to welcome you back to Novotel KL on your next trip to wonderful Malaysia!
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gouda, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Clean rooms, good breakfast and excellent location.
Close to the major shopping malls and public transport.
If you are from the city, would you like to be able to take a shower. Unfortunately the rooms cleaned until late in the afternoon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cora S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelKLCC, General Manager at Hotel Novotel Kuala Lumpur City Centre, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear 777Merel,
Greetings from Novotel KL City Centre and thank you so much for your positive review! My Team and I are very happy to hear that your stay with us was pleasant and the breakfast was good. It is unfortunate that you had to wait for some time while your room was being cleaned and prepared, thus causing some delay during check-in. I have alerted the Housekeeping Manager on this who will ensure higher level of efficiency is maintained. We hope this inconvenience will not hinder your future visit to Novotel KL, nonetheless we thank you for your continuous support!
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Pullman Kuala Lumpur City Centre Hotel And Residences
0.2 mi away
Impiana KLCC Hotel
Impiana KLCC Hotel
#39 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
2,998 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kuala Lumpur City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ascott Kuala Lumpur
Ascott Kuala Lumpur
#13 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
1,038 reviews
0.6 mi away
Concorde Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Concorde Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#44 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
1,995 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#23 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Novotel Kuala Lumpur City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Novotel Kuala Lumpur City Centre

Property: Hotel Novotel Kuala Lumpur City Centre
Address: 2 Jalan Kia Peng, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#57 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Novotel Kuala Lumpur City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Kuala Lumpur City Centre is a 4 star hotel in the centre of Kuala Lumpur. Ideal for a business trip or holiday, the hotel is strategically located within walking distance of the KL Convention Centre and major shopping malls. With 295 rooms, an executive floor and conference facilities, this is the perfect place to stay. Drinks are served until late in our bar, while our two restaurants offer a tempting range of cuisines. The hotel also boasts a fitness centre, spa and outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, ACCOR, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Novotel Kuala Lumpur City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Kuala Lumpur
Accor Kuala Lumpur
Novotel Hydro Majestic Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Novotel
Novotel Kl

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing