We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic”
Review of Hotel H2O

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel H2O
Ranked #11 of 110 Hotels in Manila
Reviewed 15 February 2014

For a special treat for my girlfriend i booked a night for Valentines day at Hotel h20. Proved to be a master stroke.

We were greeted by friendly reception staff and was nicely surprised with an upgrade to the Aqua Room which was very nice room indeed. Something very relaxing about watching fish swim by your room. One liked our company so much he stayed for the whole time.

Was told the best place to watch the sunset was the Whitemoon Bar i went there but the Manager was rude and arrogant. They had a valentines promotion on and unless we took up the over priced deal he didnt want us there at all. First he said it was all booked out but that was a lie. We went to Makan Makan Restaurant had just as good a view and saw hardly anybody in the Whie Moon Bar.

Makan Makan restaurant was very good the food and the service exceptional made up for the rude arrogant manager of the Whie Moon bar which i would avoid at all costs.

Had no problems on check out Room service was good my girlfriend was extremely happy so i have to rate the experience as excellent and well recommended.

Room Tip: Aqua Room recomended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roderick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

701 - 707 of 1,244 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014

after a long fligth from sydney me and my girlfriend stayed in this hotel.
the hotel was centrally located in Manila and just next to the ocean world.
upon arrival the bell man approach the taxi ang unload our bags from the vallet parking area
grab our details (reservation name ) and told the reception on level 3 by a radio.
then you need to go upstair to check in . welcomed by nice and friendly receptions.
our room was nice clean spacious and ofcourse the love AQUA rium in the room. amazing place to stay really recomemded.
seaside restaurant was night for late dine in as well.
makan makan restaurant was fantastic very attentive staff and brings your serve food with a smile.
the only thing i did not like is when i used the business centre and print one page cost me 250pesos no biggie but its a bit to much i guess.

definitely will stay again when i come back to Mnaila

Room Tip: aqua room with the bayview is an excellent room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DEEJAY0111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelH2O-Manila, Director of Sales at Hotel H2O, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you for taking time and for sharing your experience with us.
Your comments on our Business Center service charge are valuable to us as these will
help the hotel to further review our offers. On the other hand,
we are pleased to have known that we have met your expectations in rooms over-all
upkeep, good breakfast buffet and our associates warm hospitality.
Once again, we thank you and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The hotel is great and the staf is great but i will highly say should be carefull about cap and the food is so nice of the hotel ,About cab yes if you are a foregner they want to triple or try to rob you ,well when you go out from the hotel the guys after the stairs will ask you where you want to go ,
mega mall ,is very near and they will ask for first 400 pesos you should say no and walk out of the gate and you will see many taxi drivers just stop them and very relaxed say you want to go to mega mall its 106- 120 pesos depends on the traffic .if he doesnt open the taxi meter just ask him
why he is not opening it and just say i know its 106 pesos,philipinos are nice but just be carefull at shpoping cab , im rateing the hotel 2 becouse of GM is weak to protect there customers ,
they need more effort ps:the spa is ectreamly expensive from other spa the service you get for 250 pesos at the spa of the hotel it costs 1500 pesos

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Josephine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H2O-Manila, General Manager at Hotel H2O, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Thank you for taking time to write a constructive review for Hotel H2O.

We regret to hear your unpleasant experience on the cabs and we would like to express our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience caused. Rest assured that necessary measures will be taken accordingly. We would like to share to you that our Concierge can assists the Hotel guests should they wish to take a taxi cab service. We also have a taxi slip form to identify cab information for the safety of our guests..

We will continue to strive at improving our guest experience to exceed your expectations. We sincerely hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to stay with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I have no complaints about the hotel itself. The room was excellent, clean and comfortable. The hotel facilities were great and the views around the hotel were magnificent. But I rated the stay as disappointing and I wouldn't go back because of the cabs that go there. As a businessman, I consider cabs to be part of the hotel experience, something the GM of this hotel should consider. Every time the guard from the hotel got me a cab, the driver always tried to rip me off, for at least double the metered fare. For example, a ride to SM Megamall is about 200 pesos but three times, I was quoted prices of 400, 500, 600 pesos! In other hotels where I work like Midas, Heritage, I call a cab and they immediately turn on the meter. No negotiation required. Who needs this hassle when travelling? I saw the same problem with vacationers too. This hotel won't get repeat business if word of this cab rip off problem becomes more well known. I've worked with many hotels in the past and a good GM would never allow this to happen to their guests. Cab service is part of the overall hotel experience. I can't recommend staying here because I don't have time to negotiate cab fares every time I go out. I don't believe anyone on vacation wants to deal with this hassle either. Too bad because the H2O hotel itself is a great hotel to stay at and it's in a great location by the sea, behind Rizal Park. Lots of things to do nearby.

While the GM or manager of this hotel might say that the cabs are outside their control, I disagree. The guard who calls cabs for guests works for the hotel and should make sure that the cabs that pick up guests always uses the meter. Once word gets around that meters are required for guest pickup, the problem might go away. The hotel is co located with the Manila Ocean Park so this cab rip off problem hurts the Ocean Park experience too.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heng T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H2O-Manila, General Manager at Hotel H2O, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Thank you for taking time to write a constructive review for Hotel H2O.

With regards to your comment on cab service, following this we have taken steps to address your concern and taking the appropriate actions to rectify the problem and prevent future occurrence. Currently, we are doing all necessary measures to suffice your dissatisfaction with utmost concern. We would like to express our true disappointment regarding the experience you had, as we also apologize for the inconvenience

We would like to thank you, for appreciating our facilities. It has been a pleasure to accommodate you at Hotel H2O.We look forward to welcome you back in the future in the hope that you will give us opportunity to be of service to you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

staying at H2O in manila was a good experience. i stayed at the aqua room. specious and comfortable. one thing i must add here that all the aqua rooms are not of same size. the giant aquarium at the wall gives you a great feeling. the food at makan makan restaurant was delicious. breakfast is awesome. situated at the heart of the city and fun for the kids at the ocean park. the hotel is inside the ocean park. friendly and smiling staff. i enjoyed my stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ferdous06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H2O-Manila, General Manager at Hotel H2O, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Thank you for taking time to post a review. We are very delighted to hear that you truly enjoyed your stay.

Our entire team appreciates that you enjoyed our facilities. Indeed, our location is also a major plus because it gives our guests easy access to Manila Ocean Park attractions, amongst others.

We look forward to being of service with you in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Arriving straight from the Airport late afternoon, we arrived in front of Ocean Park, having our first time visit to this Hotel, I thought we stopped at a wrong location, but as we stood there with our luggages, we were approached by H2o staff to lead us to the hotel via the Ocean Park Entrance, accessible via lift to the hotel Reception! A swift checkin by the awesome front desk team and the bell boys was fast to deliver our bags to our assigned aqua-room!

First Impression:
As we stepped into the room, we were both intriqued by the huge aquarium with lots of fish! I'm not sure but I believe the entire tank is running trough many room as one big aquarium. It's amazing! The bed is soft, clean, a big size bed badly needed after a long 15hours flight.

We took a stroll in the area, starting inside the complex, there are restaurants and lots of souvenir stores, there's the ocean Park, a worthwhile visit! The Grand stand Area is quiet, joggers and cyclists litters the area all day toll late afternoon!

Dining, Bar and Breakfast
Where to eat? While the hotel offers roomservice, we tried it once and it was good! Fast service! However me and my wife prefers to eat outside, so we asked the Front Desk for their recommendations, Harbor View Restaurant was just a stone throw nearby was the option! Amazing service! Strolling back quietly to the hotel, we were not in the mood to go to the city to get some drinks, so we visited the hotel's open Air bar, it is facing the Manila Bay, lots of comfy couches, your bar team deserves praises! Breakfast in late morning, we walked into the ambient, awesome restaurant, we were greeted at the entrance and lead to a clean table! Our waitress explained about the buffet and did a pretty well presentation. (You must try their omelettes - on request) the kitchen is an open area, thus allowing you to follow the cooking movements if you're interested in that. Thumbs up to the breakfast team! We had a very pleasant stay with h2o, and We will definitely come here again.

Pros:
Attentive front desk staff
Quick Checkin
Fast Bellboys!
Quiet and clean location
Awesome Bar & team

Cons:
Toilet needs improvements, as to more privacy is needed!
Faster Checkout, 15-20mins is too long due to house-keeping room-check during checkout, be adviced that checkout may take longer, especially when there's other people checking out at the same time, meaning many rooms needs to be checked out for missing items!

Hotel needs to implement Express Checkout!

Verdict: 4/5 stars!
Final Comment: We will return soon! :)

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H2O-Manila, General Manager at Hotel H2O, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are delighted to know that you appreciate everything about the hotel, from the food to the staff service, room and amenities

Thank you for giving inputs on the areas we can improve on. We will always look at improving the services we provide to our valued guests.

We would love to have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

It has always been my dream to have a very large salt water aquarium in my bedroom. I have always been wanted to book here but was really expensive. Good thing I got this Aquafeast get-away package which includes an overnight stay in aqua room for 3 persons, 3 tickets to Manila Ocean Park’s Deep Sea package of attractions and a set lunch/dinner at Makan-Makan good for 4 persons.

The hotel is located near Luneta Grandstand. Within Manila ocean park. Entrance was quite disappointing, very public and it doesn't give you the feeling that you are actually entering a hotel. It is quite confusing how to get there. It is located at the 3rd floor of Ocean park building you'd need to take the elevator to get to the actual reception area.

The room was very pleasant, very comfortable and cozy atmosphere. I really loved the room but I wish they'd add a little bit more fish in the aquarium. I loved the bathroom but not advisable if staying with friends. What keeps the bathroom from the bedroom are only smoked (only in the middle part is smoked, top and bottom are very clear see through) glass frames. You can't lock the bathroom door. Available in the bathreoom are, shampoo, conditioner, liquid soap, toothbrushes, toothpastes, shower cap, shaving kit and body lotion. Though breakfast is not part of the package (but in regular rate, it is already included), there are complimentary soft drinks in can, some chips, coffee and bottled water available. Newspaper delivered to your doorstep in the morning. There's a gym and a pool but too bad the pool was under renovation that time. Overall, inside the room is paradise.. needs to be improved outside. So, just stay inside! :)

We enjoyed the ocean park package. The package includes entrance to the oceanarium, jelly fish gallery, dolphin show and evening fountain show. Really loved the dolphin show.

We enjoyed our dinner at Makan-Makan. Chefs and waiters are very accommodating. You can actually watch the chefs make the dishes. Very relaxing acoustic band... beautiful voice. We chose the dinner set which includes pork sinigang, kilawin, some oriental veggie dish and crispy pata. I dont eat kilawin but their's is just... <3 <3 <3 I loved it. Overall the food is okay. It is not actually bad but I have tasted (same dish somewhere else) better. I tried their Pad Thai. The pad thai was a bit disappointing in comparison to Just Thai's and LB's Baan Thai's. But the serving size, there was 4 of us, but we still had half of it left for take out!

Would love to stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jahkey_AT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H2O-Manila, General Manager at Hotel H2O, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Thank you for taking time to post a review. We have taken note of the items that you pointed out for us to address. We are very delighted to hear that you really enjoyed your stay.

I have spoken with our F&B Manager, and discuss with him how we can improve the taste of out pad thai.

We would like to thank you, for commending our staff and also for acknowledging our room and our F&B outlet ( Makan Makan). It has been a pleasure to accommodate you in Hotel H2O despite the concerns that you raised which we are taking constructively,.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manila hotels
Walled City
The Manila Hotel
The Manila Hotel
#5 of 110 in Manila
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malate
Pan Pacific Manila
Pan Pacific Manila
#2 of 110 in Manila
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel H2O? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel H2O

Address: Luneta | Behind Quirino Grandstand, Manila, Luzon 1000, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 110 Hotels in Manila
Price Range: £50 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel H2O 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel H2O is the first and only marine-themed urban resort hotel in the Philippines. Opened on April 10, 2010, the hotel is part of the Manila Ocean Park complex in the Philippine capital’s historic Rizal Park. It has been designated as the official residence for guests and patrons of Manila Ocean Park.Every part of Hotel H2O has a connection to its namesake element, water – from its next-door proximity to Manila Ocean Park; to its location on the edge of Manila Bay; to its signature aquarium wall that adorns the inner guest rooms and grand ballroom; to the seafood specialties of its main F&B outlet, Makan Makan Asian Food Village; to the healing, negative-ion treatments of its wellness center, Zenyu Eco Spa. All these make Hotel H2O perhaps the most visually distinctive urban property in the country today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel H2O reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing