We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic local cuisine”
Review of Little Penang Cafe

Little Penang Cafe
Ranked #65 of 4,222 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Chinese, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Authentic local cuisine”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We had a few hours in KL whilst cruising and were dropped at Suria KLCC. The guide on the bus recommended this restaurant for authentic Malaysian dishes. We had Char Kway Teow - a fried noodle dish with cockles - delicious and very different. Reasonably priced and we just made it before the lunch time crowd arrived. Clearly very popular with the locals for lunch.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MOdjaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    234
    85
    22
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Overcrowded”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Good food, I remember dining here several times but it is always full during lunch hours( too many working people in the area)...
Take their ABC/cendol desserts.. very sweet but good!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank AshtonLuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, AR
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very good Malayan food!”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We were staying nearby and decided to go there to have some malayan good. The restaurant is inside the mall and was completely full, of course we had the local classics, Char Kway Teow and Laksa. The food was excellent. The ambient is cafe style so do not expect anything fancy. In general i recommend this place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We had a late lunch here (Curve branch) and we were very delighted with the quality of the food served. Best penang laksa in KL and the hokkien mee was very good too. Service was adequate, could be better but not something to complain about.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BenLYK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Perfect for Visit to KLCC and Petronas Towers”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We followed the positive reviews of Little Penang Cafe on Tripadvisor when we visited KLCC - good choice! The Cafe gives the impression of a fast food place, but once inside the atmosphere is a lot less hectic. Service is quick, efficient and friendly and the waiters are more than happy to explain the items of the menu. We ate Lohbak and Pie Tee followed by Penang Asam Laksa and Char Kuey Teow. The food was freshly prepared and tasted just as good as we expected. Easy to go for a quick, tasty meal, equally easy to linger.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saint_lydia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Little Penang Cafe also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Little Penang Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing