We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Octave
Nearby Hotels
Champa Central Hotel(Male)(Great Value!)
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$232
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
US$950
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$744
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveller rating
78
106
36
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
106
36
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone nightferry ticketsshort staynext morningwashing machinegreat transit hotelsmall hotellocal breakfastrecommend hotelwelcome drinklate at nightshower headbigger roommaldivian breakfastwet roomfirst time visitorsfish market
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
187 - 192 of 231 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2013

My wife and I stayed in Hotel Octave in early Jan 2013 for a couple of nights so we could explore Male before we flew out of the Maldives, We wanted a clean, neat and convenient location at good value and this Hotel did well.

The rooms are small as mentioned on other reviews, but when you see how compact Male is then you will understand that it is appropriate.

We found the Hotel staff to be helpful and polite and very good overall, providing us with a lot of excellent customer service.

The Hotel "Olive Restaurant" was also a good place for breakfast and meals and snacks as required.

The hotel is a bit noisey in the morning with the lift - but that is to be expected in most hotels of this design and is easily addressed with ear plugs,

I recommend Hotel Octave if you want a good value location to stay with excellent staff and friendly service,

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ksjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Hotel is new ,clean with helpful service .Someone pick you up at airport and will take care of you .Hotel is quiet at some distance from ferry pier. So you will need a taxi to reach restaurant or airport where you will be able to get boat or seaplane to reach wonderful islands. Anyway we are far away from 5 stars standings,Rooms are really small and not very well equiped. Basic Foam matress not really confortable It s like a normal hotel at 1/100 scale.A puppet house. Just a 2 stars hotel don t expect much or you will be really disapointed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeanp22002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

We only had on overnight stay in Male as we arrived too late to transfer directly to our island. I went for the Hotel Octave because of the good reviews, the reasonable price and the convenience of the airport transfer.

Once we cleared customs a representative was there to meet us at the airport as they promised, he promptly helped us with our luggage and directed us to the ferry pier where he told us they upgraded us to the speedboat which would take us a couple of minutes to arrive in Male. Once we arrived in Male they quickly transferred us to a car and made our way to the hotel.

On arrival at the hotel we were given a refreshing cold towel and a welcome drink, both were a welcome relief. We were then shown to our room which was quite small but clean. We asked if there was an ATM close by and they told us when we were ready they would get one of their staff to take us to the ATM which was a couple of minutes walk away. As promised they got one of their staff to escort us to the ATM, very good service.

The location is only a few minutes walk from the main street but there didn't seem to be much to do once it was dark, we found it difficult to find many eateries (there is a restaurant in the hotel but we wanted to try to find something outside) and there were no shops open. Breakfast was a little dissappointing. I was keen to try the local breakfast but when I asked what the 3 different local breakfasts consisted of I was told they were all fish dishes (he couldn't really describe the difference between the 3 dishes, it would probably be a good idea to give a description in the menu) and I wasn't that keen on fish for breakfast so I went for the western style which consisted of toast, chicken sausage (which looked like canned sausages), eggs and tea/coffee.

Check out was smooth and they provided a transfer back to the airport (I thought only a one way transfer was included in the rate so this was a bonus). I would recommend the Hotel Octave for a stopover in Male.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnthonyG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Not many reviews of this hotel here. So, just some simple facts about Octave
1) It's situated just in the center of Male, a minute walk from intersection of main street and trade street. Taxi from jetty pier costs $2. 
2)  Immediate neighborhood: some workshops and shabby buildings. But the hotel itself is a brand new and modern. Just don't expect breathtaking view from window
3) Rooms are small. But very clean and, once again, modern, even brand new, flat-screen  TV included. So is bathroom. A/c works the way it should. Great bedd 
3) Staff is very polite and attentive. 
4) And, yes, the Olive restaraunt. The gem hidden on the second floor... They serve tasty pan-asian food for very small money.
5) My price for room was $80 per day. Think it was worth every penny.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank George_Moscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Great stay, friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are new, clean and very comfortable. Hotel staff has always been on task and accomedating. Definately recommended for anyone looking for a great place to stay while in Male.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tupiddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews