We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holidays”
Review of Hotel Medhufushi

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Male
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Medhufushi
Ranked #14 of 35 Hotels in Male
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Just back from Medhufushi…and we had a blast!

Room: we booked two connected villa by the beach. Perfect for a family of 4. Room have everything needed for a week
Resort: well managed, beach and pool well managed and clean
Activities: not cheap but this is Maldives… jet ski (USD 89 for 20mn), wake board (USD 50 for 20mn), private speed boat for snorkeling and dolphin watch (USD 190 for 1.5hr), banana boat (USD 32 per person and 15m), Kayake (USD 18/ hr)
Diving: great staff. Did 3 dives and saw lot of turtles, sharks and many fish of course. Not cheap again but worth it
Food: bored pretty quick with the buffet. Overall food quality is fine, however hard to find a meat of fish that is not totally overcooked, wasn't impressed here
Staff: very nice and polite. nothing to complain about
Night entertainment: haven't attend to anything. We had long busy days and didn't stay late at night.

Transport: seaplane transfer offers a fabulous view of the atoll… really amazing

Overall: we had great holidays. We were worried about getting bored in a small island for a week but ended up wishing spending 1 more week there ! There is plenty of things to do on the island if you have a budget.. Hotel also organize free snorkeling trip almost every day though. Although there is nothing specially done for kids, our 4 years old kid had fun by the pool, hunt for crab and did join different snorkeling trip with us.

Tips: plenty of sun screen (really, UV exposure is extreme), bring snacks if you have kids, didn't need to use any insect repellent (I guess depend on when you go there).

Room Tip: sunset view: for the view of course but also for the light wind for bring temperature down a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bamboulea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 7 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2013

I really don't think there is something I didn't like about this amazing resort. My husband and myself spent the honeymoon of our dreams on the island. The staff was absolutely amazing , starting from guest relations Andu to Mohammed , we DEFINATELY got the VIP treatment. We were surprised nearly everyday with something in our water villa, like champhane , cake , fruits , flowers etc. the food on the resort was delicious , a very big choice every day. We enjoyed the islands attractions ... Sunset fishing is a must!!! ( Adam is your man), jet ski , dolphins watching , snorkeling , just fun fun fun!!!
The wether was not bad considering June is not the season , we had very sunny days , sometimes it rained for an hour or two and the sun was out again.
We also had the private dinner on our last night which just took our honeymoon to another level ( the lobster wa to die for) the evening entertainment was also quite good considering you are on an island in the middle of nowhere. We DEFINATELY made some new friendships on this trip and will cherish the week we spent in Medhufushi forever. Hope to go back soon . Keep up the great work guys !!!!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Natasha1286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Service, food quality exceptional. Rooms (garden villa suite) ok but pillows uncomfortable, and although room very clean, a terrible smell from drains / toilets for the duration of our 5 days stay.

Games facilities very poor. Pool table in very bad condition with balls, cues missing. Darts missing (2 left out of 6)...especially bad when travelling with teenage children who would have enjoyed the facilities given the weather. This problem was made much worse by staff/manager allowing toddlers to sit on pool table and throw balls & cues around.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OIT Hotels
3  Thank davidstanier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

1st time in the Maldives; 2nd time in the Indian Ocean.
A little hiccup on the way when we just missed a seaplane slot and had to wait two and a half hours for the next plane.A bit frustrating at the end of a long trip but we soon got over it.
The beach villa was lovely if not exactly on the beach;we soon found out why. It would have been far too hot. The bed was probably the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in on Holiday My partner loved the outdoor bathroom and shower; no, I am not posting the pictures.
Bar service was excellent. We were all inclusive so I have no idea what the prices for individual drinks are.
Restaurant food was excellent especially if, like us, you love curries and spicy food. There was however a good selection of non-spicy food and the soup every day was absolutely delicious.
I decidedto tip the main men(waiter, Bar waiter and pool boy) part way through the week and it was a very good move.Topped it up at the end of our stay.They were worth it.
I very rarely return to the same place twice, but this resort would certainly tempt me to.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank pharmajohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

All it was excellent!!! the acoomodation, the food, the island... I was in my honeymoon there and they surprised us with champagne and aniversary cake!
Excelent resort!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the sun rise island side are better. More quiet and privancy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnaVaju96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

One of the good island resorts I have been to.. The buffet spread was very lavish and opulent. The sports activities offered are very good and interesting. The only down side is the Staff is not at all cooperative and lies for everything asked for. Staff is reluctant are demands tip. The Spa is also good but very expensive and not worth the price. Most of the sporting ventures available are sourced out and are not very expensive and are good. but if it has been organized by the hotel, they have a very large cut. I recon you should contact them on your own and not through the hotel. Also no request of your will be honored by the hotel manager.

Room Tip: Book all water activities on your own not through the hotel. They have a big cut in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amit V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

In short its most def not a 5 star resort very poor managemnet the Guest Relations manager promised to deal with all our issues but in fact ignored us for the 6 days we were ther and refused to speak with us ..the Manager he lied to the tour opertaor about what had happend an sadly the tour opertaor belived him and not us we have pictures of the bad beaches...dirty room grey towels........with wholes YES wholes and all frayed Yes thats what they use.....old beach beds with old plastic water logged cushions they dont move when it rains......and the dirty tissue that was put on to the one outside our room was still there 6 days later....many issue with wrong room being allocated and just left for 2 hours without the sorting anything out all of them blaming the other pathetic disfunctional .....a botttle of wine was left as an appolgy...guess what no bottle opener and guess what we were told ...you could have come and got one form the recpetion oh yes sorry I forgot ...i am only a paying guest....i short DONT GO Poor food poor service old resort no maintance done dirty beaches this is not the MALDIVES

Room Tip: top end near watre bungalows beach is better...sunset side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank jane1940497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Male hotels
0.0 mi away
Centara Ras Fushi Resort & Spa Maldives
0.0 mi away
Hotel Jen Male
Hotel Jen Male
#2 of 35 in Male
597 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Octave
Hotel Octave
#4 of 35 in Male
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Skai Lodge
Skai Lodge
#16 of 35 in Male
77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ungoofaar Inn
Ungoofaar Inn
#23 of 34 in Male
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
LVIS boutique
LVIS boutique
#1 of 10 in Male
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Medhufushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Medhufushi

Address: Male
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Male
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 35 Hotels in Male
Number of rooms: 238
Also Known As:
Hotel Medhufushi Maldives/Male

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing