We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty food at a good price”
Review of Little Penang Cafe

Little Penang Cafe
Ranked #71 of 4,092 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Cafe, Asian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Tasty food at a good price”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Have visited this restaurant a few times.. It is always busy with queues outside. The wait is worth it. The food is tasty, authentic and cheap. Service could be better.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sadaf L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    220
    83
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quick and cheap!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We visited for lunch and it was packed out, ate some of the cheapest food we had in KL, they turn over the tables quickly and you're easily in and out in 30-40 minutes - handy if you just want to eat fast and get back to shopping!

Helpful?
Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
“Service”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Very bad experience for my 1st call up for reservation for fasting today 22 July 2014, I called up before 1.00pm, I spoke to a guy to check reservation status then its look the guy ( not Malaysian ) don't know what I mention about seating. Then he pass to a ladies and she said is combine seat for 4 pax, I did ask the seat is inside, middle or nearby window side, she did not answer and she reply again U want booked or not, if not then is ok lol. After she said that, she drop my call. I called up again n wanted spoke with manager ( Eric ), I say I want booked seat & I ask why the ladies said that just now. Then hold my call spoke with staff & I said I want booked 4 seat and manager reply me fully booked. He keep say sorry only....What kind of service like this? What explanation like this? Somemore in this most popular place in KLCC with this kind of service?

  • Visited July 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankie83-Chong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Definitely worth the wait to be seated in this place! Very authentic, ridiculously cheap Malaysian meals. I had the Assam Laksa and was not disappointed! Full of flavour and very quick service. More authentic than Madam Kwans, in the same centre.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emyhans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Decent Penang street food”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

It's probably the best representation of Penang street food in town, but if I were to be critical about it, it still pale in comparison to the real deal in Penang. Some dishes, like the Fried Kuey Teow (rice noodle) and Prawn Noodle Soup have different ingredients in them mainly due to this being a Halal restaurant. The original version for Fried Kuey Teow is fried with crispy pork fat, Chinese waxed sausage, shrimps, cockles, duck eggs, and chives. And the authentic Prawn Noodle soup stock is supposed to be made with pork bones and shrimp shells, with pork spare ribs, shrimps, and hard-boiled egg served as toppings. The other choices on the menus are all decently good and as authentic as you could get. Portion is on the smallish side, considering the price. But I suppose it is so because of the high rentals they'd have to pay. If you want cheap, try the street hawkers. If you want great, go to Penang. Otherwise, this would be your best bet. And by that, I do mean it is the best bet compared to the dozens of wannabes like Old Town, PaPaRich, Kluang Station, etc. that have popped up since Little Penang opened its doors for business.

By the way, don't expect too much from service. It gets really busy and we often get the feeling of being "chased out", especially before closing when you are made to pay, sometimes even before your food is served. That's their practice and regulars are used to it. So, come here for the food. Nothing else and you'd be fine.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisKSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Little Penang Cafe also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Little Penang Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing