We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location for North Indian food and Fish” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salsa Royal

Salsa Royal
Ranked #88 of 136 Restaurants in Male
Cuisines: Italian, Indian, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
258 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good Location for North Indian food and Fish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

You get traditional taste of north indian dishes like Naan, Aloo Gobi. Separate Smoking and Non smoking area and there is a private party banquet area. Good Location and Spacious.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Duraisamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    7
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing drop in service over the last few months.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

We used to go regularly, service and food was good. Over the last few months, service has dropped, and at our last couple of visits we waited 40 minutes and 65 minutes for our meals. At the last time, after the 65 minute wait (and having asked what was the delay 3 times, with no explanation) we asked that our order be brought out to take away as we had to leave. Miraculously we had our plates about 2 minutes after this, which we then sent back to be put in t/a containers. The only explanation we were offered was they had a catering order (which they do all the time, so I don't know why it was such a problem this time). The restaurant is large, 2-story, and was not busy, so they should have been able to handle the catering order and the orders of those customers in the restaurant. Not even an apology for the delay was given. We now refuse to go back there. The food is good, but the service left us very disappointed.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Belinda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Male
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food taste great but the place is dirty”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

I ordered shrimps in sweet and sour chilli sauce, tom yum and burger. It tasted good anyway but the only thing bothered me at that night was their super soiled table cloth, floors were full of tissues/trash and those were not cleaned by their staff. You have to wait for almost 25minutes before they can actually serve the food.

Recommended only for people who doesn't mind CLEANLINESS with the place. They should improve their restaurant standards when it comes to this.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tripful_cdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Male
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Slow service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

To be fair, the waiter did warn us that it might be slow. However, that is no excuse for the extremely overspiced food.
But the decor is superb. The waiter was nice too.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank TambourineComputer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Avoid it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012 via mobile

Were 10 people. We waited One hour to have food. All food arrived below service temperature. Tikka chicken cold, naan bread too etc etc. Difficult to say If food was good being cold. Seems They don't have Any idea on how to manage large orders. Table cloth was incredibly dirty and stained and waiters had to be' sollecitated to change it. There are Definitely better retaurants in town...

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gastopo74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salsa Royal also viewed

Male, North Male Atoll
Male, North Male Atoll
 
Male, North Male Atoll
 

Been to Salsa Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing