We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good.”
Review of YMCA Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
YMCA Hostel
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Rooms are hot and sometimes not available for standard room.
The price include breakfast coupon which is a bless for who has a tight budget.
One receptionist speaks really quick and I sometimes cannot understand her.
No adaptor provided, a big disadvantage, compared to My hotel.

Room Tip: Better to book a room. I think YCMA is a valuable place to stay near KL sentral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 63 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in a Twin room on the 3rd floor from 17th to 19th May. We were provided with complimentary breakfast during our stay which was good enough. Convenient location. Reasonable rates.Close to the KL Sentral station, Monorail and Bus stop. Well maintained Room and Bathroom. Recommend to anyone who like to visit Kuala Lampur. We would stay again. No second thoughts.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Princy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Budget stay - safe & clean. Good service. Good location - KL Sentral station is at a walking distance. Could get the Hop-on Hop-off bus from KL Sentral for the sight seeing.

The complimentary breakfast was not great but given the price, its good enough.

We checked in at around 2:00am in the morning. The reception staff was very courteous. We checked out late by an hour but no complaints from the staff.

Bit noisy. At night, the nearby lanes are not safe. So buy your stuffs in advance and avoid late night strolling in that area. A few great restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dipayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Stayed here Wednesday night before an afternoon flight home from LCCT. Its a very handy walk to the bus and KLSentral station. Previously have stayed here twice.
This time, our smallish room was on the 2nd floor next to the fire exit and looking onto the back street ,room 229. Each corridor now has a security door, accessed with a card attached to the room key.
Beds were newish, and very comfortable as were the pillows with newer sheets and a doona like cover. Kettle and glasses were provided, no tea or coffee but a bottle each of water provided. There was a small cupboard and desk also plus a flat screen TV-no English stations.
Bathroom was adequate with soap and clean towels provided, but it could do with a little facelift. Also needed was a bathmat, as you come out of the bathroom onto the newish looking carpet.
Yes, the room was somewhat noisy, but it didnt bother us much at all.We slept very well!
WiFi worked well if you stood near the door (inside) of your room.
Breakfast is a fixed "Set Menu"..you have a choice of 3 different sets which includes a drink, and this varies every day. We found it adequate.
All in all, we'd stay again overnight.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussierover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Stayed for 8 nights. Great location near Sentral station and monorail. Our room had been renovated, fresh paint, flat screen TV, but the bathroom was very basic. Overall it was clean, sheets and towels not new but clean. The only problem was from the noise outside..cars, night market, then earlyish in the morning it would all start again. On site laundry was great, cheap and reliable, run by an organisation for the deaf.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Workforholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

nice stay..
rooms are clean, but very small.
best part of the hotel is location, close to central, very convenient to move every where u want to. breakfast is available but it is negligible..
overall u can choose if u are on a tide budget

Room Tip: take central facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rabeya Tasnim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

we two families stayed for 3 nights in YMCA ,triple room & double room on 3rd floor .
rooms are clean and comfortable.staff is co-operative . Location is very good near KL sentral , Breakfast was all right need to improve the menu .
Regards
Sanjay Godambe

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sansheetaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Metro Hotel KL Sentral
Metro Hotel KL Sentral
#86 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
409 reviews
0.8 mi away
Amigo Hotel
Amigo Hotel
#89 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
135 reviews
1.2 mi away
Citin Seacare Hotel Pudu Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Summer View
Hotel Summer View
#64 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
433 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
#16 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
3,320 reviews
0.2 mi away
PODs The Backpackers Home & Cafe
PODs The Backpackers Home & Cafe
#12 of 296 in Kuala Lumpur
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YMCA Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YMCA Hostel

Address: 95 Jalan Padang Belia, Kuala Lumpur 50470, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 296 Speciality Lodging in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: £14 - £21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — YMCA Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your YMCA Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ymca Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing