We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small hotel”
Review of DACE

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Male
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
DACE
Ranked #14 of 32 Male B&B and Inns
Rawai
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small hotel”
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Small side street in the east of male. Next to a construction and opposite a appartment building. Literally 2 mtrs away from your window. No hot water from 8am - 6pm. But ok for the money. Do not have too much luggage with you though. Oh and the room is not what it shows on here. Good and nice but not like this.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simone R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    17
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
3
27
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

We stayed here for 12 hours due to our layover.
The receptionist was having trouble speaking English. He was from Bangladesh. One of the Senior Staff that assist to pick up our bags from reception to our room was the only dude whom we can converse with. He is the running man for the hotel on that day.

The room was cosy and clean. There's even a LCD TV!

The major problem for this place, we need to climb 8 flights of stairs up to the 4th floor !

Imagine the cardio workout we were experiencing.

Few of the taxi drivers will have problem finding the place. Make sure you have the address and the contact no in handy. Someone will pick you up from the alley.

Location is great. Close to the ferry and shopping area. You can easily walk and roam around. Do not feel intimidated by the local.

All in all, we received all the comfort we need in the cosy little room :)

If it's your first time here, opt for the transfer.

Taxi Fare from Ferry Jetty, 30 RF with luggage

Nothing else should exceed 30 RF for this area.

One suggestion: Heater should be on all day, all hours.

Room Tip: Ask for level 2 or 3 to avoid constant cardio especially if you have knee operation etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NurHanifah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, CO
Level Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Forget any traditional, blah decoration. This place has original style. It also has comfort, even in space-limited Male'.

Some aspects are lacking and disjointed, like the lobby, which can only be accessed by going outside. What is that about?? The shower has no separation from the rest of the bathroom, so go in with a plan to keep your feet dry and avoid slips afterward.

Skip the breakfast. There are much better things to be had, like at generally any open restaurant.

Noise from outside is unavoidable. They could use some "Do not disturb" signs for a little daytime privacy.

The owners are very friendly, knowledgeable people, but they may ask you to find investors for one of their other ventures.

15-20 minute walk to airport jetty.

Room Tip: The bigger, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlakKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
world wide
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Nice detailed rooms and clean just what you need for a short trip in Male.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatWorldWide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Overall hotel was not worth the money. We stayed one night and had arranged pick up from airport for which the person showed up 20 min late and then another 20 minutes trying to get taxi.

The room is small but clean with new fittings. no soap or towels were provided. The hot water only worked from 6 to 8am and in evening. also no elevator so had to walk up 4 levels.

We stayed at house clover on way back from kurumba resort which was much better and a lot cheaper.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank lafa08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Male hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Macau
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We were to arrive late in Male, and it would be silly to pay 400 bucks just to sleep in the island, so we stayed in Dace for the first night.
The narrow roads make it a bit confusing to track your way back, but it's easy, if you go walking.
The place looked great, albeit the narrow staircase puts you off, but it makes for good exercise!
As for the hotel itself, the staff is very nice, and the service was swift checking us in, as it had been meeting us from the flight. The rooms are small, without a view, but I gather that whoever comes to a place like this is not looking for the view in a room in the city!
It was impeccably clean: corners and all! The decoration is nice and new, and although smalish, it is more than enough, with a very good bed and crisp white linen, a flat screen tv, small fridge, everything!
Plus, it gives you the chance to see Male; that turned out to be a good surprise, with nice cafés and restaurants (check out the Royal Garden café).
Definitely, it was a find, the hotel itself plus the opportunity to visit the city.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TiaBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We booked a night in this good hotel for an overnight stay before heading off the to island. As we arriving at 11pm and departing early, we wanted the convenience of transfers and a comfortable bed for the night. The hotel staff were excellent in all correspondence and the transfer was seemless. The hotel manager also assisted with working out our seaplane transfer for the next day at the airport. Their service made the difference.

The rooms are clean and comfortable having been recently renovated. At the time we were there (Feb 12) they appeared to be doing some minor improvements for the coming season.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DanAndChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Male hotels
0.0 mi away
Centara Ras Fushi Resort & Spa Maldives
0.0 mi away
Hotel Jen Male
Hotel Jen Male
#2 of 35 in Male
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.0 mi away
House Clover
House Clover
#4 of 32 in Male
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Somerset Hotel
The Somerset Hotel
#1 of 32 in Male
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ungoofaar Inn
Ungoofaar Inn
#21 of 32 in Male
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Beehive
The Beehive
#3 of 35 in Male
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DACE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DACE

Property: DACE
Address: M. Naainfaruge, Jahaamuguri Goalhi, Male 20274
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Male
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Male
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — DACE 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
DACE Maldives/Male

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing