We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel in Male”
Review of Mookai Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mookai Suites
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Male
Salzburg, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“nice hotel in Male”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Mookai Suites is a nice hotel in a noisy area of Male. rooms are big and very clean. staff is very friendly and helpful. restaurant is very good. internet does not always work well. some rooms have balconies with nice vue.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gertrud H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    11
    11
    4
    6
See reviews for
4
8
3
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I just wanted an overnight stay from a late flight. I caught the ferry over (10 r) and set off to walk the supposedly 10 minutes from wharf to hotel. Google Maps had it seriously wrong: the ferry does not land in the fishing wharf. I got half way then caught a cab (30r). Room was actually part of a suite, with lounge and kitchen facilities - but no sign of recent usage. The absence of any plates, cutlery, glasses, etc was not encouraging. The bed was comfortable and the a/c functional. But there were no pictures on the wall, nothing identifiably Maldivian about the place. Staff helpfully gave me late check-out so I could explore Male.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up (8 or 9th floor) overlooking the harbour. Good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhineasFogg54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I have stayed in Many Male Hotels..this is Good. The rooms are all bright, very spacious, a mini fridge, free wi-fi, dockyard /harbour view you need to get X01, but other rooms are OK, safety deposit locker, Good A/C, Dining I would say Value for money - bit on expensive side but you have a choice, people at reception have a smile..

Suites mean Suites...so there are 2 or 3 rooms and a common kitchenette, Lounge, TV, dining table, ironing table etc
Discussions and private meetings possible at the Lounge...good for business groups. You are by your self.

Book, especially during peak.

First floor contains meeting rooms, training room and board room which could accommodate around 20 comfortably.. Mini Office/Office/secretary table facility available - fax/copier etc
The OHP is the only problem..It needs replacement. Even though I wanted that to be attended there was no positive reply. Manageable but definitely can be much better..I was informed that they are going in for a upgrading - meeting room areas very soon (Dec 2013?)

No major cafe's around..but restaurant fully equipped

100 metres away from Wet Market

My Rating is a comparison with other hotels I have stayed in Male Island..

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACMarcelline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Good Location and Value for Money. Very good taste.

During ramadan, this is the only restaurant serviced good food during lunch time. Nice rooms with big living room. Good Service.

Walking distance to key ferry points and Local veg market, fish market. Equipped with Good Kitchen setup. But no vessels.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duraisamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

When you need to stay in Male, the capital of the Maldives dont even think of anywhere else but the Mookai Suites. The rooms are all bright, very spacious, a fridge, free wi-fi, most room look over the harbour, a room safe, AC, excellent services. Every other hotel in Male (Traders is exception) is either dated and tired, not good location, very small rooms, no safe, etc, etc. The hotel manager keeps a very good eye on all movements and activities to ensure customer needs are being met. Really first class.

Room Tip: Ask for harbour view on the side of the hotel not at the front - on the front could be noiser
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suep2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Stayed here on a business trip but I was travelling with my family (husband and 1 year old). We asked for a room - it seemed that the accommodation is apartment style - so you pay for a room, of a 2 or 3 bed roomed apartment. The plus is that you have a living, dining, kitchenette with a fridge, microwave, kettle etc., which was great for us as I was able to make food for my daughter while we ordered in / dined out. At the time we were staying there weren't other guests so it was fine but I would imagine that, depending on whom you are sharing the apartment with, it might be a little awkward. I do believe however, that the staff try to meet your requests as best as they can.

I didn't expect to take a cab in Male but often had to. The hotel is on a one-way street so getting cabs is a bit hard. The reception did call a cab for me most of the times but during rush hour they couldn't really help and I had to walk to a better spot to hail a cab. It's not very close to restaurants and cafes (there are 1 or 2 down the road) but male is tiny so this really isn't an issue.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAR28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penistone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

I stayed in Male for 5 nights at the Mookai Suites. It is a small, clean and comfortable hotel. I would think that it would be a bit hard to find so I would strongly advise that you make prior arrangements with the hotel for an airport transfer. this then takes you first by boat taxi, then land taxi to the hotel - roughly about 25 minutes for whole journey. On arrival I found the hotel representative waiting with a name board, so no problems with this at all. they also have a booth at the airport for transfers.

The staff at the hotel are very friendly (as long as you make the effort also) and the room that I stayed in was spacious clean and functional. The room that I staying in was off a communal lounge with kitchen and living area, but this is shared with one other room. this is not a problem as unless you plan to cater for yourself, you would rarely use this space. In pact is is quite good to know that you can cook your own food if you prefer not to eat out one night. The free Wifi was particularly welcome. The aircon in the rooms was particularly effective which was great as it was pretty humid when I visited.

The hotel has a small restaurant and I must say that the food was good - really liked the chicken biriani which was really nice. Food was also good value.

I would have no hesitation in staying here again if I was is Male

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jetlaga380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Male
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jen Male
Hotel Jen Male
#2 of 35 in Male
579 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Beehive
The Beehive
#3 of 35 in Male
110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Octave
Hotel Octave
#4 of 35 in Male
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Champa Central Hotel
Champa Central Hotel
#5 of 35 in Male
43 reviews
0.7 mi away
Airport Beach Hotel
Airport Beach Hotel
#4 of 11 in Hulhumale
61 reviews
5.6 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mookai Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mookai Suites

Property: Mookai Suites
Address: Haveeree Hingun, Male
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Male
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Male
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mookai Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mookai Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mookai Suites Maldives/Male

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing