We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will surely be back in Somerset!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Seri Bukit Ceylon Residences
Ranked #143 of 342 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“We will surely be back in Somerset!”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

My family stayed there for a couple of days. They have spacious rooms and well provided kitchen wares and utensils. The staff are friendly and courteous. Very clean and we will surely be back in Somerset whenever we are in Malaysia again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tina0127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    134
    59
    29
    31
See reviews for
161
55
21
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We had a high expectation after reading rave reviews here but when we had entered our room at 2 am we were stunned. It can't be better (and that too when we had booked the smallest room)!
Huge room, sitting area and kithenette. Very clean and hygenic. Every possible utensils and a well made bathroom sums up everything.
My toddler son liked the room so much (flat screen tv and the dvd player specially) that it was quite difficult to take him out.
Security was very strong with Only Card Key acces at every stage starting from the main door in the lobby.
Very helpful and smiling staff. Breakfast area was small and not a huge spread but it was as expected for us after reading reviewes here.
Location was also awesome..in a quiet area but easily accessible to all happening places including KL tower and Bukit Bintang
Overall it was one of the best stay experience for us!
Thanks Somerset seri Bukit Ceylon! We will surely be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mnk73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Stayed here for one night and found it to be a great location. Everything is in walking distance even if the weather is hot and humid. You have to walk literally a minute before you hit all the trendy bars and restaurants along Changkat Bukit Bintang. A few more minutes and you arrive at the food stalls of Jalan Alor and a few more minutes before you reach the shopping malls and other restaurants. We had an amazing view of KL tower which we were not expecting.

Breakfast was basic but good. When we booked it was stated as being continental however there was a chef making eggs to order. Breakfast is on the fourth floor which is also where the swimming pool and jacuzzi was located. I never used these facilities however the pool was of a good size although shaded.

The room was very spacious with a separate bedroom, some may find the bed too hard but I had no problems sleeping. The lounge had a comfortable sofa dvd and flat screen tv. There is a well equipped and modern kitchenette and dining area. There is broadband connection in the room and free wi-fi can be found in reception and on the fourth floor. We also received a complimentary English paper in the morning.

Overall the location is amazing. The apartment itself was clean, modern and spacious. The breakfast is good to get you started in the day.

Room Tip: Room 1012 has a great view of KL Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
114 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for 3 nights in early August.

Accommodation - spacious and tidy. Sight of the Petronas Twin Towers outside the living room balcony. The kitchen was well-equipped with kettle, microwave oven, big-size fridge and utensils. Bathrooms clean and tidy. The range of TV channels good for family members at all ages. To enhance security, we were required to use the roomkey to operate the elevator.

Facilities - a small playground for kids, a gym and a swimming pool. Good enough after an exhaustive day under the sun.

Service - 100% excellent. Laptop in the lobby for guests. Responsive and self-motivated staff. Examples: When we first stepped inside the apartment there was smell of floor cleanser/gloss. The bellboy immediately sought our agreement to use freshner to get rid of the odour. When we mentioned to the receptionist how we were ripped off by taxi drivers they immediately called a METERED taxi for us (and once and again remind the driver to charge us according to the meter). We've been to a few Somerset properties in the past few years and this property is the best in terms of service.

Location - in Bukit Bintang but away from the crowd. 8-10 minutes to BB Plaza and the Monorail, quite convenient to family with children. 5 minutes to Jalan Alor and a wide selection of eateries and bars.

Breakfast - I must say basic but good enough. There was an egg station where you could order your favourite style of egg. 2 kinds of juice each day. You could also find toasts/pastries/salad/pasta/fresh fruits/cereal etc.

If we visit KL again, we will definitely stay here.

Room Tip: early booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunnysnaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

I have stayed here quite a bit over the past few years - typically when I am staying for a week or with my family. The location is quite good - close to the city centre (walking distance to most city meetings / attractions - as long as you can handle the heat and humidity) - and quite quiet - despite a key restaurant and nightclub district being only a couple of hundred metres away. The apartment hotel is getting a little tired by KL standards, although the rooms are still quite well maintained. Rooms overall are quite large, with tile floors and kitchenettes - although the bed is quite hard. Air conditioning has always worked well, and all apartments seem to have balconies. are good but basic (remember to turn on the hot water) and toiletries are fine. The washing machine works well, but the dryer can be a bit dodgy - there are also coin laundries available in-house. Cable internet is free and quite fast. The breakfast is basic but nice - overlooking a good pool. The gym is good and usually not crowded - I probably use this gym more than any other. Most of the staff are excellent, but some fairly average. I do feel quite at home here - sort of miss the place when I stay somewhere else in KL I have to admit. Also, the Italian restaurant downstairs is excellent - and they will do a great 'take-away' price if you want to take a bottle of wine to your room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor with a view of the twin towers - it is spectacular at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 20clicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wangaratta, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We stayed in KL for 5 nights, as a stopover on our way from the Australia to the UK and it was the perfect place to break up a long-haul flight.

The location was very central with only a short 5 min walk to Jalan Bukit Bintang and some wonderful places to eat. Can highly recommend any of the street restaurants down Jalan Alor (you will walk passed on your way to Jalan Bukit Bintang).

We had a 2 bedroom apartment which was just fantastic and extremely spacious and clean with all the facilities you could want. Perfect if you are travelling as a family and far cheaper then booking multiple hotel rooms.

All the staff were just lovely. I celebrated my birthday there and some of the staff members came up to our apartment all dressed in party hats and holding a birthday banner. They sang happy birthday and presented me with a beautiful chocolate cake. What a wonderful surprise!

The Hotel itself was very clean and well maintained, the pool was fairly small and the water is pretty cold but more than adequate. The restaurant area is also located by the pool and although the breakfast buffet is fairly simple there is still plenty to choose from.

Just one small tip: The only thing to watch out for is the lift, as it tends to shut pretty quickly and without warning. We got caught out several times... So keep your figure on the 'keep door open' <|> button until all safely inside.

I big thank you to all the staff for making our stay at your hotel so wonderful. You made my birthday...

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kazv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Overall
- Loved the spaciousness of the apartment and convenience to eating and shopping places
- Disliked the loud noise from nearby nightspots over the weekend. We stayed here before when the hotel first opened. Back then there wasn't an issue with noise, partly because there weren't so many nightspots.

Rooms
- Our 2 bedroom apartment was very spacious, with a fully equipped kitchen.
- Good beds and pillows
- Air con slightly noisy but very cold
- No form of soundproofing at all, cos the street noise sounded like it was in the bedroom

Bathrooms
- Very clean and spacious
- LOVED the shower in the common bathroom (I didn't try the master shower). Very good water pressure and powerful shower head. Much better than many 5 star hotels. We often stay at Marriotts because my husband is Platinum, but this beats any Marriott shower I've had.

Service
- Typical Malaysian - friendly but slow and uncoordinated
- Adding my friend's name to the booking was a nightmare. She was going to arrive before us so I called the hotel to let her check in first. I was transferred many times and no one could help me. Several staff who answered the phone couldn't manage simple English. I finally had to call Somerset in Singapore (!!). They apologized profusely and provided the required assistance within a couple of minutes.
- The day before check out I booked a cab to get to the airport. I told the hotel we needed a large one to fit 5 people and 4 big bags. The cab which came was too small. After much discussion, phone calls to the cab company etc, the hotel found out that the original cab driver had passed the booking to his friend because he was busy. By the time a new cab came, we were really late and had to run to catch our plane. Not really a fault of the hotel, but this sort of thing is typical in Malaysia.

Location
- Not exactly on the main Bukit Bintang stretch, but convenient enough.
- Very close to the nightlife and Jalan Alor food street. The last time we stayed at this hotel, the included breakfast was awful, so this time, we didn't bother. Just across the street there are 2 stalls selling local Indian food for breakfast and lunch. The roti canai is excellent.

Room Tip: I'm not sure if there is a quieter side to the hotel, but if noise is an issue, you might want t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beach-chicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.0 mi away
Invito Hotel Suites
Invito Hotel Suites
#24 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
0.1 mi away
Metro 360 Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Metro 360 Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#28 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Signature Hotel & Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
The Signature Hotel & Serviced S...
#116 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Oasia Suites Kuala Lumpur by Far East Hospitality
0.0 mi away
The Mesui Hotel
The Mesui Hotel
#100 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Times Service Suites
Times Service Suites
#172 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seri Bukit Ceylon Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seri Bukit Ceylon Residences

Property: Seri Bukit Ceylon Residences
Address: No 8 Lorong Ceylon | off Jalan Raja Chulan, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia (Formerly Somerset Seri Bukit Ceylon)
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#68 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Seri Bukit Ceylon Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Kuala Lumpur's Golden Triangle, the prime business district, Somerset Seri Bukit Ceylon defines city living at its best. Shopping, entertainment and great eateries ranging from restaurants to local street fare and cafes are right at your doorstep. State-of-art facilities help you carry out business with ease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seri Bukit Ceylon Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Seri Bukit Ceylon Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing