We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you need to stay in Male, choose this hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Somerset Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Somerset Hotel
Ranked #1 of 31 Male B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“If you need to stay in Male, choose this hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Since we arrived in Malé a day before we had to arrive at our resort (Chaaya Lagoon Hakura), we booked one night in Malé City.

Transport (by boat and taxi) from at to the airport was arranged very smoothly, one of the frontoffice staafmembers even went with us to the airport to point us into the right direction for the waterplane.

We arrived in the morning (after a flight through the night) and luckily it was possible to get the room key earlier than 14.00 hrs.

The hotel is very well maintained and up to western standards concerning amenities/facilities: comfortable bed, enough space and a nice bathroom (even a small balcony if you like to have a smoke). We also went into the city and had a drink at another hotel, the facilities/cleanliness werent even comparable.. To be honest, since we were in the city at a Friday, there wasn't much to see/to do because most of the shops/outlets were closed during the daytime.

The staff is very friendly and service minded, we have enjoyed our stay at this hotel a lot and would recommend this to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoyD1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    108
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
50
108
24
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful (provided Restaurant tips, printed out city map and organized the transfer from and to the airport.
Good WiFi connection in the room, which was clean, comfortable and spacious.

Highly recommendable!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Falko R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is a clean and friendly hotel, not very expensive since at about 100 $ per night it was worth it. Given that Maldives is a small the hotel was also small but very comfortable. They had ensured that I was picked up way past midnight and taken by ferry/car to the hotel.

Located in Male which city anyway is so small that you can walk anywhere easily, it was also very convenient for my meetings and some walking along the water front.

The breakfast was tasty and had enough varieties and the people really looked after you and very hospitable. The staff were always smiling and made you feel good and were helpful.

My check in, check out everything was handled with excellent efficiency.

For the business traveller I would suggest this place anytime they visit Maldives

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vasisht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Have not checked out yet....Could not wait to describe my experience:

First time in Male' and on business.
New boutique hotel type, specious rooms, comfortable new bed, and staff are so friendly....they simply go out of their way to make your stay homey !

One of those few hotels that you feel as a long term VIP guest even from the first time you check into it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bahjat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felpham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

The hotel was booked last minute through work and they managed to accommodate us.

When we arrived it looked small. but when we were taken to our rooms they were a pretty good size. There were 3 of us in the room 2 single beds and a double sofa bed. The beds were comfortable. The rooms and generally the hotel was presented to a good standard, they were clean and well stocked,

If you wanted views then this hotel isn't for you however it is reasonably priced.

The service was really good and the staff were very attentive.

would recommend this hotel if you are on a budget or just on a quick stop over.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MatthewB-I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

We weren't sure what to expect for our one night layover in Male, but we were pleased with the service and location convenient to dive shops and groceries. We ended up only being in the hotel for 12 hours, due to an unexpected early departure to our island (we had only 6 hours notice for departure from our hotel) which was coordinated by the front desk with the sea plane and the island. While we weren't able to eat the included breakfast, they did send pastries to our room...a nice touch. We ate at the restaurant for dinner, and though the menu was limited, the quality of the food was good. The room was a nice size with a table for four, and the sofa bed was pretty comfy. Having the whole family in one room (though there were two separate sleeping spaces) was the main reason we chose this hotel, vice the two separate rooms necessary in other hotels. The downside was a small efficiency bathroom with shower separated only with a small sloping floor and shower curtain. It doesn't have a view and it is definitely city-style hotel. Transportation to the hotel is by public ferry and taxi ( the hotel escort paid and arranged), not a big deal for us. Check-in was informal and we were rushed to a room, with paperwork delivered to our room for signing. Internet was made available to us by the staff providing a password, but it wasn't clear to me if this was standard.

Even if I had known about the early departure, I still would have booked a room to overnight. We arrived at the island much more relaxed and ready for fun.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travels_with_2_tots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

This hotel looked small from the outside but the room was really spacious! Besides the usual bedroom, our room comes with a small comfortable living room equiped with TV and couch. Water pressure was good and strong. As the hotel's relatively new, everything was in tiptop condition.

Hotel comes with airport transfer upon booking - we were greeted by hotel staff at the arrival gate at 22:00. And was sent to the airport the next morning to catch our plane to the island. However, do take note that they can be a bit slow in arranging for the transportation to the airport so will advice to be at the reception earlier than usual.

Breakfast was simple but good - a mixture of ala carte + buffet with wonderful choices, from local specialty to international cuisine. Staffs were friendly and speaks good English. Hotel is strategically located near National Museum and shops, grocery stores, book stores are all within 5-10min walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eljanea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Male
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jen Male
Hotel Jen Male
#2 of 36 in Male
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Beehive
The Beehive
#3 of 36 in Male
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
5.6 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Ocean Grand at Hulhumale
3.5 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,313 reviews
6.8 mi away
Centara Ras Fushi Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Somerset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Somerset Hotel

Property: The Somerset Hotel
Address: Keneree Magu, Male 20191
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Male
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Male
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Somerset Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe 15 rooms - superior 15 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Somerset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Somerset Hotel Maldives/Male

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing