We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Number Eight Guesthouse
Ranked #170 of 328 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing stay”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

I am not sure where the previous posts complaining stayed, but I am pretty confident that it was not at Number 8. The management is new, a very concientious and polite man. The place has been recently renovated, the large airy room my partner and I stayed in was freshly decorated, new mattresses, with mattress covers on. There's good wifi connection, a nice outside space, sofas and wide screen TV in the reception area. The staff are lovely, and even shared their cakes with us. It has a really nice feel to the place, friendly, relaxed, and pretty homely. I wouldn't hestitate to recommend someone to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gnikydnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    34
    40
    28
    43
See reviews for
10
70
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lahti, Finland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We had made reservations trough their website as we arrived late after traveling 12 hours from Sumatra. Upon our arrival we discovered that our reservation hadn't been registered and naively trusting our guidebook, that said good things about this place (in our defense we were just exhausted), we paid for a room for 3 nights. The unfriendly and spaced out guy at the reception took advantage of our exhaustion and pulled and old-fashioned by drooping one of the bills we gave him on the floor and than saying that we needed to give him more money, for the money I just counted wasn't enough. I didn't notice the missing money until we got in the room wich was filthy: used condoms under the bed, dirty sheets, the works. When I noticed the missing money and the state of the room I went downstairs and, obviously, a scene ensued. Eventually we decided to leave and got all our money back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RuusaTuomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Mentakab, Pahang, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Staffs are friendly. Rooms under renovation so dun expect too much. The whole guesthouse was only with 1 toilet that day,

The main problem is the beg bugs! My whole body is with swollen red spots and they are darn itchy,,,

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jwho28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Only 1 shower room in whole guest house.
Despite of that, 4 of us also bited by bed bugs!! whole body feel itchy and red spots on body!!
NO NEXT TIME!!!

Room Tip: noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank khoo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

The hostel is really nice, the location is great, in Bukit Bintang, just 2 blocks form there you have lots of good bars, restaurants, good nightlife.. and also 5 blocks from there you have the monorail that will take you everywhere. The staff is nice, one guy knew a lot of the city, another lady almost didn't know almost how to speak in english. They are refurbishing everything, so when they finish it will look much better. The price also is really good including breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

This is my second time to stay at Number Eight and if I can afford it in the future it will not be the last time. My first visit was in January 2011 when we occupied 3 rooms and this time I stayed for 3 nights in February with 6 students. We occupied 4 rooms which were all clean and comfortable. I had checked the trip advisor before I made the booking and noticed the poor ratings Number Eight had received recently. It surprised me since I had really liked the place last year and I decided to give it a try anyway. It was a very good decision. There were no bedbugs and the rooms were clean. The walls could do with a new coat of paint but then rates might have to be increased. The towels and linen were fresh – with a small tear here and a light permanent stain there – but according to me that does not reduce the cleanliness. The staff was very helpful and friendly as it had been on my previous visit. I can highly recommend Number Eight to anyone who enjoys a comfortable place which is affordable in a very convenient location.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ester G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Its was a wonderful place to stay in Kuala lumpur with a friendly staff's ( Lois)
Me and my Girlfriend had a good sleep in a good room good price and nice simple breakfast with fruits Definitely we will come back to this place every time we come to Malaysia.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.0 mi away
Dorms KL
Dorms KL
#8 of 252 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aura Hotel
Aura Hotel
#141 of 328 in Kuala Lumpur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.2 mi away
60@Changkat Hotel
60@Changkat Hotel
#143 of 328 in Kuala Lumpur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Paloma Inn
Hotel Paloma Inn
#5 of 328 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Day Cocoon Hotel
#133 of 328 in Kuala Lumpur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.1 mi away
Don's Den Hotel
Don's Den Hotel
#111 of 252 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Eight Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Eight Guesthouse

Property: Number Eight Guesthouse
Address: 8-10 Tingkat Tong Shin, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 328 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Number Eight Guesthouse 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Number Eight Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number Eight Guesthouse Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Number 8 Guesthouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing