We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but good”

Fuego at Troika Sky Dining
Ranked #33 of 5,114 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$69
Cuisines: South American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Fuego is about new twists to classic cocktails. Fuego is tapas that you have never seen before. Fuego is sharing with friends and family. Fuego is the Fire that grills our big slabs of meat. And Fuego is always a party!
Reviewed 14 March 2018

When KL is full of such great value delicious food it felt a little like cheating to go to a Westernised flash restaurant. We wanted to eat with a special view and liked the sound of the cocktails as well as the food. We tried to book but were told they were full. But we got lucky as 6pm walk-ins. The menu is an interesting fusion of Asian/Mexican/ Spanish. It was humming with activity and mainly well-dressed young locals. Our waiter Muhtasim looked after us royally. Drinks were potent and delicious. Likewise the famous guacamole and a variety of veg crisps. We had a huge Desperate Dan sized steak, chargrilled to perfection. I hope some member of staff had a dog to appreciate the bone.
Although not very Malaysian, this was a fun place for dinner. Prices are high but it is a luxury experience. Just down the corridor is Coppersmith bar which looked lush.
We found Troika to be a bit of a hike from the Petronas towers area, more so in the rain.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank UnaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (651)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 75 of 651 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

We visited Fuego with a bit of skepticism due to our experiences with Latin American food in Asia and Australia. 3 of the 4 people in our group are South Americans living in Asia and we have tried Latin American food all over the eastern hemisphere. Typically Latin food is disappointing in Asia. But because it is bad, but because it lacks identity. Usually it’s some Asian or Australian interpretation of Mexican food. Fuego was the first South American restaurant that didn’t disappoint us in this half of the world. It’s wonderful. The flavors capture the essence of Northern South America while maintaining its own identity and brining a modern element. It’s not just delicious, it captures the sentiment of the cuisine. I would call it a mix of Peru/Colombia/Venezuela, capturing elements of mountain and sea.
The service is pleasant and helpful without being over the top or annoying. It’s just perfect. Andy was a wonderful server with just the right touch and prevented us from over ordering for our table as well as achieving the right spice levels with his expert knowledge of the menu.
There’s not a bad view in the restaurant. We took the 18:30 seating, firstly because we had a young child with us (who also loved the flavors) but also to see the sunset over the petronas towers.
Standout dishes:
Chickpea Churros with avocado
All the Arepas
The prawn Ceviche
Argentinian Squid
Flank Steak
This same meal in Singapore, Hong Kong or Sydney would cost 3 to 4 times as much. Not only is it the best South American food we’ve had in Asia, although not cheap, it’s certainly the best value.
We would return in a heart beat and with more people so we can try more dishes.

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank DanielG34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

3 of us had dinner at this restaurant. First impressions were fantastic given the stunning views of the city. The restaurant is open to the elements so has an amazing al fresco feeling (but check the weather before u go!). Food was delicious, we took a few plates to share (guacamole, sweet corn, flank steak, salad and potatoes). All was delicious and fresh, the steak was perfectly cooked. There is also a really funky bar attached to the restaurant which does great cocktails (but beware the have a lot of empty bottles on display, so didn’t have the drinks I wanted). Prices were very reasonable and staff attentive. I would go back.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Billiam121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

We had a great time for a birthday celebration in Fuego on last Saturday night. We might have had the best waiter in the building and his name is "Meehtasim". Meehtasim is totally a great asset for Fuego. We would like to thanks him to make our celebration extraordinary perfectoooo!!!!!

Thanks Meehtasim :) #fuegomeehtasimgoodservice

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AngelineW102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018 via mobile

Fuego is always a star, great view, great food, great service, awesome experience. This time we had a humerus waiter to add to the experience - Andy. The chorus for desserts is a must, otherwise it is just to experiment with the menu.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank ArneMid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fuego at Troika Sky Dining also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Fuego at Troika Sky Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing