We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location but bad service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Soho City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Soho City Hotel
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Location but bad service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Basically, this is a good stay for a budget traveler, especially those traveling alone. The bunk beds are pod-style with private storage shelf and light. It was also a safe place to stay because every room is locked and required the key card to unlock, including bathroom. Basic breakfast is provided with breads and milk. Good location, it's exactly located in Petaling Street and this is definitely a good news for those who enjoy budget shopping and food-hunting.

However, the room is a bit warm although fan and air-conditioner are switched on. No window in the room, and I couldn't tell whether it's daytime or night because I can't see sunlight. And, the most unsatisfied part was the quality of service of the management. We were communicate with the management via e-mail, including the booking and payment details. Some of my friends were estimated to reach KL at 5 o'clock in the morning and we requested for early check-in. So, I tried to liaise with the person-in-charge about this matter. However, we failed to contact him during and even after the Raya week. So, I tried to contact him via phone call, but the on-duty staff told me that the person-in-charge is not around but they will inform him about my request. I wonder if there is only one person who can make decision at the management level. Then, I kept waiting for days and no reply at all even on the day of our trip.

So, we checked-in on the day and I asked the receptionist whether another group of my friends can check-in early in the 5am. He said no problem. Surprisingly, on the check-out day, we were required to pay for extra one night because they said, early check-in considered as extra one night stay! This is definitely a miscommunication between the staffs and management but we are the party who pay for the price.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SiewLeng_Seow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    7
    12
    5
    4
See reviews for
2
8
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Old Hickory, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

One of the best backpackers experiences we had throughout Asia. The accommodations were nice with comfortable beds and high pressure, hot showers. Unique and fun location right in the center of China Town. A huge bus terminal is right down the street as well if you looking to travel elsewhere in Malaysia. Friendly staff that was very accommodating to our large group of 44.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LVallett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAN JOSE , CALIFORNIA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Clean, but still has the ant/cockroach spray smell when they turn off the AC. It's very annoying that they turn it all off.. Place heats up, smells, and for people who want to stay inside , it's just not nice. Stayed int he dorm and 3 people stayed thru the day, making it overheat etc. They could have turned it on..they knew how, but refused when I asked. Little too penny pinching for my taste given it's an expensive dorm room

Sure it has wifi, but the fact that it's a cement block makes the signal good only if you sit outside int he hallway...

Room Tip: Breakfast is included but as cheap as they possibly can get!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellinandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Great location. A/c works from 7pm to 10 am. Continental Breakfast included. Beds were okay, but you get two pillows and a towel.

No lockers. Annoying key cards needed to access bathroom and own room.

There appears to be no quiet policy, as guests were yelling all night through the halls. Staff didn't seem to care/do anything.

Could be better, I'd go back if the staff were a bit more helpful and considerate to guests.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Eddy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuncHostelKL, Manager at Soho City Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Eddy L,

First of all thank you for staying with us and taking your time writing us this review on tripadvisor. We duly apologize for all the shortcomings and we assure you that we are looking into it to improve the overall guests experience with us.

Once again thank you, and we hope that we wll have the chance to welcome you at Bunc Hostel again in the future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Only stayed one night but the breakfast was trash (bread) and the staff was not the friendliest. One good thing is that they were open at 4 am when I got in to let me get a room(no discount). Also none of the other guests spoke English as far as I could tell.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank goleary91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuncHostelKL, Manager at Soho City Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear goleary91,

Thank you for your review of us in tripadvisor. We duly apologize for the unfriendliness of our staffs and the quality of our breakfast, but be assured that these issues are being highlighted in order to improve our self as a hospitality group. We hope that you will be back with us again in the future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

The room itself is very basic. For the single room I've booked, it has a bed, air-conditioner, TV with limited channel, and a writing table more like a board attached on the wall. The lift is kinda old but fuctioning. Wifi spoiled for 1 night (out of 2 nights) I stayed there, bathroom is on sharing basic, the only not-in-use socket is spolied. Water dispenser available at 2nd floor.

The provided breakfast is just bread, cereal, milk, coffee and tea BUT you can get delicious local food on the street. Petaling Street where it located is a good place, it's a tourist attraction itself, and local people come here for the food and shopping. As addition, it's walking distance from Pudu bus terminal and LRT stations (Plaza Rakyat and Pasar Seni).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yimin516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuncHostelKL, Manager at Soho City Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear yimin516,

First of all thank you for staying with us and for writing us this review. We noted down your feedback on defects and we assure you that these matters are getting solved. We hope that you will come back again in the future to experience an improved Bunc Hostel.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I booked this hotel since it is located in the heart of the city and on the famous Petaling street. For some people it could be a nuisance but for some people who love to people watch having a small drink, this would be ideal.
Positives: Right on the petaling street (china town) which very much live till 2 am so you won't be bored, I stayed in a proper room which is fairly bigger compared to the hotels in this price scale, TV, WiFi were all good, Break fast is provided with bread, jam, coffee, peanut butter, milk and cereal. It would suffice to survive till 12 there, We got a room with a window which was nice. During our stay we met 3 staff and 2 of them were really good whilst other one was Okish as she was mostly on the phone.

Negatives: not many negatives to write about being on the low budget, however they did not bother to clean our room for 3 days though! The hot water is not controllable, either you have to pick really warm water or just normal water, no in between.

Anyway given the fact that, the hotel was in the heart of the city and its cleanliness, I would recommend to others for sure. I would stay there again.
Pasar seni LRT- 3-5 minute walk,
Central market- 5 minute walk,
Lake garden, national mosque, bird park- 20 minutes walk
Kuala Lumpur old station- 5 minute walk
KL sentral- one stop from Pasar seni for 1 RM

Have a nice time in KL. This was our 4th time in KL.

Manjula
Sri Lanka

Room Tip: I doubt higher floors get a proper water pressure as even at the 2nd level it was quite slow
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
The Explorers Guesthouse
The Explorers Guesthouse
#3 of 247 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.2 mi away
Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur
Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 247 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bullock Cart Hostel
Bullock Cart Hostel
#37 of 247 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sohotown Hotel
Sohotown Hotel
#252 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.3 mi away
BackHome KL
BackHome KL
#1 of 247 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.7 mi away
Serenity Hostels
Serenity Hostels
#70 of 247 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soho City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho City Hotel

Property: Soho City Hotel
Address: 37 Jalan Petaling, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia (Formerly Bunc@Radius Chinatown)
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 247 Speciality Lodging in Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Class:2 star — Soho City Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See what a difference a stay makes..SOHOCITY. I feel comfortable here.The best value under the Sun. SOHO CITY HOTEL Chinatown nestles in the heart of the city of Kuala Lumpur. Just few steps away from this vibrant Chinatown and numerous attractions such as Sze Ya Temple and Guandi Temple. Only 60km away from Kuala Lumpur International Airport (KLIA), it can be easily accessed from the airport. Undergoing tremendous renovation to the hotel, SOHO CITY HOTEL Chinatown will let you have a brand new look. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing