We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for and over priced city”
Review of Luckyhiya Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Luckyhiya Hotel
Ranked #24 of 35 Hotels in Male
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“good value for and over priced city”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

clean well air conditioned room with small shower but good internet .Use booking.com or book direct if you need earlier check in or a day room. The hotel is easy to get to and good to use when waiting for flights they will do transfers for $5

Room Tip: if you are a single traveler pay for a double room if you want top and bottom sheets no I do not und...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank regbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    23
    43
    21
    18
See reviews for
13
45
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Colombo
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This is one of the average priced hotel we could find in Male city. Compared to the situation on Male, this is an average place to stay for a short period. Male is quite expensive, but every thing is small in male. This hotel was small but knowing the situation in Male, it was quite up to our expectation. Continental breakfast was sufficient and staff was friendly. you can walk to the airport jetty from this place.

Room Tip: This is fine for a very short stay. And closer to the Airport Jetty
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rasika R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel. Since it god bad reviews I was a bit suspicious, but we think it is a good hotel for a few days. It was one of the cheapest we could find.

We used booking.com which says including breakfast, but after booking there is no notification about the breakfast. We didn't saw this until we arrived and asked about the breakfast. Then you have to pay 5 dollar per person for the breakfast! I always make screenshots during booking, so i was not mistaken. Too bad.

The room had a good size, 1 bedroom and one separate room to watch tv. The bathroom was a bit small, but the shower was fine.
Our room on the fifth floor was quit.
We had problems with finding the hotel, but friendly people took us to the right street.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 123ontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kashmir, India
Level Contributor
126 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

we were a group of 3 people so we booked a room for 3 people. The hotel is easy to find and very near to the airport jetty. we stayed there for 2 days, the day we arrived in male and the day we had to leave. The staff greets you with a welcome drink on arrival in hotel. The rooms could had been spacious for the price you play. breakfast was quite good and the staff was helpful. The view from the terrace of hotel is a must watch, one gets to see the whole Male island from the top.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with proper working AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SoloKashmiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We visited Male on a dive holiday and did not want to spend a fortune on luxury accommodation as we would be mainly just showering and sleeping in the hotel. Lucky Hiya was easy to find and a very short walk from the airport ferry and our daily dive boat which was welcomed for the early morning starts. Breakfasts were simple but tasty and good start to a long day, we were asked how we wanted our eggs cooked, but we were given (tasty) omelettes on most days regardless ! They also did nice snacks/noodles/rice dishes to take to the room if we were too tired to go out for dinner. We stayed in the hotel for a total of 6 nights and noticed that most other guests did tend to use it as a stop over between going/coming from another of the islands. We saw no reason to move as we were on a budget and it suited our needs, but if you are visiting the Maldives for a once in a life time honeymoon then I do suggest you look further. If you want a safe, comfortable, clean room that is easy access to all of Male and close to the port/airport than this is perfect and fairly cheap in comparison which meant we got 6 days to dive in the beautiful Maldives on a budget which is much better than we had hoped on our budget.

Room Tip: All rooms had a/c and lift access
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank starburstsharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati City
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The hotel is overpriced. We paid for the same rate at the island but all we got is a very standard room. It is not worth it. We paid for a room with extra child. The extra bed didn't have bed linen that i have to ask twice and wait for more than 20 minutes. The wifi connection in the room is worst or none at all. You have to go down the lobby to have access on the internet. The shower has a heater but it will burn your skin. So i just rely on the cold shower. The breakfast is just a 3 half slice of bread, 7 pieces of beans, egg and 1 hot dog. Overall i'm not impressed in this hotel, price too expensive for that standard accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank barbiesunrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Male hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The hotel is situated a few minutes from the ferry station. You don't need to pay the 10 U$D to get picked up at the airport. It is really simple: when you exit the airport, you'll find the ferry station. You pay either 10 rufias or 1 U$D. It's a 10/15 minutes trip and then you can walk to the hotel. You will find a yellow sign in the street.
We were welcomed with a fresh juice. The room was simple but clean. Wifi worked well.
The staff is really nice and helpful. They helped us in many aspects, lending us the telephone, and their computer.
I definitely recomend the hotel if you need to spend one night before going to your resort.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natalia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Male hotels
0.2 mi away
Central Boutique Inn
Central Boutique Inn
#17 of 35 in Male
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Octave
Hotel Octave
#4 of 35 in Male
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mookai Hotel
Mookai Hotel
#19 of 35 in Male
3.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Champa Central Hotel
Champa Central Hotel
#5 of 35 in Male
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mookai Suites
Mookai Suites
#18 of 35 in Male
3.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Beehive
The Beehive
#3 of 35 in Male
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luckyhiya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luckyhiya Hotel

Property: Luckyhiya Hotel
Address: Violet Magu, H.Homa, Dhonhuraa Goalhi, Male
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Male
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 35 Hotels in Male
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Luckyhiya Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luckyhiya Hotel is a brand new luxuriously built, 12 storey hotel, standing close to the heart of the capital city of the Maldives. Luckyhiya Hotel is for the travellers who wish to enjoy the comforts of the city at an affordable price.A total of 33 rooms ( Standard, Deluxe and suite ) with Wifi Internet connection every where in the hotel. This hotel is designed to suit a variety of business travellers and also we offer a perfect relaxing holiday packages. That you will last for a very long time.We provide Diving Packages, Surfing Packages, Excursions, Male’ tour, Island hopping and many more at the top rang you may find in Maldives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Luckyhiya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luckyhiya Hotel Maldives/Male

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing