We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough for one night business stay”
Review of Mookai Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mookai Hotel
Ranked #20 of 35 Hotels in Male
Dubai
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good enough for one night business stay”
Reviewed 3 February 2009

I stayed here for one night whilst on business to Male. The hotel is centrally located to the ferry station that provides a link to the airport every 15 minutes. The rooms are clean and spacious. When I checked in I was given a room on the 2nd floor with view onto a side street. On enquiry for a better room with view the staff were very obliging and gave me a room on the 7th floor with sea view. Reception and other staff are very friendly.

Meals are provided at an associate hotel across the road. Had dinner and breakfast here, more out of convenience than any other reason. The dinner, king prawns, was fair as they did not taste fresh, but like they had been frozen. Breakfast was also fair.

I understand that this is one of the "best" hotels on the main island/Male, so would rather stay here than venturing elsewhere (-:

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dxb_surveyor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    20
    31
    10
    8
See reviews for
6
19
9
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2008

The Conrad put us here b/c we got in late on Singapore Air flight. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else. We were only put here b/c the airport island hotel was sold out. I think there is only one hotel on the airport island, but try to avoid this place. The previous post said, "okay for an overnight stay". This might be an overstatement. Hotel towels had stains on them, that were brown... Pubic hairs on the floor everywhere. Just dirty everywhere. Bed comforter was filthy and had several stains as well. They do give you free breakfast. That was probably the best part. There is a hotel across the street called the Relax Inn which actually looks a little nicer and that is where the Mookai sends you for your free breakfast. Point being is that you are traveling across the world to stay in the Maldives and most resorts in the Maldives are very expensive and very nice. If you can afford to stay at any of these resorts, than you will find the Mookai just plain offensive. Stay elsewhere...

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank testk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Male hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2008

We got to Male in the evening and had to stay at an alternative hotel for the night as seaplanes stop operating when it gets dark.

Kells resort booked this hotel for us (as we were going to Hakuraa Hura resort), and initially as you enter the hotel it looks nice as the decor is not bad and it is clean.

Upon going to our room my wife felt very uncomfortable as it was very dark in hallways and even the lighting in the room isnt bright. The bathrooms are ok and they had a tub shower. Note that they dont give toothpaste etc, so make sure you take this along with you.

The bed was ok - wasnt luxurious and i would personally say its average.

Security is a bit of a concern - we locked our doors but wife felt unsafe so had to put the chain on. I guess the uneasiness was caused moreso by the bad lighting which gave an eery feeling..

This hotel is a cheap option for transit stop overs to your resort. I would recommend it if you are staying there for the night, only. Note that they have a wake up call service but unfotunately the staff did not make this call to us in the morning, and luckily we had set an alarm on our mobiles.

Needless to say - u will love maldives, and dont expect luxurious accommodation at this hotel

  • Liked — Easy access from boats
  • Disliked — Very dark, bathroom ok
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Prince_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, USA
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2007

I know that many people arrive in Male late in the evening and need a place to stay until the morning when they will connect to their sea planes for transfer to the resort islands. A good, low cost alternative we found is the Mookai Hotel which is located in Male just adjacent to where the main jetty in the capital of Male. Thus all it requires is the short boat transfer from the Male Airport to the main jetty and a 100 meter walk to the hotel. The room are quite large and have AC. They are clean with firm smallish beds. An excellent (at least for Male) buffet breakfast is served at the hotel next door (yes you walk next door but it just 50 feet). The food was good and service nice. This is clearly for us a much better value than going to the OVERLY EXPENSIVE Hulhule Airport Hotel. This is the maillain hotel recommended to us and booked for us by Soneva Fushi resort and I think they would likely book the best hotel available on the main island. We have also stayed at the Central and Nusandara Hotels on the main island and this is much better.

  • Liked — location, breakfast, cleanliness, room size
  • Disliked — beds are single and a little hard, room lacked soap --- had to ask for --- and the shower valve did not work
Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank Mountainmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Male
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jen Male
Hotel Jen Male
#2 of 35 in Male
587 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Beehive
The Beehive
#3 of 35 in Male
112 reviews
0.5 mi away
Champa Central Hotel
Champa Central Hotel
#5 of 35 in Male
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Airport Beach Hotel
Airport Beach Hotel
#4 of 11 in Hulhumale
61 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Octave
Hotel Octave
#4 of 35 in Male
213 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mookai Suites
Mookai Suites
#19 of 35 in Male
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mookai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mookai Hotel

Property: Mookai Hotel
Address: Kaimoo THS, H. Maagala, Meheli Goalhi, Male
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Male
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 35 Hotels in Male
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mookai Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mookai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mookai Hotel Male
Mookai Hotel Maldives/Male

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing