We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (680)
Filter reviews
680 results
Traveller rating
237
308
83
35
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
237
308
83
35
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstraders hotelrooftop poollime restaurantshangri la groupbusiness hotelno alcoholairport islandduty managertop floorbreakfast buffeta short boat ridebusiness tripnext morninginternational flightmain islandsea viewshort stay
Filter
Updating list...
372 - 377 of 680 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Traders is the only 5 star hotel in Male. Centrally located among main government offices and just a hop and a jump from the jetty this is the best option for business travelers in Male. Staff are very professional and attentive. Specially the concierge is very helpful and would recommend you places if you let them know your requirement. Rooms are of average size but tastefully decorated. They have 2 restaurants, Lime on the 2nd floor and Azur on the roof top. Breakfast buffet needs more variety. If you are a regular traveler here you really get bored with their never changing menu. Azur is a totally different story. It’s simply gorgeous. Food and drinks are a bit overpriced but of good quality. At night beautiful view of the male city and the airport island from here is breathtaking....

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dinu W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Now on my 8th day of a 12 day stay. Had to take a short (15 minute) boat ride from the airport to the Hotel. This service is provided by the hotel at no charge.
Maldives is primarily a resort destination (and an exotic one, too). This is not a resort hotel in that sense since it is located in the heart of the capital, Male, so it offers no beach, only a small rooftop pool. It is really for business travelers or for vacationers destined for one of the gorgeous resort islands.
Having said that, it offers very good accommodation. The rooms are simply but tastefully furnished and decorated. The bed and pillows are "comfortingly comfortable" and bathroom provisions (towels, toiletries etc.) are top class.
There are two restaurants: Lime on the 1st floor offers a sumptuous buffet plus a la carte. The Azur on the rooftop takes dining to a higher level. The food generally is excellent with a heavy touch of Asian cuisine. As a Muslim country, alcoholic beverages are not served (not even wine or beer) although I'm told they are available on those islands declared to be "resort islands". This can deprive a fine meal of its deserved glory.
Although I have heard others complain about slow room service, the one occasion I used it the order was delivered within 20 minutes.
There is a well-equipped gym on the rooftop which is open from 6am to midnight. There is also a spa on the 3rd floor but since I haven't used it I cannot give a first hand account.
There is no entertainment offered (no dancing, shows or anything of that kind) and nothing like that seems to be available in and around the area, no doubt in keeping with the Islamic culture, hence boredom is a real danger.
The staff is friendly and helpful.
Overall, a good place to stay for a business trip or en route to one of the resort islands.

Room Tip: The upper floors offer a good view of the harbor and nearby airport island.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Had a wonderful stay at this hotel in early Feb. Excellent location and very well kept property. The rooftop pool is another excellent feature.

Only complaint is the price. At 300$ it is not value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaili99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Very simply put: between USD 500 and 600 for a single room with breakfast for a 4* star hotel with ordinary features & services...outrageous, bordering a rip off. I pay less at the Mandarin Oriental in Bangkok or at the Raffles in Singapore.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Giuseppe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Traders Hotel is only 7 mins by speed boat away from The International Airport Ibrahim Nasir. Upon arrival there is a meet and greet by the hotel representative. We arrive around 1030pm and waited for another 1/2hr before we are let to the jetty to be "transported" to Male City. Upon arrival, we were led to walk to the hotel which is barely only 3 min walk away. However, the Pub nearby was bustling their house music to the max and that only stop around 1am.
Reception was pack with check in passengers and the customer service tried their best to settle everyone ASAP.

As we are flying off the island the next day and the timing cannot match with the city tour, we cannot enjoy the package that we booked and nothing was compensated nor the welcomed drink was offered. Pretty disappointed that the 2 rooms that we booked was not even on the same floor and again nothing was offered to adjust the disappointment.

The Deluxe Room was pretty petty But packed with standard 4 star amenities. Anyway, we had only a couple of hours to sleep (Less than 4Hr) before we going to board the domestic flight to the island and for the kind of $$$$ we are paying I felt not justify at all.

Breakfast served was pretty oriental base on the clientele that they receiving (Mainly Chinese) these days. Nevertheless It was pretty Good spread.

Maybe it is a peak period during the CNY and bad connection of domestic flight arrangement with the island representative we did not had that great impression on Traders. We could have arranged a direct transfer and skip this hotel stay totally.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UK17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews