We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in Male”
Review of Hotel Jen Male

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Jen Male
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Male
Certificate of Excellence
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
301 reviews
210 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Best in Male”
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Convenient free speedboat transfer from the airport to the hotel and back (I let them know in advance).

There are not many hotels located in the small city of Male itself (not much to see in Male and way too many motor bikes!). This is easily the best one, a good 4 star venue. Although more of a business hotel, they made every effort for our 4-year old daughter. They provided a free extra bed for her.

The room was clean and modern and nice with a cute, glass-walled bathroom (with blinds).

Breakfast buffet was elaborate and excellent, a good mix of European-style breads, hot Asian dishes, cheese, eggs and sausages, fruits etc. We also enjoyed nice sandwiches for lunch in the downstairs Deli. For dinner, we tried room service once and the (Italian) food was good. We also ate at the rooftof restaurant the 2nd night and all the food was good too, at reasonable prices. Service was very slow though and it's always warm in the restaurant (even at night, it's open air, no airco).

Rooftop infinity pool is great with excellent views. It's not too big but very nice. Good place to relax.

Check out took a while since I tried to pay cash with the local currency (Maldivian Ruufiyah) and it was difficult to find change. I recommend paying with cash US dollars or credit card!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    257
    66
    23
    14
See reviews for
78
197
31
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights and really liked it. I was on 12th floor with view over the rooftops to the sea. Room was smallish but very well equipped. Pool upstairs was more decorative than a good swimming pool for exercise. But I would definitely stay there again and would have no hesitation in recommending it.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view otherwise you will be looking out over the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank up2eleven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We spent half a day in this hotel waiting for our connection flight to Dubai
Can be rated a 5 - star hotel but for
- no air-conditioning in the Pool Bar, it is too hot for lunch
- some amenities like cotton pads, a hair drier are missing
- air conditioning too loud and cannot cope with afternoon heat

However food at the Pool Bar was excellent, though the afternoon heat prevented us from enjoying it to the full
Reception staff is extremely helpful and provide to all your needs
If you are staying for a day or half a day -be prepared to have a speedboat transfer from Hulule airport followed by a short transfer in an air conditioned minivan, it is just 15 min drive from hotel to the airport

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllaMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

It 'a quite new and modern with a decent lobby and friendly and helpful staff. A fairly expensive hotel that I think is not worth the price, but it is definitely one of the best in Malé. The breakfast, which does not have a huge choice is expensive, if you take just a coffee, you see un'importo eorbitante charged. Advice to eat a lot, so the price does not change. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with free wi fi, with adjoining shower room with transparent walls of the room, nice. The conditioning is operated, but is not dehumidified and makes it a little annoying. The restaurant is located on the terrace where you can enjoy a beautiful view of the lagoon. The food is decent but the costs are in line with the rest. To try again with the card that was handed to me and that I should save the next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MauroMonti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
557 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Having travelled extensively it would be very difficult to rate this stay excellent, even though it was only small things that were not quite right.

There were staff waiting form our arrival at 11pm and the transfer from the airport to the island by speedboat took barely 5 minutes; it was then a 1 minute drive to the hotel.

At check-in our confirmed room, high floor with a king bed turned out to be not available, we were first offered room 1111 that met only 1 criteria (high floor), but not the bed configuration.
We were then finally offered, after some negotiation, an upgrade to an Executive room on the 8th floor and are glad we accepted it.

The room was very spacious with one of the largest hotel bathrooms we have experienced; there was a separate rather small washroom with toilet and wash basin.
The balcony was a nice inclusion however with the weather so hot and humid we rarely used it.

The breakfast buffet was certainly more than adequate; I'm not sure why there has been some adverse comment except if one was looking for a 3 course meal for breakfast.

We spoke with Duty Manager, Nasi, about some possible ways the room might be improved and suggested a shower curtain to prevent the water flow onto the bathroom floor, and better sealing around the balcony door to reduce some of the noise.

We suggested how the door might be fixed and that was done the same day, and within 2 days a shower curtain had been installed.
We were very impressed with how she handled these matters.

She met us at least once every day we were there asking of there was anything else that needed to be done, and thanked us for the constructive suggestions.

We were a little disappointed that despite hanging our towels for re-use, in accordance with the card in the room, they were changed every day, until finally Nasi intervened.
This is a typical problem of most hotels; staff simply are not properly trained in this regard, and most probably as only a small number of guests actually want to re-use their towels they become accustomed to simply changing them.

Check out and transfer to the airport was smooth and all staff helpful and courteous.

We felt that this hotel was over-priced for what it is; basically a City Hotel that unfortunately does not even have nice views because they have been built out.
We paid an average of US$400 per night ++, and could certainly have stayed on one of the smaller islands for the same or perhaps less.

In hindsight we should not have stayed so long (5 nights) but instead looked to stay elsewhere for some of the time; we just didn't like the idea of having to pack, unpack and pack during a relatively short stay.

Room Tip: Corner rooms, there is only one on each floor, have a balcony and are large. Higher floors should be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnpsau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scandihouligan
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Service from airport using a boat to get to he hotel was flawless. Hotel personnel took a good care of us. Rooms nice, service polite and courteous, everyone very helpful. Enjoyed my stay. Coming and going.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nordic_nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Stayed for 2 nights on business. The rooms are nice, spacious and clean, albeit a little noisy from the street. Check-in/out and airport transfer was smooth. The rooftop restaurant and pool is small and overrated, the view looks back at the airport and over the rest of the island of Male, which is unspectacular. The service was also quite slow and had to repeatedly follow up on orders and the bill. For the price of a room, no chance I would use this place for a holiday. Male has little to do and is alcohol free. Traders does, however, serve its purpose well as a business hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Male
0.8 mi away
The Beehive
The Beehive
#3 of 35 in Male
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
5.4 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
19.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Mald...
#1 of 1 in Kandoomaafushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Ocean Grand at Hulhumale
7.2 mi away
Centara Ras Fushi Resort & Spa Maldives
3.4 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jen Male? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Male

Property: Hotel Jen Male
Address: Ameer Ahmed Magu, Male 20096 (Formerly Traders Hotel, Male, Maldives)
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Male
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Male
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Male 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's so much to do, see and taste in Male and I've got you covered on everything you need to get started! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Jen Male reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel, Male, Maldives Hotel Male
Hotel Jen Male Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing