We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms are more 2* than 4*”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Novotel Kuala Lumpur City Centre
Ranked #73 of 345 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Rooms are more 2* than 4*”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The location is very good. The pool area is pleasant. But the rooms are so ugly, with mismatching and bulky furniture, dark browns everywhere, hideous bulk-buy cheap, tatty 'art' mounted on the walls badly and a seriously antique bathroom suite with urine-coloured tiles (shower pressure great, though). Aside the pool, I cannot comprehend why this hotel has 4 stars. Service is also sporadic (but we found that this was the case almost everywhere in KL). Queues to reception are long, breakfast drinks orders take aeons and even the lifts seem to have a crazy logic of their own. We stayed in a non-smoking room but the whole corridor stank of stale smoke, seeping into the ugly carpets. I have stayed in other Novotels, and they are far superior to this one.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, then it's probably a good idea to pay for the premium rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelKLCC, General Manager at Hotel Novotel Kuala Lumpur City Centre, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Tom L L,
Thank you for sharing your honest feedback with us. We apologize that your stay was not up to your expectations and you found other Novotels fared better. Your concerns on our room interior are well noted, among the other upgrades which we are implementing are new pillows, mattresses, shower heads, sound proofing and improved WiFi connections. Please accept our apologies for the slow lifts and service at the Square restaurant, our breakfast hour is our busiest especially during high occupancy. We are currently filling up vacancies for wait staff in the Food & Beverage departments which we hope will meet your expectations on your next visit.
Thank you and best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    672
    1,596
    928
    329
    157
See reviews for
1,031
1,122
406
653
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sarawak, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Since the reviews here were not all that great, my girlfriend and I stayed only one night for our annual shopping trip just to try out the hotel. We should have stayed longer!

We felt welcomed the moment we step out from our taxi. Everyone greeted us; from the bellboy who helped us with our bags to the receptionist named Suzana who automatically waved us to the counter upon seeing us in the queue . Since we arrived way before check in time at roughly around 9:30am, we were offered a welcome drink while we waited for our rooms to be readied. The ambiance of the hotel gives out a very relaxed feel.

Room is a bit dated but clean and still acceptable. However, you cannot fault its location! Basically, it is next to Pavilion. You can also get to KLCC through the shaded skywalk.

I will be back!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Girlie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelKLCC, General Manager at Hotel Novotel Kuala Lumpur City Centre, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Girlie13,
thank you so much for your excellent review during your recent stay with us! I have shared your perfect score with all the Head of Departments in our daily meeting and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

I would not disagree that the hotel has a good location and has decent rooms and facilities for a 4-star hotel (read my previous reviews on this hotel). What made this stay frustrating was the service or I should say lack of service of several staff.
1. As a regular guest, check-in still took about 15-20 minutes though no one else was in the queue. The lady who checked us in was friendly though.
2. I could not access wi-fi in my room and despite many phone calls, the problem could not be rectified.
3. The duty manager promised to drop by my room to assist with the wi-fi problem but he did not turn up.
4. My friends were trapped outside their room due to a faulty keycard. They had to get another keycard from the reception though the housekeeper promised to get someone to assist.
5. Zahari, who was at the gym and pool, was not the most friendly and approachable staff around throughout the 4 days we used the gym.
6. I did not receive any priority or privileges as a Le Club Accor silver card holder.
It's also interesting to note the number of unhappy guests the reception staff and manager has to handle daily. I really pity them. The hotel management might want to look into their staff training and SOPs. I hope the situation will improve when I return in a few months' time.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndySee79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelKLCC, General Manager at Hotel Novotel Kuala Lumpur City Centre, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear AndySee79,
thank you for sharing your review with us every now and then, it is important that our service offered is consistent. We are sorry to hear the concerns you have raised regarding service in the hotel particularly the gym attendant and duty manager. The Front Office and Housekeeping Manager will ensure that proper training and motivation are provided so that such disappointment can be avoided.
Staff attitude is crucial in making a guest feel welcomed and we at Novotel KL truly value this.
We look forward to seeing you again in the coming months.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

for all the people who moan about the Novotel...hello, it's not a Sofitel, or a Crown Plaza. As a 4 star hotel it is great.

The location could not be faulted. Brilliant, right next to Pavillion and the skywalk to Petronus Towers. Rooms fine, the bed comfortable, soundproof, good amenities in the bathroom
I stay on the club floor which is very little extra and the breakfast, and evening drinks and finger food is well worth it. The staff are friendly and the price is good.

What more do you want?

Room Tip: High club floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donalddaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelKLCC, General Manager at Hotel Novotel Kuala Lumpur City Centre, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear donalddaniels,
Thank you very much for your stay and taking time to review Novotel in KL city. We were thrilled reading your review and kind words about our team and how we were able to add some special touches to your stay.

Once again, thank you for your visit and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Novotel KL!
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The hotel rooms are OK, not really great. Service is OK too. But the location of the hotel is what you will really appreciate. It is close to everything, I mean walking distance to shopping malls, food, Petronas Towers and train stations. There's nothing you can really ask for :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zhei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelKLCC, General Manager at Hotel Novotel Kuala Lumpur City Centre, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Zhei,
We enjoyed learning about your wonderful experience during your stay at Novotel KL. We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed our location. Look forward to serving you again.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Pullman Kuala Lumpur City Centre Hotel And Residences
0.2 mi away
Impiana KLCC Hotel
Impiana KLCC Hotel
#39 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
3,003 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kuala Lumpur City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ascott Kuala Lumpur
Ascott Kuala Lumpur
#13 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
1,038 reviews
0.6 mi away
Concorde Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Concorde Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#44 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
1,995 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#23 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Novotel Kuala Lumpur City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Novotel Kuala Lumpur City Centre

Property: Hotel Novotel Kuala Lumpur City Centre
Address: 2 Jalan Kia Peng, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#57 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Novotel Kuala Lumpur City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Kuala Lumpur City Centre is a 4 star hotel in the centre of Kuala Lumpur. Ideal for a business trip or holiday, the hotel is strategically located within walking distance of the KL Convention Centre and major shopping malls. With 295 rooms, an executive floor and conference facilities, this is the perfect place to stay. Drinks are served until late in our bar, while our two restaurants offer a tempting range of cuisines. The hotel also boasts a fitness centre, spa and outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Novotel Kuala Lumpur City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Kuala Lumpur
Accor Kuala Lumpur
Novotel Hydro Majestic Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Novotel
Novotel Kl

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing