We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and friendly staff”
Review of Old Shanghai

Old Shanghai
Ranked #71 of 5,870 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Located in a really lively area - Opium is a fun place to eat. The food is a delicious mix of local and western so there is something for everyone. The staff are really knowledgeable about the menu and happy to make recommendations. I need to thank the manager (sorry I can't remember his name) who went to huge lengths at the end of the evening to book an Uber for us. The traffic was horrendous and he went outside to find the driver and take us to the car. Above and beyond - thank you!

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank holidaymum999
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (2,044)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,037 - 1,041 of 2,044 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

The lunch time all you can eat menu is a bargain! 28 myr each and the food is on party with the dim sum we had in Hong Kong.

Date of visit: September 2016
2  Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Different types of cocktail and mix whisky. Delicious n fun to drink. A good place to hang out if your looking for something of a cross over mix culture. Not too crowded even on a busy Friday night. Service is prompt and price is not too expensive.

Date of visit: October 2015
1  Thank 522mingweiy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WernersGroup, Public Relations Manager at Old Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2016

Hi Ming Wei Y, thank you for your kind and encouraging remarks about us. It's indeed a pleasure to serve you towards memorable dining experience. Looking forward to see you again soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016

We had the taster menu at Opium and it was just fantastic. A real variety of dishes and unusual tastes. More than enough food and

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Louloubrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WernersGroup, Public Relations Manager at Old Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2016

Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to rate us. It's truly a pleasure to serve you. We look forward to see you again soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016

The menu looked good but we were here for pre dinner drinks. A little slow but worth the wait. We sampled from the special drinks and we're pleased with content and presentation. A very cool bar

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank SusanWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WernersGroup, Public Relations Manager at Old Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2016

Hi SusanWellington, thank you for sharing such an encouraging remark about us. It's truly a fulfilling on our end to serve you on our end. :) We look forward to serve you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Shanghai also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Old Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.