We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Practical”
Review of Casa Bocobo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Casa Bocobo Hotel
Ranked #19 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
223 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Clean and Practical”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Consider this a business hotel , if you need to take care of business at the Manila area. It also is a very practical and clean place to stay when a tourist to venture around the Manila-Luneta area. For the price, good food, comfy bed and quarters and CLEAN restrooms, you can't go wrong. Waking distance to Intramuros ( and the golf course), Luneta Park, MANILA Ocean Aquarium. Great friendly Service .If you want a simple but very personal hotel, I very much recommend the place.
BTW, also a practical to stay in, if you need to be close to Manila Doctors Hospital

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRavelBug232323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    226
    99
    26
    22
See reviews for
65
164
140
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bâniâs, Tartus, Syria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I stayed in the hotel for 9 days, it has a clean,simple and spacious room but there's no refrigerator It has a breakfast menu with a lot to offer , and you expect to complete an order the night before and leave it under your room door. The staff is so friendly and they greet you all the time. It has a perfect location near united nations ave,Rizal park , I would still recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kinansleiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel around october 2012 for my friend and I had somewhere to go to in manila area. Since we were both staying in cainta we picked this hotel since it was only priced 1800 per night inclusive of breakfas, well it was on a promo at that time. The room is just on the average size. Clean and well kept. The pillows were soft as well as the bed. Their beddings and towels were relatively new.The night before you will be asked what you would want for breakfast by filling up a form. The food tasted okay and the staff were courteous. It is also a walking distance on some fast food chains and near intramuros and manila hotel.Generally, i would still recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sugar_rush1617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The hotel is in a great position, walking distance to Intromuros, Rizal Park, The Boardwalk ans several other attractions. The hotel itself is a little tired but the room was nice and clean. I had a twin room as there were 2 in my party. I stayed 3 nights but on the first night we didnt actually arrive until 5am the next morning. We were checked in ok, staff very friendly. Housecleaning turned up at some stage but I sas still sleeping so I tried tl tell them id just arrived and didnt need the room cleaned. The lady seemed somewhat confused but left, and didnt come back for the rest of the stay so no clean towells after that.
Breakfast was included but u are expected to complete an order the night before and leave it outside your door with your choice and time. They were not particually strict on this which was good but the choice was mostly filipino food and the quality wasnt great. Luckily they are right next doors to McDonalds so McMuffins and hash browns did the trick.
Other than breakfast I didnt dine at the restaurant. I went past one night and they had a band playing, but no one eating there.
I would stay again for the location and friendly staff

Room Tip: There isnt a lift but the staff will carry your luggage up the stairs for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rick3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

During our holiday in the Philippines we stayed at Casa Bocobo twice. The rooms are clean, spacious and simple, with a very nice (and big!!) bed. The hotel is near Rizal Park and Intramuros. The jeepneys from Kalaw street (really just around the corner) can take you to most of the other highlights in Manila. The breakfast (included) is nice and the breakfast menu has plenty to offer.

We enjoyed staying here and it is our first choice if we come back to the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britannia Beach, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We checked in this hotel just last night August 9 and just want to share my experiences with this hotel, we arrived before 8pm I think, it is quite hard to find place because the cab driver always asks for the address of this hotel, we thought were not gonna find this place that night having bad jetlagged. Such a nice hotel when we arrive oh thank god because we can feel relaxation just after entering the hotel. Very nice and beautiful 2 young ladies in the front desk cashiering assisted us from the very first step. When they found out that the room has not yet ready for 3 people, they called immediately to set-up another bed, so we have to wait, good thing there's at least a glass of water thank god were very much tired that day with no sleep having some bad mood at all. The young lady even go to us while waiting just to give our key and explained policies she still gave us some stuff for the breakfast though she already knows we had a trip early in the morning, the other one even offer wake up call good thing we almost forgot it. My friends and I just enjoyed having some conversation with the young ladies very beautiful smiling girls, who trained them? They have to train also other ladies in other hotel, other hotels do not know how to treat their guests, this hotel can be compared to commercial hotels when it comes to their staffs. Luggage's was already in our room, the room was ready in just few minutes very fast to setup a bed, amazing. Such a cool room want to sleep immediately, but we had to choose whose gonna sleep on extra bed no one wants to sleep there, such a little bit creepy thing to sleep, we felt that anytime it will bang and crashed anytime, so one of us have to share in one single bed. We had a wake up call but its a little bit late for a 5 am wake up call, good thing they rang our phone but its past 5 am, they rang it before they already forgotten. But then again nice and affordable hotel to be recommended.


Regards,

Beth

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edobson73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

First, this is a really hectic neighborhood. If you are just landing in Manila from Europe or the States, the environs of this hotel may freak you out with all the noise, constant construction, smog, kareoke, etc. Some of the reviews listed here read like the person's main complaint was that just walked off the plane with jet lag and culture shock, and this hotel was the first thing they encountered.

The rooms here are clean, the bed is comfortable, the shower has hot water, and the tv and air conditioning work. At the price, there are a lot of rooms in this part of the city where those basics are not met, so I am not going to complain too much.

However, it's kind of a gloomy place to stay. The desk staff is really unfriendly and definitely don't want to help you if you have any problems. The doormen are much nicer. The restaurant food is edible, but not great. The free breakfast is good for the price (free). The hallways are grim and can be noisy. The rooms have tiny windows that you can't see out of. And, like I said, the hotel is on a really hectic street and is also in the middle of a major renovation.

I've stayed here a couple times, because I have work in the immediate area (it is close to the US Embassy, a lot of government buildings, etc). I found that the small room was still fine for one person, and that the "deluxe" room wasn't that much bigger or better. I would stay in the small room again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inconsistency
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manila hotels
The Oasis Paco Park Hotel
#17 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Ermita
Bayview Park Hotel Manila
Bayview Park Hotel Manila
#15 of 109 in Manila
3.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Regency Grand Suites
#16 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malate
Red Planet Ermita
Red Planet Ermita
#8 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Malate
Kimberly Hotel
Kimberly Hotel
#12 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Bocobo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Bocobo Hotel

Property: Casa Bocobo Hotel
Address: Jorge Bocobo St. corner Kalaw Ave. | Ermita, Manila, Luzon 1000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Ermita
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Bocobo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect hotel for travelers who yearn only the basic in lodging but demand excellence in service. A no-frills hotel, we put emphasis on practicality and sensibility. Rooms are impeccably clean and comfortable, set in a safe and secure location. Ideally located along Jorge Bocobo Street corner Kalaw and Avenue in Ermita, we are in close proximity to business and commercial districts. Nearby tourist spots include Rizal Park, Roxas Boulevard, Intramuros, Manila Ocean Park, and Binondo (Chinatown). Manned by well-trained personnel whose mission is to provide guests service that radiates the warmth and efficiency of true Filipino hospitality - ensuring a stay so comfortable; guests will definitely feel right at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Book Philippines, Inc., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Bocobo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Bocobo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing