We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For people on a budget trip this one is for you.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sogo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sogo
Ranked #56 of 73 Manila B&B and Inns
Toyohashi-shi, Aichi, Japan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“For people on a budget trip this one is for you.”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Our stay was satisfactory, the Room was clean. I stayed with my family (3 kids), the food was good and it is very accessible to MOA and other sites along Roxas Blvd., a jeep ride away to Quiapo and Divisoria too, that is if you are bargain conscious, it is the right place for you and your budget.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Ofelia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    11
    21
    11
    13
See reviews for
4
27
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

I stayed for 2 nights in this hotel because it was the cheapest and nearest to the lecture I had to attend. I got the Executive Room.
Upside: Cheap room rates, short-time (less than 24-hrs stay accepted), near malls (Festival Mall and Star Mall), easily accessible since it is along the South Luzon Expressway, courteous and prompt staff, with hot and cold shower, check-out time is the same time as the day of check-in (eg. Check-in 5:00 PM , Check-out 5:00 PM --- not before 12:00 like most hotels) Strong airconditioning.
Downside: Old, dark and dingy (no windows) rooms. The room had unpleasant smell and if you look closely, the walls were sort of grimy (poor lighting covered it up).The bedboard had gum stuck on it. The free wi-fi service was unaccessible despite the password given. It was very noisy even in the wee hours of the morning. Not ideal for long stays, not for family.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Asian_Beb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manila hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

rooms are dirty they dont clean it good,floor is sticky,bathroom is real firty hot shower is not working,toilet clogged,nasty smell in the whole room,ac is not working,very rude staff they dont act proffesional,hallway is aleays loud you cant even sleep towel are do dirty,food is nasty,beds are uncomfortable,i will never try again to stay here specially sogo hotel edsa rotonda and sogo dau pampanga.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank richglai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

My wife and I stayed in two different "Themed" rooms, and we had a great second honeymoon! Room service was good and the food was good size portions at a very good price. This was our third time staying there.

Room Tip: One thing I wold advise, book a room in advance. We didn't and were still able to get a room, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank KenS7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davao City, Philippines
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

This motel is horrible. It is more of a brothel than a motel, there were hookers hanging out in the lobby, and up and down to the rooms all night Dont let the kids play with the tv remote either, cause free porn in the rooms. There is constant noise here, whether the elevator bell echoing through the halls, or the floor staff on their radio headsets, or the doors slamming, or room service clanking dishes, or the cleaning that goes on at 3am. Good luck getting any sleep. Area and rooms are stinking filthy. There were hairs in the floor, sink, and shower of are rooms at check-in, and there was URINE ON THE TOILET SEAT. I just about about lost my lunch. Also killed at least a dozen cockroaches overnight in all parts of the room. So thankful only had to stay here overnight for a place near the airport to catch a flight. Total ripoff, total hole. Avoid at all costs, want my money back. Only good was that the wifi was good and fast in the room.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank beachnutts73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I spend 3 night the lobby service is good, room is good and big but the problem is the air con very noisy even if i turn off the air con of my room I still can hair the noisy outside air con of other room and the people slapping there door when they close there's constructing close to my room and the house keeping is lazy they don't clean the room properly still dirty specially the toilet they don't put new soap, tooth paste etc and didn't replace the dish....

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anonymous_feb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pomeroy, Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I've stayed in two of these. Both were quite clean and basic. If I ever go to Manila again, I will consider using this chain of motels.
1. Imelda Avenue, Cainta. One block from the ESDA with transportation available to just about anywhere. The motel is situated next to two malls, restaurants are everywhere. I wouldn't eat at the in house restaurant, you'd have to be braver than me. The outside area is congested and noisy, inside is reasonably quiet. We stayed in a "deluxe" room, which is small if you have a lot of luggage.
2. EDSA Harrison Pasay. 1/2 mile from the Mall of Asia with good, quick access to Manila International Airport. No decent restaurants nearby, but the in house restaurant is good. Outside is horribly noisy and congested, inside again, was reasonably quiet. Nudey bars are across the street in the "casino". Don't bother wasting your time. The "executive" room we stayed in was quite nice.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra and get the executive rooms. They don't cost that much more and are in bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whip5209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manila
7.9 mi away
Hotel Sogo Santolan
Hotel Sogo Santolan
#21 of 21 in Pasig
12 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victoria Court Malate
Victoria Court Malate
#37 of 109 in Manila
37 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Sogo - Cartimar, Recto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hotel Sogo - Aurora Blvd, Cubao
Hotel Sogo - Aurora Blvd, Cubao
#56 of 63 in Quezon City
9 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chill-out Guesthouse
Chill-out Guesthouse
#5 of 73 in Manila
181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sogo Quirino, Malate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sogo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sogo

Property: Hotel Sogo
Address: 2120 Mabini St. | Malate, Manila, Luzon, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Malate
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Sogo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Agoda and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Hotel Sogo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing