We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serrai In”
Review of Serai Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Serai Inn
Reviewed 4 January 2014

L&G,

I am really disappointed reading about some people claming that Serrai Inn is not a good hotel. I am a respectable Algerian citizen who spent more than 31 days in this hotel, where I found it very good, helpful personnel and very kind manager Mr. Koe Kok Hau, a very intelectual chinese man. I spoke with Koe about the incident of the below claim, and I understood that it was the misunderstanding about rooms price. Any one in the world tell the below claimer about hotel's prices in KL, i think as a an experienced triper that it is a best price for a room with an AC and a shower.

Dear Mr Australian, this time you made a big mistake when charging people that they re not helpful! I found it so in my first days, but after, I am convinced that they re a poor hard working people whom hae just help to provide!

So, it is a trade mark, and it is the business of others, becareful of being charged of a defamation crime, that may touch the hotel

I am sure that you made this judgement under some misunderstanding circumstances, so please if you re a gentleman, come back to your previous judgment; and be friend with Koe, as he is a good person.

Good luck to you, and welcome to Algeria, I will brought you to my house, for free no many to take from you.

Mr. Wail Lamouri.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wail L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
There are newer reviews for Serai Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 19 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2013

We stayed here after a mix up with our booking through booking.com and so we didn't lose any money decided to stay a couple of days.

The rooms were very small and dirty, the free wifi only worked on one floor and the management were less than helpful.

It was very expensive for what it was, there are far better hostels in better locations for a third of the price.

Don't bother with this place. The 'free' breakfast was also very poor and the showers laughable!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lemongrass168, Owner at Serai Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Mike made a mistake thinking that the rental for an A/C double room was RM76 for three nights (ie. RM25.30 per night) when he made a booking via a well established booking website. Actually, the rental was RM76 per night. We explained to him there was no way to rent an A/C double room in downtown Kuala Lumpur for RM25.30 per night. However, he was still upset throughout his stay in Serai Inn. We even recommended him a guest house that offers very basic dorm for as low as RM12 per person per night.

As mentioned in my response to an earlier review, our free breakfast consists of scrambled egg, toast, fruit, baked beans, coffee or tea and our cook prepares it on the spot (except for Saturday when our cook is off). So, We leave it to the readers to judge whether such breakfast is laughable for the price he has paid. With regards to his comment on the cleanliness, we would like to clarify that we are always considered a clean guest house. Please refer to the comment of the other customers in the well established booking websites to get a fair picture.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Dreadful money grabbing and unpleasant owner. Rooms are minute shoe boxes without windows and everything costs extra from towels to breakfast. Yes, they 'say' breakfast is included but this is a lie. You have to pay for everything apart from a slice of bread. This typifies the whole place. When I wanted to change my booking from 2 nights to 1 as I needed to see a friend in Malaysia the owner refused a refund on the second night, despite more than 24 hours notice. He then tried to retain my key deposit.
Also, watch him: he tries to force you to check out early by all sorts of nasty tactics e.g. he will ask when you are leaving and then he only operates reception until 10.30: therefore forcing you out unless you are prepared to lose your 20RM deposit.
Finally if there was a fire god only knows how everyone would get out the building: I suspect they simply wouldn't.

Money grabbing and nasty: avoid.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardH267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lemongrass168, Owner at Serai Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Richard Hoskins booked for two nights and made the full payment upon arrival. Then, he changed his mind at 8pm to cancel his stay for the second night. He has obviously given us less than 24 hours' notice. We even offered him to change his date of stay to anywhere before 31 Dec 2013 but he refused to take up our offer.

Our breakfast comprise of egg, toast, fruit, coffee and tea and it is absolutely free. Towel can be rented for a nominal amount of RM2.00 per towel. Since our counter is close from 10.30pm to 7.30am, we always remind our customers to get back their deposit of RM20 before 10.30pm. We never force any guest to check out earlier. In fact, we always refund them if they want to check out before 7.30am and we always trust that they would not take away the access cards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I had a very positive experience staying in this guest house over a three month period while conducting research in KL this spring (Jan - Apr 2013). Koh, Lim, Teddy and Wati all made me feel incredibly welcome and created a home away from home. Koh, the owner of the inn, provided me invaluable advice (he is a registered tour guide) on the main cultural attractions in KL, Malacca, Penang and Singapore.

The rooms are fairly compact, equipped with reliable aircon and are kept immaculately clean by the very professional housekeeping staff. The Malay breakfast included in the price hits the spot nicely and is provided in a very pleasant, spacious common room. The bathroom facilities are basic but well-maintained and hygienic.

I cannot imagine a more central location in KL - Merdeka Square is a 6 or 7 minute walk and the Masjid Jamek LRT station is a mere 2 minutes away. KLCC (the Westernised/Petronas Towers section of the city) is about 20 minutes' walk and the attractions of Lake Gardens (KL's Hyde Park - much more elegant and understand than its London counterpart) and the National Mosque are around 15 minutes by foot. Little India and Chinatown are all reachable within 10 minutes.

At 50 RM (+/-) per night for a single room including breakfast (and on-tap tourist tips if Koh is about), the Serai Inn is a hidden gem for the traveller seeking moderately priced accommodation in central KL. I cannot speak highly enough of this wonderful guest house and its friendly staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Markoconnor1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I stayed 3 nights at Serai Inn and loved it. They are really helpful. The room isn't big, but the air con works really well. Is situated in a really central place, close to china town and central station, and you can get a free shuttle to go to the twin towers, just ask for the direction from the staff.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreaspz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013 via mobile

Super staff. We arived at five in the morning at they waited for us to open the door. He also explained the things about KL when we arrived. During our stay the whole staff were friendly to us and answered our questions. Very good loaction next to Chinatown, close to the busstation, metrostations and the free busstop. Rooms are very clean and the bed is good. Sharing bathroom, showers are good and hot. Soft bed, although the pillows were a bit high. Due to the thin walls it is very noisy. We had a room at the street site, which you could hear very well in the morning. At night the street is quite. The breakfast is really basic, just one egg with two toasts and a bit of fruit.

Thank Maar-itt
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 January 2013

A basic small clean aircond single room just for RM49 per night which good for budget traveller. The location is excellent close to LRT station & Puduraya Bus station. Easy to explore Merdeka Square & China Town/Petaling Street which with walking distance. If u want to visit Bintang Walk/KLCC/KL Tower do refer to the helpful reception for free Hopon/Hopoff purple line/green line free bus. The bus stand just few hundred meters from this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c_ck_2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.3 mi away
The Explorers Guesthouse
The Explorers Guesthouse
#4 of 278 in Kuala Lumpur
444 reviews
0.4 mi away
Birdnest Guesthouse 2
Birdnest Guesthouse 2
#19 of 278 in Kuala Lumpur
186 reviews
0.1 mi away
BackHome KL
BackHome KL
#1 of 278 in Kuala Lumpur
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
9,891 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
1.3 mi away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#12 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
4,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serai Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serai Inn

Address: 62, Jalan Hang Lekiu | 2nd - 5th Floors, Kuala Lumpur 50100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 278 Speciality Lodging in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: £9 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Serai Inn 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, quiet and homey - Serai Inn is a newly established hostel run by backpackers for backpackers. We are three "travel-holics" who have travelled to 31 countries across 5 continents. Our passion in traveling, experiencing different cultures and meeting people from all over the world has prompted the idea of establishing a 'home' for the like-minded people. Serai Inn is established mostly based on what we have learned when traveling. Rest assured, as backpackers ourselves we understand your needs and we are committed to make your holiday a sweet memory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Serai Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serai Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing