We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and doesn't worth”
Review of Hotel Jen Male

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Jen Male
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Male
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Book this hotel for overnight before our trip to other resort, for this price I can better have other accommodation in Maldives, the staff there is not very active however we have a good sleep, anyway better don't stay in male if you plan a trip.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank QuakM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (594)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Jen Male
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

282 - 288 of 594 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed here with hubby on a business trip. The hotel is located within minutes of the ferry pier so handy for transfers to and from other islands. A complimentary pick up and transfer is provided for guests to/from airport which is no more than 10mins ride. Check in was smooth and staff very pleasant and friendly. Although hubby is only an ordinary member, we were given a bowl of fruit each day in recognition of being a member of the Golden Circle program (so would recommend joining up prior). Hotel lobby is relatively small with a little seating area for guests and a café style dining in one corner. If you approach the bell desk, they will be able to offer day excursions and tours for you to do whilst visiting the small island of Male (you can do an island loop on a bike in 5 mins or if walking, in a couple of hours). I did a local walking tour which was 'free' but beware as you will be may have to pay via other avenues (for me, it was being overcharge for coconut juices and souvenirs). With that said, my tour guide, Mujay was delightful and passionate about the island's history and I did enjoy the walk. We stayed in room 809 which had partial view of the beautiful ocean. Room looks fairly new and is very, very clean and had all the amenities a guest would need during their stay. There was even an international adapter socket for those who forget to pack one. Bathroom is super clean which is a big indication to me regarding the cleanliness of a place, but I guess you wouldn't expect any less for a hotel which is part of the Shangri-La group. Buffet breakfast is $29USD pp or $22USD if you purchase at time of checkin. Quality and spread of foods was acceptable but we found some of the foods were only warm and not hot (e.g miso soup, curries) and there was little change to menu over the 3 days of our stay. Restaurant staff were so friendly and very accommodating which is a great way to start your day with big smiles all around. Also had lunch one day at the hotel's rooftop restaurant Azur. Wow, great panoramic views over the city and the Indian Ocean and the décor is casual and trendy. However, the dish I ordered (calamari) was very average which was a little disappointing. There is also an infinity pool just outside the restaurant if you want to cool down after a long hot day in Male. I had a massage in the hotel spa which was very good, and would recommend. Only complaint is that whilst being in a calm and relaxing environment and enjoying a great massage, you can hear street traffic below and rowdy guests on Level 3 (where the spa is located). Hotel reception called us day prior to check out to see if we needed boat transfer to the airport which is a good proactive thing to do. Check out was easy and smooth. We shall definitely be returning here next year when we visit! Thank you Traders Hotel and see you again soon!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Klinsi18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

What started as a questionable experience due to a 50 minute late airport pick-up was turned around fully by Duty Manager Mr. Kang's perfect handling of the situation. I was upgraded to a room with a beautiful view of the ocean, given a complementary tray with fruits and chocolate, and assured that the staff was at my disposal to cater to my needs. I had a good dinner at the roof restaurant, which has a nice pool and a good view of Male. This was a good example of how good service can erase a bad first opinion. Congratulations to the staff.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank PasMalCulture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I was happy with the room allocated which had the direct sea view. rooms are clean and well maintained . was surprised with the "Single female traveller welcome amenities" which contained a fruit platter along with a cute pouch.
laundry and in villa dinning services were fast and good.
arrival and departure time pick and drop off need to arranged more accurately .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Ryokoluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The staff was professional and courteous. Check in and check out was quick and professional. The rooms were comfortable and clean and ready on check in. Breakfast was a good spread and well prepared and presented.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saby_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here here after our honeymoon at holiday island and we loved it! The rooms were small but very well equipped. We loved the bathroom setup so much we actually took photos as we would love the same at home one day!

The staff were great even offering a free guide to show us around the city and recomended us great restaurants. A few people have said traders is overpriced but we think it is great value!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dodsy1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We often come here and always have dinner in Azur restaurant. Loved the seafood platter! The scenic during daytime is breathtaking and the rooftop at night is amazing! Toilets and restroom are always clean. Staffs are polite and friendly and reasonable price value for food.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HannaVeraSubala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Male
0.5 mi away
Hotel Octave
Hotel Octave
#4 of 35 in Male
217 reviews
5.4 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,763 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Beehive
The Beehive
#3 of 35 in Male
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Ocean Grand at Hulhumale
19.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Mald...
#1 of 1 in Kandoomaafushi Island
1,490 reviews
6.5 mi away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
2,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jen Male? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Male

Address: Ameer Ahmed Magu, Male 20096 (Formerly Traders Hotel, Male, Maldives)
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Male
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Male
Price Range: £157 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Male 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's so much to do, see and taste in Male and I've got you covered on everything you need to get started! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Jen Male reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel, Male, Maldives Hotel Male
Hotel Jen Male Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing