We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Cocina de Tita Moning
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: Philippine, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Not a restaurant you are easily going to stumble across - fortunate that Filipino friend took us there. You effectively drive into someone's driveway and park your car in their back garden. The house looks like it could do with a lick of paint, but actually, it feels authentic as a result too. This well-to-do household had entertained many parties from the upper middle classes of 40s, 50s, 60s Manila.
The format is a great idea - a sitdown welcome to have the menu explained, followed by a tour of the old house, including a quaint library and an interesting old doctor's surgery. The meal is then served - plenty in volume, good variety, though the main courses are not as special as the starters. And the bell to call on the 'servants'!
Definitely worth the effort of finding this place to have a meal with a twist. Salamat Tita!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank johnni147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 77 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

A great way to spend a rainy afternoon. Exploring the rich heritage of Manila during the Spanish reign. A museum of love recreated by a granddaughter which allowed us a ringside experience of a Spanish aristocratic home of a 100 years ago. The paintings, the furniture, the porcelain, the glass figurines not to mention the camera collection the ham radios and the antiquated X Ray machine...
And to top it all the wonderful lunch served with exquisite style. A must do.

1  Thank Viresh O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monings_12, Owner at La Cocina de Tita Moning, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Thank you for your kind words and for giving us a chance to share part of our heritage with you. The entire team of La Cocina de Tita Moning is honored to have been able to part of your experience of old Manila. May all your travels be blessed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

Back to the old Spanish era! Nostalgic moment when you dine with your family. Kids will love to see old cameras, old stethoscope, old chairs etc. a bit of history. Food is good too!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Liz421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monings_12, Owner at La Cocina de Tita Moning, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Thank you for your kind words. It was an honor to welcome you and share what we have. We hope to be able to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

La Cocina de tita Moning is possibly one of the finest dining experiances I have ever experianced. You must choose your menu and course of eating prior to making your reservations... It is located in the Mansion of a once prominant Doctor of the 40's and 50's... Private and personal waitresses wait on your every need and want.. a bell is on your table to ring for any service... Historical, private and an experiance I believe should be tried... If you have that special someone, impress her, while impressing yourself... Thank you La Cocina de Tita Moning... And thank God for experiancing this place in my life time...

1  Thank GuadalupeBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monings_12, Owner at La Cocina de Tita Moning, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2013

A million Thanks for your kind words Guadalupe Bill. It was an honor to be able to share our heritage with you. Every member of the team at La Cocina de Tita Moning is grateful for your visit and we look forward to welcoming you again.
May love and light follow you in all your travels, and may you have more memorable dining experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

As you enter the gates of La Cocina De Tita Moning, you are transported a world of the past -- with the aged wood floorings, to the paintings hung on the walls, until the intricacies of the designs and antiques which belonged to the family. Started off at the verandah where the tour guide will address you with some cocktails, and then you will be transported to the different rooms of what used to be's and the pictures of family. The tour guide was impressive as she was very knowledgeable. She seems to know all the little details of everything which was inside the house. She knows everyone in the family just like as if she was a relative of theirs. We ended up having our dinner at the master's bedroom. We were seated and were served with gusto instantaneously. (They even had a brochure of all the staff which are working there!) Throughout the meal, servers were very attentive and they really make you feel at home.

The food is not to be left unmentioned, starting off with a trio of appetisers. We had the pork with almond pili milk, gazpacho with avocado and gambas with chorizos. It hit the spot for me especially the gazpacho. For mains, we had the seafood potpourri and the lamb shanks -- it was executed perfectly, seafood are not overdone and lamb was tender. I would probably have opted for the osso bucco the next time though.

The clear winner for me were the desserts. We were given a sampler of desserts including the famous bread pudding. This was to die for. It isn't heavy handed, and just had the right balance and texture to make you oooh and ahhhh. Not leaving the fritters and polvorones with mango behind -- these didn't fail to deliver.

Overall, a great night which started so well and ended even better!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jasondtan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cocina de Tita Moning also viewed

Manila, Metro Manila
Manila, Metro Manila
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing