We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food & Service”
Review of El Cerdo

El Cerdo
Ranked #9 of 4,559 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Description: Backed by 40 years of experience in various fine dining kitchens around the globe, Werner Kuhn set up El Cerdo KL, in the year 2005. The restaurant is well known to many as the No. 1 European style Pork Specialty eatery in Kuala Lumpur, focusing on traditional recipes. Having gathered many accolades for its outstanding food and service quality, the most popular item is "The Cochinillo Segoviano", a Spanish style roasted suckling pig dish that is served with the obligatory Plate Cutting Ceremony. Our slogan shouts out loud 'Nose To Tail Eating'.
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

I get information of this restaurant from friends and really was better than I could imagine. The baby Pig was absolutely delicious and service was over the top, a fantastic dinner in a lovely Kuala Lumpur!

2  Thank Jannacci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceRR, Aston Eng, Marketing Executive at El Cerdo at El Cerdo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Jannacci,

Thank you for writing your review.

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed our service and meal at El Cerdo.

We hope to serve you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (892)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

608 - 612 of 892 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Came with my friend for his birthday..... Obviously the I hour journey was worthwhile:
1. Cozy restaurant interiors
2. Attentive staffs, offering great advices on the menu.
3. Most importantly ... GREAT FOOD!: tried the pork knuckles, with crispy skin and juicy tender meat .... Served with nice sauce, and side dishes .....
As for the desert, the Werner's special was a great treat, as the sweet and sour taste gave a good balance after a full meaty meal...... A lot more signature dishes to try ... Surely will come again ;)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Cck200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceRR, Aston Eng, Marketing Executive at El Cerdo at El Cerdo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Cck200,

Thank you for your positive review!

It is great that you have had a good time dining at El Cerdo.

We look forward to seeing you again soon, oink!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

If your into pork your in heaven. Not such a fan of the suckling pig (had much better) but the rest of the dishes we have sampled over 5-6 visits, have been excellent.

Only downside- don't bring a partner that doesn't eat pork - no real options though, and that said the restaurant advertises quite brazenly that it specializes and sells pork dishes (so no complaints from me)

Good food and welcoming and helpful staff

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AlocalExPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceRR, Aston Eng, Marketing Executive at El Cerdo at El Cerdo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear AlocalExPat,

Thank you for being a loyal customer to El Cerdo.

We hope to bring more excellent food and service to all our beloved fans.

See you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

A group of friends decided to have an alumni gathering in a relaxed environment and this was suggested.

Good:
Cosy environment. Combination of happy noise of happy people.
Great food. Pork, pork, and pork.
Awesome service. Waiters took the time to explain and copes very well with requests.
Location: In the middle of bars and buzz. Can always go for bar hopping after dining.

Not so good: Parking is an issue with the congested street.

Recommended for group gatherings, couple dates, and even family get together.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank eywchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoleCharlottePua, Public Relations Manager at El Cerdo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Ernest148,

Thank you for writing your review.
We are glad you had enjoyed the porkelicious meal despite the congested traffic plus the lack of parking spaces. Indeed, El Cerdo would be ideal for get-togethers, couples as well as family gatherings, and most of our dishes are prepared in a sharing portion. Besides, many of our diners have come to celebrate their birthdays or anniversaries with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you again whenever you feel like having a hearty meal.

Oink oink!

Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

This restaurant would compete with the very best in Europe. To find it in KL just blew my mind. The selection of cold meats and salads was as good as I have ever tasted and the Schnitzel was also delicious. After 3 months in Asia this really gave me an hour of feeling at home.

1  Thank DominikJaeger83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoleCharlottePua, Public Relations Manager at El Cerdo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear DominikJaeger83,

Thank you so much for writing your review.

We at El Cerdo are delighted to have made you feel "at home" with our food and our service during your travel. Wanting to present the different western pork cuisines to Kuala Lumpur, we do our best in preserving every authentic taste and flavour. In fact, many of our ingredients are imported from the Europe in order to have the true taste of the dish served.

So, thank you for dining with us and for your feedback. OINK!

Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Cerdo also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to El Cerdo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing