We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excllent!”
Review of Seagull Cafe House

Seagull Cafe House
Ranked #2 of 137 Restaurants in Male
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Drinks, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Fresh seafood, special dishes, Australian beefsteaks, Italian ice creams
Thalwil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excllent!”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

The ice cream was just super. You will not be disappointed. On the downside, the service is a bit slow, but always friendly!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Big_Chilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    151
    51
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice amostphere”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

It is a treehouse restaurant. We took the upstairs seat. We had a wonderful breakfast there, about US$20 for two of us. Quite delicious and yummy!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Shin23_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Refresh yourself. Good midday or dinner stop. Must order ice cream.”
Reviewed 16 May 2013 via mobile

You probably won't be blown away by the food (here or at any other restaurant in Male, to be frank), but it is at least good. The flavored teas are delicious and definitely enjoy fresh fruit juice. The orange I had to order twice. The upper level dining area has a nice breeze and view of the street and the nearby mosque. Take a nice rest here and refresh yourself at this little haven. The REAL draw here is the ice cream. It was outstanding. It was rich, very creamy, not too sweet with natural tasting flavors. I ordered a 2 scoop dish with hazelnut and pistachio. Save one spoonful of the hazelnut to put into your coffee. I stopped in again the next day for a second dose. The staff was pretty attentive and very friendly. Overall: definitely recommend as rest, lunch or dinner oasis. I did not have the opportunity to try breakfast there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BizOrPleasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krungthep Mahanakorn
Level Contributor
379 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 967 helpful votes
“Mashuni Roshi, Mango Gelato & Many Mozzies”
Reviewed 2 May 2013

One of Male's most popular eateries, this inviting two-storey café (open until midnight daily) serves the best, smoothest ice cream in town, but less impressive is the food, especially its bland rice and noodle dishes. Homesick Americans will rejoice when they discover club sandwich and honey mustard chicken. But we opt for mashuni roshi, a typical breakfast perfect for anyone inclined to visit teashops and the only Maldivian dish on the menu.

Seagull's highlight as mentioned above is homemade Italian ice cream. Of its 20+ flavours, tropical delights like pineapple and mango are our favourites. Anyone not in the mood for gelato should consider its equally refreshing smoothies but rather not its stale pastries. Like many cafés in Male, delicate desserts served warm like chocolate fondant and crème brûlée aren't available.

Perhaps what we like most about Seagull is its efficient service. Everything much to our amazement arrives fast; we never wait for longer than 10 minutes to get served. What we like least is the lack of air-conditioned space so wear long trousers in the evening as this open-air restaurant attracts both men and mosquitoes.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank PORhibido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good foods and Ice creams”
Reviewed 19 April 2013

This restaurent has separate ice cream corner with various flavors and types of ice creams. Kids love this place much. food are in general condition and nice clean service.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hicheree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seagull Cafe House also viewed

 
Male, North Male Atoll
Male, North Male Atoll
 
Male, North Male Atoll
Male, North Male Atoll
 

Been to Seagull Cafe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing