We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Cupcakes”
Review of Cupcakes by Sonja

Cupcakes by Sonja
Ranked #3 of 7 Dessert in Manila
Price range: US$2 - US$10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Takeout
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
127 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Excellent Cupcakes”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I've been hearing about Cupcakes by Sonja for years but never have I had the chance to try it since I've always contained my foodtrips around QC

But now, that I've tried some, I'm all praises for the texture and the taste of their amazing cupcakes!
There's not much to say! The flavours are fabulous!
Though the price is not exactly cheap, it still makes for a good guilty pleasure treat :D

AAAH Now I want another cupcake hihi

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paul360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    31
    9
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cephalonia, Greece
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Red velvet- the best!”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Every time I'm in Manila I always make sure to drop by Sonja's for the red velvet cupcake. This cup cake is one of the best I found so far. It's a bit pricey though but worth it. It is best not to refrigerate but if you plan to bring it somewhere, the shop can provide you a proper box that can fit in 6 pieces or more. Their chocolate varieties are also good but really needs to be refrigerated.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank avidflyer88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippines
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“All a fad”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Filipinos tend to go and eat where they would like to be seen. This is one of those places. Just because it is the "in" place to get your cupcakes, they all think it is good. Very dry, and the icing simply tasted like pure powdered sugar with a pinch of butter, I guess to bind it. Really bd cupcake. Having tasted Magnolia, Sugar sweet sunshine, Georgetown cupcakes, cupcakes by Sonja is NOTHING like those places. But that is my opinion.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank sugarandpups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taguig
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“All their cupcakes taste great”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

All their cupcakes taste great. In fact, Sonja cupcakes is the best cupcake in manila. Read more here: http://bestfoodintown.info/the-best-cupcakes-in-manila

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marlon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
314 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Cupcakes!”
Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

Cupcakes are freshly baked, nicely decorated and Reasonably priced. Im a sucker for red velvet and i cant have enough of it. Its usually the first that runs out of stock so if youre lucky to see some when youre there get one as they wont stay long on the shelf.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Franz_pilates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cupcakes by Sonja also viewed

 
Manila, Metro Manila
 
Manila, Metro Manila
Manila, Metro Manila
 

Been to Cupcakes by Sonja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing