We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Aqua Room”
Review of Hotel H2O

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel H2O
Ranked #11 of 108 Hotels in Manila
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Amazing Aqua Room”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The Aqua Rooms are really nice! It is quite an experience to watch different tropical fish swim past. I thought each room would have individual aquariums, so it would just be the same fish over and over. Actually it is one long aquarium spanning across all the aqua rooms. We really enjoyed sitting in front of the aquarium watching the different fish swim past! If you are uncomfortable with fishy eyes watching you change, there is a remote control which lowers a screen to cover the aquarium. The slight drawback is the glass toilet..The door and walls have frosted glass from shin level and above. The problem comes you need to squat to wash up properly after using the toilet (because, you see, they don't have a bidet..) Other than that, the staff are very friendly and helpful. Complimentary bottles of water are available from housekeeping, so you don't need to buy overpriced water from Ocean Park next door.

The food at Makan Makan Restaurant is up to standards for their buffet breakfast spread. They have an egg station, breads, cheeses, local food, fruits, yogurt, etc.

Please please don't eat the non-Pinoy ala carte at Makan Makan Restaurant.. It is very very depressing.. The char kuay teow was like loh mee, the satay sauce was peanut butter sauce, the curry that came with the murtabak tasted like curry powder.. AVOID at all costs...

White Moon Bar is a nice place to sit in the evenings. Amazing view of Manila Bay.. The food prices are steep, but then you are paying for the ambience.

Room Tip: Aqua Room is worth it. Have not seen the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melex_my
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H2O-Manila, General Manager at Hotel H2O, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are delighted to know that you appreciated our Aqua rooms and the buffet breakfast spread.

Makan Makan Asian Food Village, our f and B outlet is known for its Asian Cuisine that most of our guest really loves. We regret to know that your experience with particular food items was not to your expectations. Rest assured that we will always look at improving the service we provide to our valued guests.

We hope that you will give us the opportunity to be of service to you once again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    490
    238
    72
    69
See reviews for
401
403
83
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Hi my name is damien Auksorius we stayed here while we stayed in Manila , the aquarium was awesome at ocean park , the rooms were also very nice and well priced , loved it , and also the service was very good also

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank damian a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H2O-Manila, General Manager at Hotel H2O, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
We are always delighted to read the positive experience of or guests. Your feedback will be shared to the rest of our team. We truly value your comments as these will help us improve on our services more.

Your appreciation goes along the way and indeed became inspiration. We look forward to be of service with you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binangonan, Philippines
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The aquarium room is really fantastic... i love it the moment i stepped inside the room. I enjoyed it so much. The pillows and linens including the towels are not of excellent quality but they are okay. The staff and crew are really friendly and accommodating and the breakfast buffet are great too, lots of choices. I would highly recommend it for a family because I'm sure the kids will enjoy it not just for the aquarium but much more for the Ocean Park that is connected and part of the place.
One thing i don't like is the design of the bathroom... it is wholly paneled by a clear glass with just a little of the center part smoked with the door that also serves as the shower door. So if you're with someone he/she can take a peek of you showering (or doing no.3.) I think it's too intimate; though it's alright if you're traveling solo and perfect if you're a couple. ;-)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grethel U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H2O-Manila, General Manager at Hotel H2O, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
We are very pleased to know that you has a fantastic stay with us and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the rest of the Trip Advisor community.

We are delighted to know that you had an excellent stay with us.Your kind words will be shared with the rest of the team as this will definitely motivate them into striving even harder for excellence to achieve guest satisfaction. However, we regret to know that your experience with our bathroom was not to your satisfaction. We apologize for the inconvenience. We have taken note of this issu as an area that requires improvement.

We would love to have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Decide to stay in a unique hotel when we back in Manila after a short trip to Boracay. As we stayed here during the holiday season, a lot of Christmas decoration at the hotel and also at the Ocean Park which is in the same complex with the hotel.

The ocean room was amazing, they have a life size aquarium with a living coral and small cute fishes! If you plan to travel with kids they will love it!

It is easy to get food around here, you just need to crossing the big main street, and there is the famous shawarma restaurant there. Since its our last night at Philippines we decide to have a traditional massage after the shawarma dinner, it was located near the big Hilton/Hyatt hotel, it was a nice experience, since its a lot cheaper than what the hotel's spa offers.

In the morning don't forget to have a cup of coffee from the cafe downstairs, it was sensational! they brew better than starbucks.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YosefinaYustiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Went to stay here for a staycation (live in Manila) and get away from the dirty grime of this city. It had been 3 years since my last visit here and I honestly found this time around the experience was better, which is saying something because I immensly enjoyed myself last time.

The room is very peaceful and zen. One could just lay in bed and stare at the fish passing by in the aquarium for hours in pure bliss. It's quite a unique and tranquil experience. Overall the room was very clean, and the environmental controls allow you to make the room frigid cold, if that is your thing.

The hotel itself is nice and the staff was very helpful. I needed to call the front desk to ask very ignorant questions about the remote and they were very polite and helpful.

The inclusive breakfast buffet was very pleasant too. There is enough choice there to allow for both western breakfast and Chinese/SE Asian style breakfast. The waiters were attentive and brought me coffee, drinks, and fruit promptly.

I had a very relaxing stay here and would recommend this place to anyone seeking a unique hotel experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cracky_Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

the aqua room is awesome!!, relaxed atmosphere, clean rooms and facilities, comfortable beds, , good greeting/departure staff, quiet area despite being in the middle of the bay, good view of the bay close to Rizal Park,

Room Tip: the aqua rooms are best choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SilverPearlgoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H2O-Manila, General Manager at Hotel H2O, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your experience during your stay with us.

It is such a delight to know that you had a good experience and particularly enjoyed the aqua room; it is one of the top features of our hotel.

It will be our utmost pleasure to be of service to you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Club Bay Room was great! The interiors were cozy, and it had a nice view of Manila Bay and a private jacuzzi. The glass partition separating the bedroom from the bathroom was frosted, so there were no privacy issues. The asian breakfast buffet included in the package was also good and had several food choices. What I didn't appreciate about the hotel was that the lobby was so far from the parking lot, and you had to enter the building of Manila Ocean Park and go up to the 3rd floor just to get to the hotel lobby. The building of Manila Ocean Park, where the hotel is located, is also not that clean and is usually crowded. There are also very few good restaurants in the building. But overall, we enjoyed our stay in Hotel H20.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xylarhao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H2O-Manila, General Manager at Hotel H2O, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
We greatly appreciate you that you took time to share your experience during your stay at Hotel H2O.

Thank you for appreciating our hotel and facilities. Your feedback will be shared to the rest of our team.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcome you on the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manila hotels
Walled City
The Manila Hotel
The Manila Hotel
#5 of 108 in Manila
1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bayleaf
#4 of 108 in Manila
1,497 reviews
Malate
Pan Pacific Manila
Pan Pacific Manila
#1 of 108 in Manila
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel H2O? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel H2O

Property: Hotel H2O
Address: Luneta | Behind Quirino Grandstand, Manila, Luzon 1000, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 108 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel H2O 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel H2O is the first and only marine-themed urban resort hotel in the Philippines. Opened on April 10, 2010, the hotel is part of the Manila Ocean Park complex in the Philippine capital’s historic Rizal Park. It has been designated as the official residence for guests and patrons of Manila Ocean Park.Every part of Hotel H2O has a connection to its namesake element, water – from its next-door proximity to Manila Ocean Park; to its location on the edge of Manila Bay; to its signature aquarium wall that adorns the inner guest rooms and grand ballroom; to the seafood specialties of its main F&B outlet, Makan Makan Asian Food Village; to the healing, negative-ion treatments of its wellness center, Zenyu Eco Spa. All these make Hotel H2O perhaps the most visually distinctive urban property in the country today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Hotel H2O reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing