We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Premium isn't really”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Manila Grand Opera Hotel
Ranked #29 of 110 Hotels in Manila
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Premium isn't really”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

My husband booked an overnight stay in the hotel for a business engagement in chinatown. It seemed that the Grand Opera Hotel is the only noteworthy hotel in the area. Our reservation for a premium room was made online. The hotel parking was packed. We had to valet our car. Check in was quick. The premium room boasted of the extra feature of a window. At first I thought behind the ceiling to floor curtains would be the window but it actually is a wall. The real window is tiny but I guess I should be thankful to be able to appreciate actual daylight shining through in the otherwise dimly lit room. The room AC could not cool the room quick enough even though temperature setting was already at 18C. The bed is firm, too firm for my liking. When you get in to the bathroom and turn the light switch on, the exhaust also turns on. That exhaust is something....it sounds and makes you feel like you are about to be sucked in to some vortex. It is just too loud. There were no towels and we had to ask twice for someone to hand them to us. The towels are thin, rough and with frayed edges. The water in the shower takes some time to warm. Coupled with the exhaust that fans and the slow to warm water in the shower, it can get chilly in the bath for the first few minutes.
Wifi is reliable and fast however, the need to type in username and password each time you need to log in is inconvenient.
We ordered for room service at 2 am. Both in room menus state that service is available for 24 hours. We decided to order rice toppings and congee for a very late dinner. On the phone, we were told that the items on the menu that feature the chinese style food offerings are only available until 10pm...despite the 24 hour availability stamped on the menu. there was no other option but to order from a very limited menu. We put in a deposit of P2000 for the stay. Much to our surprise, we still needed to pay for the food delivered to our doorstep, having been told that the deposit does not cover room service orders. The food was ordinary, the same can be said for the buffet at breakfast.
In the area, I guess this hotel will definitely rate better than most and people will choose to stay here. But far from being content with what people will make do as the place to stay, they should level up their facilities and service.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wandering M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    65
    45
    17
    13
See reviews for
50
48
21
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Curious as to what they have done to the former grand old lady of vaudeville, I chose to stay here for 19 nights from 28 Jan to 28 Feb 2014 in between my tours of the Philippines to find out what the fuss is all about. In the lobby and the public places, I was disappointed to see only enlarged photo murals of the former theatre and some known great artists of the past_ no original artifacts or anything to indicate that it used to be a great place of entertainment.

The service is exceptionally good for a 3 or 4 star hotel. They attend to your complaint promptly. The hotel is excellently located just beside a main thoroughfare, it even has its own private entrance to the public elevated train (LRT). A word of warning, if you like quiet and orderly street with fancily dressed people, then this hotel is not for you. But if you don't mind a little chaos and you get excited to see a mass of real people and not-so-upscale shopping (bargains galore and it is not even Divisoria yet), then this is for you. The hotel actually lights up the area being overwhelmed by the shadow of the LRT train tracks.

My main complaint is that most of the rooms have no windows, just floor to ceiling drapes to give the feeling of great windows. The room ACs are quiet but the bathroom exhaust fans are disturbingly loud and radical. Some rooms are poorly lit. Another negative, having to enter two sets of long numbered codes to get into your PC each time you use it. It also expires everyday. The free breakfast is painfully repetitious but okay. It has good sized pools and a dry sauna. When I first checked in, I thought I won't last. Surprisingly, I enjoyed my whole stay. Maybe because I am a people person.

Room Tip: For a few dollars more, get the front rooms with the windows. Could be noisy being beside the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chavivs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

The place is easily accessible by car or by LRT.
The hotel is well kept and classy. We've tried a handful of rooms and we're always satisfied. One negative, though, is it ages fast. Replacement of some bathroom fixtures would be better. The buffet bfast is always satisfying.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank iamRoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here overnight and it was my second time already.. Me and my friends wanted to bond so we chose to have an overnight.. Fortunately this hotel is very accessible to us plus it had a pool and a sauna.. Although the rooms are really compact we did enjoy our stay.. We went to the market place near quiapo church to buy stuff.. It is just 1 ride away.. :-) The breakfast is average and they no longer deliver it to the rooms since it's buffet (During my first stay Jan 2013, they still allow delivery. You just have to purchase anything additional on the menu.). The staff are friendly, helpful but not annoying. :-) If we need another short get away we will definitely be back.. Especially if they have promo again.. :-)

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank JM G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baguio, Baguio, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Booking online was fast and easy. We were early so we decided to leave our bags at the hotel lobby while we do our Divisoria shopping. The hotel staff were kind enough to take our bags and gave us a claim card. We finally checked in at 3pm and it was a great room. The door was key card accessed and the room was bigger than we expected. The room was clean and the beddings were neatly arranged. The smell of the room was good and the bathroom was cozy. The basic amenities were complete and the TV and WIFI were working great.

We had a good time at the swimming pool which was free to use for hotel guests. There was even a boiling but not so hot jacuzzi. The hotel front was beautiful during the night because of the red balls hanging. Breakfast was free because we checked in. It was the usual American and Asian breakfast choices.

For more information and photos of the hotel, please visit my blog: http://watwatworld.com/2013/09/11/manila-grand-opera-hotel-review/

Room Tip: The standard room is already big for a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valenzuela, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We went here to celebrate the birthday of our little girl since she asked us to stay in a hotel. We got a room with a window (no view, but quite wide). The room is clean and smells good. Wifi connection is good. They have shuttle services to certain malls but we were not able to try it (maybe next time).

We love the pool since it was not cold even in the evening! The buffet spread was really good too. I have written a blog post on Manila Grand Opera Hotel & Casino since we were pretty satisfied with our stay (One Valenzuela).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pinayhappyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

My family booked two rooms at the Manila Grand Opera along taff, Sta. Cruz Manila ... this hotel have the basic services a traveler needs when in Manila ... good room, good bed size, breakfast spread has a wide variety of choices (thanks to the restaurant supervisor, since i can't eat meat, he had offered me white dory fish instead), good pool for a refreshing night swim and many more ... the fact that the hotel is just doorstep away from the chaos of avenida have brought me back memories when i was a student back then at UE ... i will be at the Opera again if my travels will bring me back to manila!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manila hotels
The Oasis Paco Park Hotel
#17 of 110 in Manila
707 reviews
Quiapo
Sun Star Grand Hotel
Sun Star Grand Hotel
#26 of 110 in Manila
43 reviews
Ermita
Bayview Park Hotel Manila
Bayview Park Hotel Manila
#16 of 110 in Manila
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malate
Hotel 2016 Manila
Hotel 2016 Manila
#50 of 110 in Manila
44 reviews
Regency Grand Suites
#14 of 110 in Manila
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manila Grand Opera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manila Grand Opera Hotel

Property: Manila Grand Opera Hotel
Address: # 925 Doroteo Jose | Sta. Cruz, Manila, Luzon 1003, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 110 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Manila Grand Opera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manila Grand Opera Hotel stands today on the former site of the Manila Grand Opera House, a cultural landmark that showcased Philippine arts from 1900 to the late 1950. Formally launched in August 2008, it combines the historic theater's cultural legacy with a boost to the travel and tourism industry as the only luxury hotel in Manila's Sta. Cruz district, near Binondo's Chinatown. Located on the corner of Rizal Avenue and Doroteo Jose Street, the Manila Grand Opera Hotel today caters to an increasing number of visitors from China and Taiwan, aside from habitues and residents of the area who have long hoped for such a center of elegance and beauty to emerge in their midst. At the hotel's entrance stands a historical marker about the inauguration of the first Philippine Assembly on Oct. 16, 1907 by United States Secretary of War William Howard Taft, a historic event that was held there. As the only elegant hotel in downtown Manila, Manila Grand Opera Hotel expects to cater to the increasing number of Chinese visitors from the mainland and Taiwan who will feel at home staying near Manila's Chinatown. The hotel also serves the needs of the Chinese community residing in the nearby Chinatown by providing accommodations for their relatives and friends coming from abroad, he added. The luxury hotel has 250 contemporary guest rooms equipped with state-of-the-art door lock system, cable TV and Wi-Fi and LAN access, a mini-bar with a wide variety of snacks and drinks, with amenities such as buffet breakfast, use of the Infinity swimming pool,and spa. For the dining enjoyment of guests, there are the New President Sharksfin Seafood Restaurant serving authentic Chinese cuisine and the Circa 1900 Bar and Restaurant offering an array of gastronomic delights in an old world ambiance created by the blown up photographs on the walls of artists who had performed at the old theater. For big social gatherings, the hotel's Ambassador's Hall can accommodate up to 1,000 guests while several Meeting Rooms are also available for smaller gatherings such as business meetings, social get-together, dining, meeting and banquets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Manila Grand Opera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing