We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than expected!”
Review of Mookai Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mookai Hotel
Ranked #20 of 35 Hotels in Male
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Much better than expected!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed one week in 505 which is a big room with a very nice view of the sea. This may get blocked soon as a hotel is being built in front. Room was cleaned daily and linen changed. No bugs. Bath was clean. This floor is looked after by a Sri Lankan room boy. Outside the room there is a small kitchenette, lounge area with table, chairs, settee and TV.
Gym is OK. 4 machines but the Treadmill is broken. Informed reception twice. Tiny roof top pool.
No restaurant but can have breakfast in the hotel just across the road.
Location is good just a short walk from jetty and restaurants.
Will stay here again on next trip

Room Tip: Higher up the better. 5th floor rooms as maintained well. 505 is big and has a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinesh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    20
    31
    10
    8
See reviews for
6
19
9
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Male
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed for 1 night only the room is nice huge i can say we have a seaview and jetty which i liked but service is quick when we reported that the telephone is not working. I really like the room but the only let down is the bathroom u can't use the bath tub coz its really dirty it has a lot of stain needs an updating...
and also the bed they have twin beds combined together and i was a bit stressed that we have to sleep on a single bed coz they keep on moving apart lol...but not a big deal ...its not bad for a night...they have a pool,sauna,and whirl pool but didn't use it. I checked the menu for room service and it's affordable price but since our phone is broken we can't order hehehe.

But seriously room needs an updating....

Room Tip: Don't book a room on a lower floor because u can clearly hear the noise from the road.... the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hameesha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

If nothing else was available in Male, I would cancel my trip, rather than stay at this hotel again. Terrible service - the first 2 days of my stay, the room wasn't cleaned all day. The rooms are tired and asking for a refurbishment for years and the staff remains grumpy.
The only great thing is the location, which is a minutes walk from the airport ferry terminal.

Room Tip: Not sure they have 'good' rooms at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hims281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Male hotels

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Stayed at the Mookai for a night. Despite the small room (403), the place is ideal for a short stay in the main island. The staff at the reception were extremely helpful and courteous.
It's just a hop, step and a jump from the getty and close to the Traders Hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms on the east side have a view of the city and airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mihipedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

It is a good hotel for a short stay. Centrally located, very close to the boat taxi to the airport and less than a five minute walk to the Traders Hotel area. The rooms are clean, have ac, good bed and would be a good choice for a night or two. Do not pay for their breakfast as it is served at a hotel next door and leaves a lot to desire. The best bet is walk down to the Traders Hotel and enjoy their buffet breakfast which is excellent and a good value considering the variety.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ugaworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We arrived at Male airport without having made prior arrangements for a place to stay. We were referred to a tour operator who suggested we stay one night in Male at the Mookai Hotel before heading out to the Islands. This hotel was within walking distance to Male City Centre and 15 minutes away from the airport by speedboat.

Although the rooms were basic they were clean and efficiently equipped. The room had a flat screen colour TV with more than enough English Channels including the news channels. The beds were comfortable, the shower had hot water, the towels were frayed. There were no amenities offered apart from a small cake of soap.

The air-conditioner worked well. There were tea and coffee making facilities provided in our room. Just outside our room was a separate area to relax with sofa suites and a small kitchen.

We had a lovely view of the ferry and harbor from our window. The roof top pool was clean and well maintained.

The staff were wonderful - in fact all the Maldivians we met were friendly and welcoming.

Breakfast the next morning was adequate with cooked food offered as well as fruits and cereals.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a one night stay over that is close to the town and close to the airport and ferry terminal.

Room Tip: We asked for a non smoking room and got a very nice one overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DubaiHolidayplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I do not usually stay at this place when in Maldives but due my usual place being full, I had the unfortunate choice of staying at Mookai. The room they gave me was terrible.. the windows opened up to a wall of the other building making it difficult to make out if it was 8am or 8pm. The room was small, claustrophobic, AC bad and toilet dirty. Enough said, I requested for a change in room which they did provided me something the opposite. The room looked onto the sea front, bright, clean. Service is average; you have internet; cable; breakfast is the same like most places. The place is fine for a few days like most hotels in Male. Guess, hotels are tailored for stop-overs rather than long stays. I would recommend the hotel if you get the right room

Room Tip: Chose rooms from the 4th floor and above and any room ending in "02".. ie.. 502/602/702 et...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Male
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jen Male
Hotel Jen Male
#2 of 35 in Male
580 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Beehive
The Beehive
#3 of 35 in Male
110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airport Beach Hotel
Airport Beach Hotel
#4 of 11 in Hulhumale
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Champa Central Hotel
Champa Central Hotel
#5 of 35 in Male
43 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Octave
Hotel Octave
#4 of 35 in Male
212 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Ocean Grand at Hulhumale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mookai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mookai Hotel

Property: Mookai Hotel
Address: Kaimoo THS, H. Maagala, Meheli Goalhi, Male
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Male
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 35 Hotels in Male
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mookai Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mookai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mookai Hotel Male
Mookai Hotel Maldives/Male

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing