We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent and probably the best in Male”
Review of Hotel Jen Male

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Jen Male
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Male
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Stayed here for transit between Male and the islands.

Generally clean, not perfect, but no major complaints. Bed was good. Full bathroom amenities. A decent range of English TV channels. Breakfast buffet also carried a reasonable selection. What else can you ask for given the nature of this being a transit hotel?

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2ndBro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (612)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

310 - 316 of 612 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

We spent a night at the Traders Hotel Male last week after arriving late into Male and transferring early the next day out to our resort. We were met and transferred without a hitch at the airport and after a quick speedboat trip we were promptly checked into our very comfortable room. Although we were only there for little more than 6 hours due to an early start the next day, we loved this hotel! Very attentive staff - the room was perfectly clean and well appointed, with lovely views over the harbour. Very comfortable bed, exceptionally clean bathroom. Our transfer the next morning back to the airport for our seaplane trip was made very easy for us. Thankyou Traders Male, we would recommend your hotel to any needing to stop over in Male.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liza E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We arrived late and left very early so didn't see much of the hotel. We were met at the arrivals hall and whisked away, onto a boat and taken to the hotel - only took 10-15mins.

Our room was very clean, new and comfy. The bathroom was large and the shower was very good. The bed was large and comfy.

We had to leave at 5:30am for our seaplane out of Malé so the hotel put on breakfast for us. We were expecting toast and cereal but were amazed by the selection. It was fantastic. Just wished we had more time to explore the hotel a little more.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bucky1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed here the one night as we landed in late and were heading to the islands the next morning.
The airport meet and greeter was delightful and very helpful. The boat ride to the hotel was easy, quick and felt safe.
Hotel staff were wonderful at check-in, confirming for us on the spot the details for our seaplane the following morning and pick-up for the boat back to the airport.
Transit in Male for the Maldives is a really well oiled machine (although it may not seem that way- they do know what they're doing!)
Our room at the Traders was clean, comfortable and quite nice- way better than we'd expected! As we were on our honeymoon there was a delicious mud cake waiting for us in our room- which was a really nice and unexpected touch!
Breakfast in the morning was a bit random- it has the potential to be really good, but I think we arrived a little early and there may have been skeleton staff.
Will definitely use the Traders again when next transiting to the Maldives!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cus2merservicequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We got hold by immigration for half an hour and almost missed the staff pick up, luckily the people around there called and the hotel staff at airport was helpful enough to come back and pick us up.

The location is convenient, just few mins away from where you would be dropped off by ferry. All in all you don't need to care about it because pick up is included.

The room was free upgrade to suite, so it is huge and decent, however, due to the flight schedule we were only staying for 8 hours for a sleep, then we need to leave for the seaplane to the island.

In that sense the hotel is a bit pricey.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeoWillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I've stayed here many times over the years. It is what it says, a city centre 4 start hotel. Rooms are satisfactory, very comfortable beds, excellent air con. Showers are great, rain shower ones in all rooms except those that have an actual bath in the bath room..then it's just a shower over the bath. You have a proper kettle in each room, with tea and coffee replenished daily. Though they are are happy to bring extra supplies if you're a tea addict like me.

The higher the floor, the better the view...but the price for rooms also goes up as they class these as sea view rooms. Food is ok, room service speedy and both Azur and Lime offer great selection. Roof top bar, has great selection of non alcoholic drinks..but are very pricey...US10 for a "mocktail" even in an expensive city like London I would expect alcohol for that type of money! Service can be pretty slow at the roof top bar, as a few (only a few mind) of the staff are VERY adept at ignoring you! This is also true of a couple in the Lime restaurant, where breakfast is served.

The hotel has a pool on the roof, with fantastic views of surrounding islands, though sunbeds are looking a bit ropey these days and are double ones...and only 10 of them, great on a romantic island, but not practical in a business hotel. There is no shelter up there, so it gets VERY hot!

This brings me to the main fault of this hotel, and the title of my review. This hotel adopts dynamic currency conversion, ie. Drinks and food prices are shown in local currency, but when you get your bill or go to check out they have been converted to US$ for "your convenience"! Which means they have converted the local price to US with usually an unseen commission/mark up (however tiny it maybe) going to the hotel! If you ask to pay in Rufaaya, they will then convert it again, which I suspect is another ploy! I ve spoken to them several times about this little "con" but they deny it and say it's all done purely as a convenience to their guests! All I would say, is keep a check on what you're paying, and in what currency, and check it against published bank exchange rates.

This type of rip off of customers needs to be outlawed. It is in many hotel chains in Europe now!

Sadly this little thing mars another wise almost perfect review!

Room Tip: Ask for as high as room as possible, to get a decent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bluebell1074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Romantic Maldives
Celebrate our marriage
1/4/2014-6/4/2014
Stars,Husband, Wife,Seaplane,Wonderful,Male,Angsana Velaveru,
Bluewater,Sunshine,Snorkelling,Love,Romantic,Excellent,Sky,Spa,Beach,Sand,Bikini,Fish,Coral,




  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Ceci T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Male
0.5 mi away
Hotel Octave
Hotel Octave
#4 of 34 in Male
224 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Beehive
The Beehive
#3 of 34 in Male
119 reviews
3 mi away
Hotel Ocean Grand at Hulhumale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,806 reviews
0.4 mi away
Champa Central Hotel
Champa Central Hotel
#5 of 34 in Male
77 reviews
19.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Mald...
#1 of 1 in Kandoomaafushi Island
1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jen Male? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Male

Address: Ameer Ahmed Magu, Male 20096 (Formerly Traders Hotel, Male, Maldives)
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Male
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Male
Price Range: £155 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Male 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's so much to do, see and taste in Male and I've got you covered on everything you need to get started! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Jen Male reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel, Male, Maldives Hotel Male
Hotel Jen Male Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing