We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heritage Station Hotel
Ranked #276 of 355 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed 19 March 2010

Nice hotel and very relaxed and calm atmosphere. Would surely recommend to the person who wants to relax.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aman3611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2010

reached KL without any hotel booking. the bus by which i came from singapore dropped us here and i just walked in for a room & i got it.

No lift. Lift was working but no guarantee you will reach its destination. There was a placard placed on lift stating," lift is 100 year old."

this station is located just in front of old railway station. I saw some trains starting from this station, but there was not big rush in the station at any point of time. May be this was about to close or main station was shifted some where.
While using subway in the evening i felt bit scary,
This building was the place where jackie chan's police story 2 was shot.

to tell about hotel. it is old hotel which says it was once a very elegant place which was used by rich visitors to malaysia.
just opposite to this one can see large buildings and national mosque of malaysia. from here you can reach petronas tower, kl tower in 10 minutes by train or by car.

service was almost not existing. good thing was there was a self operated laundry, which i didnt use.

anyone on tight budget can stay in this hotel. complimentary breakfast is pathetic. after first day i didnt went back to that place. just opposite to it there was a KFC.

i didnt checked with hotel about their services. except for getting bus ticket back to singapore.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DreamingaboutTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2010

Stayed for 3 nights. Interested in beautiful architecture even if hotel has been left for years with litle investment. We tried the windows in our room but found they had been nailed shut. Later on our second night we realised why as someone jemmied the window open and stole our camera, videocamera, PC and phones. We hadn't realised that the windows led onto a communal balcony that was dark and secluded. The items were in a locked case. We have been living abroad for a year so we had all our valuables with us. Hotel staff moved us and waived the bill but when we walked on the balconies after the break-in we saw that the majority of windows had been forced open on numerous occasions previously. We feel hotel staff have a responsibility to protect customers- this hotel failed us.

Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
2  Thank Gillian48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2010

Sure, it's an adventure and full of history and the building is beautiful - but if you want a clean, cool room and a good night's sleep, there are plenty of other hotels in KL that are the same price and much better.

The rooms are clean, but it's the years and years of grime that make it feel dirty.

I booked a standard single room . Turns out ALL the standard rooms are smoking and there is nothing on the web site that explains this. After looking at 5 rooms that all smelt, the receptionist (who was good) gave me a better room - shame it was still a smoking room! By this time I gave up and just accepted what I had for one night and went out for dinner. None of the rooms I looked at were rooms that I would look forward to going back to at the end of the day.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne-marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2010

Stayed one night en-route to Genting. Arrived on 16th Jan after flight from Singapore. Check in was prompt. Assigned room on 3rd floor in extreme corner. First thing that struck me was the strong, musty smell of ancient carpets. Room was reasonably big as we booked a triple. Turned on the 'air-con' to cool the room while we went downstairs to grab a bite. After an hour or so, returned to find the 'air-con' off. Seems like the timer on the remote was stuck and after every 45mins or so, it will 'auto-off'. Not that it was blowing out any cool air in any case.. Tried to turn off the timer on the remote but was unable to do so. As it was late, we decided to bear with it and spent a most uncomfortable night in the stuffy, unventilated room. Had to rouse from semi-stupor every 45mins or so to turn the 'air con' back on, hahaha... You can be sure we checked out damn early the next morning. Will not be returning anytime soon.. For those thinking of staying here... I only have one word of advice: DON'T!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank panjandrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2010

On a trip that included lots of 4* luxury, we decided to do something a bit more adventurous and found out about the Heritage Station Hotel in a guide book. It was everything we were told it would be - basic and cheap - and showed us a part of KL we would not have seen otherwise. The staff were helpful enough and the room was basic but clean enough. What do you expect when you are paying just above hostel rates! Even though we couldn't work out how to use the air-conditioner and had to sleep through a hot night before we found the right button the next morning, once that was on everything was fine. Would I like to stay more than 2 nights - probably not; but if you want to experience something a little different from the sterile westernised tourist hotels on offer all over the world, then this is it.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebbyBuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2010

OK, the place is not brand new, but the prices reflect that, so everything else is a freebie... what is everything else? Reliable service, excellent local restaurant run by the hotel (just outside of the front door), large rooms, stunning building. On the down side is the location, you need public transport to go anywhere. Definitely recommended but don't expect a modern place with all the comforts as you'll be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canerandagio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.3 mi away
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
#54 of 355 in Kuala Lumpur
1,045 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
0.9 mi away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#14 of 355 in Kuala Lumpur
4,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
1.6 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 355 in Kuala Lumpur
10,223 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lanson Place Bukit Ceylon Serviced Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Station Hotel

Address: Bangunan Stesen Keretapi | Jalan Sultan Hishamuddin, Kuala Lumpur 50050, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #276 of 355 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: £1 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Heritage Station Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a no frills budget hotel situated in a gazetted heritage building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Heritage Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Heritage Station
Heritage Station Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing