We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old and Spooky”

Binondo Suites Manila
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manila
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Binondo Suites Manila
Ranked #77 of 108 Hotels in Manila
Chengdu, China
Level Contributor
1,274 reviews
334 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,204 helpful votes
“Old and Spooky”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Binondo Suites is located in the centre of Manila's Chinatown. It looks like it was built in the late '70's, and pretty much nothing has happened to the building since then. Except has got progressively more shabby and run down.

Our standard room on the 7th floor was very small and a bit grimy. The TV was also from the '70's and the remote control was broken. On the plus side we only met a couple of cockroaches.

The public areas of the hotel are smelly and the staff lethargic.

All in all, I would recommend staying just about anywhere else in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Raymond W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    3
    2
    1
    5
See reviews for
5
2
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Panay Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

First, a disclaimer. My wife and I went to Binondo Suites to check it out so that we could decide about making reservations for a future trip. We usually do this while we're travelling. That way we'll be able to make choices informed by our personal visits to hotels. We get a rate card and ask to see one or more rooms. That's what we did on Binondo Suites. Actually we were able to see several rooms as doors were open as staff were cleaning rooms.

Binondo Suites has a great location in Chinatown. It must have been a good place at some point but it's almost beyond comprehension how a newish hotel could be allowed to fall into almost total ruin. It's as if someone bought a new car and never changed the oil, emptied the trash or washed the car. In a year or two it's a wreck. That's how it seemed to us with Binondo Suites.

In addition, Binondo Suites hosts a casino and karaoke bar. We did see foreigners staying there. Room rates are low and perhaps they appreciate the entertainment options, but we just crossed it off our list of places to stay in Manila.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
11 Thank Archipelago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manila hotels

Baguio, Philippines
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Binondo is expected to be a place of high-end business sector, but not so much with regards to spic and span tourist destination. And so is Binondo Suites. Rooms are less sanitary, cigar smokes freely sniffed everywhere inside the building and permeate even inside bedrooms. Cockroaches, algae build-up and other creepy creatures are within common view. Spooky hallways (always dark), one service elevator for the entire 8-floor building, shower switch flying off, and not to mention the noise! Well, I personally did not expect much- since it is Chinatown. All kinds of merchants flooding around. There is however a good side of it though. We were given 10% discount per room reserved. The rooms were cheap, and we were allowed to have more than 2 extra people inside a 2pax room which gave us another 50% discount. And since it is located in the heart of the business district - travel time is but a jiffy. Walking distance from major markets, schools, jeepney lines and mass transportation railing (LRT). If one would be looking for a place to crash for the night - and budget, time, and is in Binondo mainly for business (not pleasure, I hope), Binondo Suites can be one agreeable alternative.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Khawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manila
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2010

the reason we stay in this hotel is that our electricity in our home would be cut off from 11pm to 5am since it is very hot that time we decide to stay in a hotel nearby so that my son would sleep well at night. As you enter the hotel lobby you can notice the lobby is quite big compare to other 3 star hotel but the interior is very old. As we enter the non smoking room you can smell cigaret residue. All night I can hear intermitent machine noise from outside the room. As we checking out we were accused that we broke their water thermos which they made us pay, we did not even touch it since it is very old and dirty. Next time we will be staying in a 4 star even it will cost a little bit.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank jarjarmanila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manila hotels
0.0 mi away
Chinatown Lai Lai Hotel
Chinatown Lai Lai Hotel
#34 of 108 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dela Chambre Hotel
Dela Chambre Hotel
#64 of 108 in Manila
3.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lido de Paris Hotel
Lido de Paris Hotel
#65 of 108 in Manila
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramada Manila Central
Ramada Manila Central
#7 of 108 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.4 mi away
Manila Grand Opera Hotel
Manila Grand Opera Hotel
#25 of 108 in Manila
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
9.3 mi away
Islas 8817 Guesthouse
Islas 8817 Guesthouse
#94 of 108 in Manila
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Binondo Suites Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Binondo Suites Manila

Property: Binondo Suites Manila
Address: Ongpin | Binondo, Manila, Luzon 1003, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 108 Hotels in Manila
Number of rooms: 79
Also Known As:
Binondo Suites Manila Hotel Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing