We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New building and friendly staff”
Review of D'or Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
D'or Hotel
Ranked #202 of 342 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“New building and friendly staff”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed there for 4 days, The staff are friendly. I like the location which is not so crowded once you step outside, 5-7 minutes walk to Bukit Bintang Monorail, close to Jl. Alor, where easy to find food. Too bad when we put cleaning sign for the room, they only change the towel and toiletries, our bed is still like we left it. Overall it's ok for us, would love to stay there again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Deni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    24
    25
    9
    3
See reviews for
7
24
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Orebro, Sweden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed 6 nights and bargain the price down to 100MYR per night for a room with two single beds. Well, not the cheapest place we've stayed at, but it was a nice room with really comfortable beds! It's located close to all the shopping malls in Bukit Bintang, some bars and clubs, 15-20 min walk to KLCC & Patronas Towers (if you don't want to take the monorail) and close to good food. It's still a bit on the side so you won't be disturbed by any noise from any clubs etc. Which is good if you just want to chill :)

The negative part is...
1. That it smelled cigarettes in the room a few nights, and it came from the bathroom ventilator. Don't know where it originally came from, the staff said they didn't know either. I don't smoke, so the smell annoyed me and gave me headache two nights. But we had already paid for the room and didn't know if the smell would be in any other room as well, plus the staff said it was fully booked in the other rooms, so we had to stay..
2. The cleaning of the room wasn't that good to be honest. I personally don't care so much about that, but other people might care more. They didn't clean the floors if we didn't ask them to, and there were black hairs all over the floors (we are both blonde). As I said, I don't care so much - my only priority is that the bed have to be comfortable. But someone else might care… And to be honest it's not so nice to step on a dirty floor and take that dirt with up in the bed... Maby we were just unlucky with that part, I don't know..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amathilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

At first, we had difficulty finding the hotel & nobody seems to know it since its new. So better call the hotel & ask for directions. The hotel was a block or 2 away from the street food district so its perfect, you wont hear the noise from the busy streets but malls(stalls) & restaurants(food stalls) are a walking distance. The hotel was clean & secured. We booked for a superior room for 2 guest so we expected to get of 2 towels, 2 toothbrushes & 2 bottled water as complimentary but we only got 1 for each. Internet connection was strong. TV channels were only about 5 channels but good that it got English speaking channels though. Over all hotel stay was very good!

Room Tip: If your not sure of the location, call the hotel & ask for directions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SweJo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

It's a budget hotel, small room, clean and the staff are so helpful. Ask for advice and we ended up with a driver for the day for 55 ringgits per hour and we had a tour guide for the day. We had a beautiful breakfast at a boutique hotel across the road that was organised by the staff at front desk as the D'or does not have a restaurant. We ate at an Indian restaurant across the road the night before and I don't like Indian food in Australia but the food here was beautiful, not hot, hot but spicy. In the next block you'll find a street of boutique bars. Funny to go into an Irish pub and they are all Malaysian serving but we are in Malaysia. Walk 5 mins to Main Street for mall shopping. Take a cab to China Town for shopping a few minutes by car. Walk couple of minutes to a full street of food stalls to experience street food.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Glenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
121 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The D'or hotel is perfect for a budget short stay. It is very close to the CBD area with major hotels,shopping malls, and a variety of eateries. It took us less than 2$ to get to KLCC/Suria shopping center from here and about 24$ to get to the KLIA airport by taxi, including all toll fees. The room was clean and the bed was quite comfortable.

At first we were placed in a boxy small room, which smelled like cigarettes,but then were moved to a bigger room at the hotel's discretion. The bathroom in the new room also smelled liked cigarettes, which was not clear whether it was from previous guests or coming from other rooms through ventilation. I have asked the reception to book a taxi to go to the airport as we were leaving at 6 am, and to my surprise the next day the taxi was not booked. Luckily, the hotel is conveniently located and there are many taxis at all time, so i managed to hail one myself. I guess as its only 3 months since the opening the staff is still learning as they go.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelNotes15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Alpha Genesis Hotel
Alpha Genesis Hotel
#127 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.1 mi away
My Hotel @ Bukit Bintang
My Hotel @ Bukit Bintang
#114 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#195 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alor Boutique Hotel
Alor Boutique Hotel
#226 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Corona Inn
Corona Inn
#178 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.4 mi away
SS City Hotel
SS City Hotel
#238 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D'or Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D'or Hotel

Property: D'or Hotel
Address: No. 18 Tingkat Tong Shin, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 342 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — D'or Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your D'or Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing