We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”
Review of Hotel Jen Male

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Jen Male
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Male
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Now on my 8th day of a 12 day stay. Had to take a short (15 minute) boat ride from the airport to the Hotel. This service is provided by the hotel at no charge.
Maldives is primarily a resort destination (and an exotic one, too). This is not a resort hotel in that sense since it is located in the heart of the capital, Male, so it offers no beach, only a small rooftop pool. It is really for business travelers or for vacationers destined for one of the gorgeous resort islands.
Having said that, it offers very good accommodation. The rooms are simply but tastefully furnished and decorated. The bed and pillows are "comfortingly comfortable" and bathroom provisions (towels, toiletries etc.) are top class.
There are two restaurants: Lime on the 1st floor offers a sumptuous buffet plus a la carte. The Azur on the rooftop takes dining to a higher level. The food generally is excellent with a heavy touch of Asian cuisine. As a Muslim country, alcoholic beverages are not served (not even wine or beer) although I'm told they are available on those islands declared to be "resort islands". This can deprive a fine meal of its deserved glory.
Although I have heard others complain about slow room service, the one occasion I used it the order was delivered within 20 minutes.
There is a well-equipped gym on the rooftop which is open from 6am to midnight. There is also a spa on the 3rd floor but since I haven't used it I cannot give a first hand account.
There is no entertainment offered (no dancing, shows or anything of that kind) and nothing like that seems to be available in and around the area, no doubt in keeping with the Islamic culture, hence boredom is a real danger.
The staff is friendly and helpful.
Overall, a good place to stay for a business trip or en route to one of the resort islands.

Room Tip: The upper floors offer a good view of the harbor and nearby airport island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Obgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (612)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

319 - 325 of 612 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

Had a wonderful stay at this hotel in early Feb. Excellent location and very well kept property. The rooftop pool is another excellent feature.

Only complaint is the price. At 300$ it is not value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaili99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Very simply put: between USD 500 and 600 for a single room with breakfast for a 4* star hotel with ordinary features & services...outrageous, bordering a rip off. I pay less at the Mandarin Oriental in Bangkok or at the Raffles in Singapore.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Giuseppe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Traders Hotel is only 7 mins by speed boat away from The International Airport Ibrahim Nasir. Upon arrival there is a meet and greet by the hotel representative. We arrive around 1030pm and waited for another 1/2hr before we are let to the jetty to be "transported" to Male City. Upon arrival, we were led to walk to the hotel which is barely only 3 min walk away. However, the Pub nearby was bustling their house music to the max and that only stop around 1am.
Reception was pack with check in passengers and the customer service tried their best to settle everyone ASAP.

As we are flying off the island the next day and the timing cannot match with the city tour, we cannot enjoy the package that we booked and nothing was compensated nor the welcomed drink was offered. Pretty disappointed that the 2 rooms that we booked was not even on the same floor and again nothing was offered to adjust the disappointment.

The Deluxe Room was pretty petty But packed with standard 4 star amenities. Anyway, we had only a couple of hours to sleep (Less than 4Hr) before we going to board the domestic flight to the island and for the kind of $$$$ we are paying I felt not justify at all.

Breakfast served was pretty oriental base on the clientele that they receiving (Mainly Chinese) these days. Nevertheless It was pretty Good spread.

Maybe it is a peak period during the CNY and bad connection of domestic flight arrangement with the island representative we did not had that great impression on Traders. We could have arranged a direct transfer and skip this hotel stay totally.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UK17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We just stayed here one night arriving in Male, then 10 days later another night before departure to United States. Gorgeous hotel, crammed into this tiny capital of a country with a melting pot of people and culture. For the money, we felt safe and very taken care of.....the rooftop pool was beautiful and had a great view of the boats and city life below. Staff very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelgrrl_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The Traders is a very good hotel. It is well located, just a minutes walk from the jetty, and a 5 minute boat ride from the airport. The building is probably the most modern hotel in Male. Free wifi is provided which is great. Breakfast is excellent with a wide choice of items. The only downside is that its expensive.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank KBR71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Arrived late in evening transferred from airport via the hotel boat. Check in was quick and efficient. Caught some sleep and headed down to restaurant for breakfast before checking out at 745am. Room was clean and tidy and bed comfortable. Hotel transferred back to airport by their boat to catch seaplane to resort.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
2  Thank Marcus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Male
0.5 mi away
Hotel Octave
Hotel Octave
#4 of 34 in Male
224 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Beehive
The Beehive
#3 of 34 in Male
120 reviews
3 mi away
Hotel Ocean Grand at Hulhumale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,806 reviews
0.4 mi away
Champa Central Hotel
Champa Central Hotel
#5 of 34 in Male
78 reviews
19.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Mald...
#1 of 1 in Kandoomaafushi Island
1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jen Male? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Male

Address: Ameer Ahmed Magu, Male 20096 (Formerly Traders Hotel, Male, Maldives)
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Male
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Male
Price Range: £155 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Male 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's so much to do, see and taste in Male and I've got you covered on everything you need to get started! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Jen Male reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel, Male, Maldives Hotel Male
Hotel Jen Male Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing