We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chose this guesthouse for our buddy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Number Eight Guesthouse
Ranked #172 of 345 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We live in KL and when we have guests we try to find accommodations close to our condo. We live in the Golden Triangle. I viewed a half dozen small guesthouses and chose #8 based on cleanliness , location, and price. The room we chose 813 is a double with in suite bath and toilet, it has two windows. The location is great two blocks from Jalan Changkat and Jalan Alor
Both streets know for their outdoor dinning and nightlife. The room was about $40 USD per night.

Room Tip: 813 is a good value, east facing second floor, two windows, in suite bath and toilet.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
There are newer reviews for Number Eight Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 34 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2013

I've stayed in loads of places on Tengkat Tong Shin and there are some real gems. Number 8 Guesthouse is *almost* one of them. It verges on boutique but doesn't quite have the quality, friendliness or style to be put in that bracket. That said, it's great value for money, especially if you don't mind sharing a bathroom. Tengkat Tong Shin (the road Number 8 is on) is an up and coming traveller area with more and more backpackers visiting each time I stay there. It's really close to some great restaurants both cheap and expensive, and the famous Bukit Bintang (shopping area) and is well placed to walk down to Chinatown if you fancy that too.

You won't be disappointed with a stay at number 8 - just don't expect a boutique hotel. Expect a nice standard of guesthouse with slightly bored staff.

Room Tip: Some don't have windows. Waking up in the dark is REALLY hard.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natkinson7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Prior to visiting KL I had been in South East Asia to Singapore, Hong Kong, Tokyo and a few other Japanese cities. In KL I was looking for basic, convenient, not too expensive accommodation for a few days. Currently (January 2013) even with a relatively weak pound sterling I found KL to be a cheap place to visit. If you eat at one of the thousands of street restaurants (see photos) and travel by the extensive public transport one can get by on (not exactly) 10 dollars a day.

I chose Number Eight guesthouse because of the reviews on Trip Advisor.

I sent and received several emails to the guest house and in the end found it easiest to speak by phone directly to the staff.

Number Eight is in the Bukit Bintang area of Kuala Lumpur, which is easy to get to by monorail (once one has got from KL Sentral to KL Sentral monorail - see my KL review for info on current situation - Jan 2013 - which is being improved).

The Bukit Bintang area has many, many hotels and back-packer hostels and I think one could just turn up and find a place without booking - but I'm never brave enough to do that - I have to book weeks in advance to feel comfortable.

The receptiopn staff at Number Eight are welcoming. The place is a "hostel" but the age profle when I was there was definitely 30s and upward. It wasn't a party house when I was there. The courtyard double room I chose, for RM120, is basic. The room has a double bed with adjoining shower-room / toilet / wet room. The decor is "sparse". There was paper hanging from the ceiling, probably due to an an earlier water leak. The electrical wiring is stuck to the walls in plastic conduit, which is safe enough as a method but there are exposed power wires near the shower head (see photos) - which is alarming. I will send photos to Number Eight but don't expect anything to be done. The "window" of the room is a complete "patio" window which is great for letting in light but the lock is more of a "latch" which is no form of security. However, as the room is at the back of the building a thief would need to get through security to get the the room. I carried my valuables with me all day, which on a belt may have been no more secure! I didn't experience bed bugs as others have reported and I couldn't get access to the room until it had been cleaned - which I see as a good thing ! Check out is 12pm (noon) which is generous. Air conditioning in the room is effective but noisy. On the first night with the noise from air conditioning units from other rooms in the courtyard I had to sleep with my noise cancelling headphones ! I got used to the sound on the second night.

Breakfast consists of hard boiled eggs, bananas, white toast, strange tasting margerine, tea bags. If you want something more appealing, substantial and varied I strongly recommend Daily Kopitiam in the Pavilion shopping mall, about 10 minutes walk from Tengkat Tong Shing, the only reason to enter a shopping mall in my opinion. There are hundreds of very clean coffee shops around. You can get MacDonalds if you must. You can buy curried fish at 7am from a street seller for RM5 if you fancy that.

Now, all the above may be standard for most of South East Asia. I did have a good time in KL. The staff I met at Number Eight were nice, the cost wasn't exhorbitant for a westerner (me). A guest house is a good place to meet other and swap experiences and information. But for the cost I think one could do better in Bukit Bintang. Hopefully I'm realistic and I didnt expect the Radisson for RM120 per night. I looked in Green Hut, RAE and Alpha Genesis, all on Tengkat Tong Shing and I think for the same price the rooms are of a better standard than Number Eight.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms have "patio doors" which are entirely glazed and no real security except f...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CliveRobertLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed over Christmas and stayed in a private double which was very clean and nice. Lovely common area and the workers are very accommodating It's also the perfect location for the bars and clubs ! No complaints !

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merpcicles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Number Eight hotel was clean, quiet and had all the necessities. Good internet, nice continental breakfast, and hot shower. The location is fine less that 15 minute walk to the transit station and very near out door cafe's and local 7-11 stores. I felt the staff to be helpful and good at giving directions. I had some difficulty coming from the Airport the express train does not easily mate with the local subway due to new construction, so you have to wander outside the train station to find the subway / metro station. There were many very very good cafe's near the hotel and alot of massage parlors...most were strictly massage ..ha.

Room Tip: ground level is easiest no elevator so carry your bags up flights is not cool.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

I spent one night there with a friend of mine as the place looked nice.. It was undergoing renovations so we could have a good price and we were happy it was so close to Jalan Alor.
As soon as laid on the bed, it started to itch real bad and could see all those little creatures attacking me. I was so shattered that night i fell asleep anyways but one hour later, i just couldn't stand it anymore.. I ended up sleeping on the floor (my friend was sleeping nicely... Apparently his mattress was infested yet). On the next morning, i checked the damages: my left pupil was so swollen, i couldn't wear my lenses, my back, arms and legs were like a battle field and i felt so so so tired.
Anyways, i referred this problem to the management, showing them the red patches so hopefully, there had been some improvements but as it's nearly impossible to get rid of bed bugs, i'd stay away from this place

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monique L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

The hotel looks very pretty. Cool decor, hip ambience. However, on the one night I stayed there, I was bitten alive. I woke up to being bitten by bedbugs, which I took photos of by the way, and then i told reception to change my room. They found me a room near the back, and at 3am, we trudged there and went to sleep again, LO AND BEHOLD, this room also had bed bugs. We stormed out at 5am in the morning and had to go crash at my friend's house. Never ever again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZAlam84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
Melange Boutique Hotel
Melange Boutique Hotel
#58 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpha Genesis Hotel
Alpha Genesis Hotel
#121 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
438 reviews
0.2 mi away
Capitol Hotel
Capitol Hotel
#55 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Istana
Hotel Istana
#21 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
3,839 reviews
0.7 mi away
Raizzy's Guesthouse
Raizzy's Guesthouse
#2 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
462 reviews
0.6 mi away
Submarine Guest House
Submarine Guest House
#22 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Eight Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Eight Guesthouse

Address: 8-10 Tingkat Tong Shin, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 345 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: £7 - £10 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Number Eight Guesthouse 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Number Eight Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number Eight Guesthouse Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Number 8 Guesthouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing