We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home”
Review of Red Palm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Palm
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I stayed in Red Palm for the first time two years ago and this year I went back to KL and didn't even think about going anywhere else than Red Palm. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, the atmosphere in the common area is cozy and beds are comfortable. There are plenty of novels and travel books for you to read and you can borrow a map from the hostel to explore the city. Hostel is located in the Golden Triangle so Petronas Towers and shopping malls are within walking distance.
Breakfast is included and coffee and tea is available all day long. Few cats are living in the hostel as well so if you allergic, you might consider another place to stay. Overall, one of the best backpacker hostels I've been to!

Room Tip: All the rooms are quite ok. In the dorms it's usually pretty quiet and the guests respect others...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taru_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    37
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
2
12
41
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
236 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I really enjoyed my time at the Red Palm- so much so that I stayed there when I came back through KL. The place is pretty standard as far as guest houses go- communal area downstairs and rooms (dorms and privates) upstairs with a small breakfast of cereal, toast and bananas being served every morning. What really set this place apart is how awesome the staff was. They really went out of their way to help you with your trip. I had help finding my way around and booking trips and even to see some movies and get to the airport while I was there. I would definitely stay at the Red Palm if I were coming back through KL.

Room Tip: There's a really excellent Indian restaurant right next door that shouldn't be missed if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nlaguilera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Very clean hostel, has a nice chill area down stairs and dorm rooms are air conditioned. The staff are so welcoming and helpful! Especially Sophie!! Would recomend as it's close to the main bar strip as well as being nice and quiet if you want to chill out!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I stayed at the Red Palm in June of 2014 for two nights. I opted for the private room as opposed to the dorm. I was expecting a simple, clean room and a shared bathroom. I got exactly what I expected. The bathroom was cleaned multiple times a day. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. And the two kitties roaming the guesthouse were a nice touch. I would recommend this to no frills budget travellers!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hashem A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The first floor living room is very inviting, with books, sofas and pillows. But the rooms on the second flood, there's no proper ceiling. Yards of cloth make up for the ceiling of 3 adjacent rooms. Artsy, yes, but useless for keeping out the sound from the other occupants.The wooden floor is another thing too. You can feel footsteps of people walking around. The 2nd floor bathroom, there's a urinal that needs to be removed as it's not working anymore and has collected grime (think Trainspotting and the cubicle with Ewan McGregor). The staff were helpful and friendly. Nice location, lots of restos nearby. Good if you're not picky with cleanliness and noise level.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Alsaetia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

It's at a perfect location which near the main attractions in KL.
Just like all reviews it's really a home feeling hostel.
The guy at front desk had well explained to me all the facilities in the hostel.

However,

the guy and maid wasn't that friendly, there's isn't a trace of smile on their face and made me feel like want to move out instead.
Plus the baking hot room only equip one stand fan in SIX BEDS DORM, there's air-condition but only outside the room which is shared within 3 rooms upstairs, so if close the door before sleep will definitely feel hot during mid of night.
Fortunately I only stay for 2 nights and the bad feeling over here makes me want to leave KL centre asap.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MoonYue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia, indonesia
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This place is pretty cool.
Nothing to complain about except some staff were really cold for no apparent reason.
And when I checked in the person on front desk did not help me with my bags even though I was struggling.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ujangpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.7 mi away
The Explorers Guesthouse
The Explorers Guesthouse
#4 of 252 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.7 mi away
BackHome KL
BackHome KL
#1 of 252 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
0.8 mi away
Suzie's Guesthouse and Hostel
Suzie's Guesthouse and Hostel
#16 of 252 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Yard Boutique Hotel KL
The Yard Boutique Hotel KL
#14 of 328 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paper Plane Hostel
Paper Plane Hostel
#3 of 252 in Kuala Lumpur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dorms KL
Dorms KL
#7 of 252 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Palm

Property: Red Palm
Address: 5 Tingkat Tong Shin | Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 252 Speciality Lodging in Kuala Lumpur
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Red Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Palm Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing